We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Walter au Lac
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Germantown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for two nights in October with family and friends. The weather was perfect and the views of the lake were awesome. We had a balcony room. Enjoyed having a evening cocktail overlooking Lake Lugano and people watching. Breakfast was filling, the room was very clean, and the staff was very helpful.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HudsonLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your visit in our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. It is our wish that our guests feel as part of a big family. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    121
    53
    12
    9
See reviews for
45
115
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel is perfectly located on the lake-side in central Lugano. Our room had a balcony with view on the lake. Room extremely small. Small bathrooms with small bath. Must be designed for small people. Room was very warm so that we slept with balcony door open. (Air conditioning available)

Staff friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Breakfast was served in an airy breakfast room with a standard Swiss breakfast of fresh fruit, muesli, breads, jams, cold meats cheese etc.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lake view. No outside noise with doors/windows closed. Room 66 was extremely small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your visit in our hotel. We know, that our rooms are not so big, as in a modern hotel. Our hotel is in a old historic house and architecturally it was not possible to make bigger rooms but since 2012 we have a nice Junior Suite on the top floor.
We have a central heating and in the beginning of April we had a lot of complaints that the rooms were to cold. We are sorry, that you had to hot, but fortunately all our rooms as air conditioning.
We hope to see you soon again, perhaps in our Junior Suite?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Really friendly staff in a quiet but perfectly placed hotel, with rooms, some with balcony, overlooking the lake. Tea and coffee facilities in the room, and great views of the lake and mountains. excellent breakfast, and it felt like a family run hotel, with all staff looking happy to be there too. well placed for anything you want to do in Lugano, including the station to get to other places. The Swiss Railway system is just incredible - if it says it runs, it does - and on time - and on the platform notified on the timetable.
would definitely stay here again.
free wifi too.

Room Tip: if you can get one with a balcony, it is lovely to be able to sit outside and watch the world go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walteraulac, Direttore at Hotel Walter au Lac, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your visit in our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. It is our wish that our guests feel as part of a big family. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guwahati
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I am staying in this hotel regularly since last over 20 years. A wonderful place to stay if you want to enjoy natural beauty of switzerland right from your bed.

At a very convenient location, just 2-3 minutes walk from the funnicular which take you to the main station. Although property is very old but they maintain it to properly to give you a feeling of staying in a old english home. Breakfast is just basic and only cold stuffs. But the hotel staffs are very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlover61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Helpful, correct and friendly staff and an excellent location but like a lot else in Lugano it ain't cheap. The rooms are adequate but the bath is suitable only for small, slim people who are not planning long baths. Breakfast is adequate but if you forgot to close the window at night you will not be in the mood for breakfast as the traffic noise, well punctauated by Ferraris, will have kept you awake.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OVichski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Walter Au Lac in Lugano for 2 nights in September, 2012. The hotel suited our needs just fine. It's location is excellent, the view is wonderful, the price is reasonable by Swiss standards, the staff was helpful, and the breakfast was more than adequate.

The most common complaint that I noticed in previous reviews is that the hotel is in need of a major overhaul, as it is worn out, tired, and threadbare. Admittedly, the hotel is a bit worn, and could stand a serious renovation, however, I found it to have a certain old world charm. The architecture is interesting, the furnishings are "classic", and we enjoyed our stay.

On our departure, we had an early flight out of Lugano airport. The desk clerk provided us with a modest breakfast including hot coffee at 530 AM.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sssteveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#33 of 45 in Lugano
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#12 of 45 in Lugano
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 45 in Lugano
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Property: Hotel Walter au Lac
Address: piazza Riziero Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing