We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Walter au Lac
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
cheltenham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

if it werent for the fact that this hotel is in just about the most convenient location in town it would be remarkable only for its half hearted refurbishment, tired rooms, perfunctory service at reception and street noise at night....HOWEVER it really is in a very good location being right across from the main lake boat terminus, adjacent to the main upmarket pedestrianised shopping areas and not too far distant from the funicular that leads to the main line station...moreover it has a superbly located breakfast room on the first floor overlooking the lake (meaning second floor to americans)

so if what you are looking for is the best of swiss hotels and dont care about location this is absolutely not for you ...however if location is more important then this may be a compromise worth making

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    119
    52
    12
    6
See reviews for
45
110
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
madison wi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

had a delightful room with huge marble bathroom, a/c a plus, insulated windows that deadened the street noise at night, great value for location. had internet room which was great. CNN was the only english channel- as was the case in every other hotel we stayed in. Could walk to most places, nice park by the lake.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwestgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

This is a great base for touring Lugano and the Ticino. The location is very convenient and right on the waterfront. The rooms were very small, but very clean and comfortable. It is an older small hotel, so don't expect frills. The breakfast was included in the rate and very good.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

traveled here for the independence celebration including fireworks and a parade..location you could not have asked for anything better, perfect spot on the balcony to watch all the activities....one thing is that the rooms are a little outdated, and no free wifi, not for nothing but with the prices they are charging you would think that something so little as this would be free... and also i think that they need to have a little more variety with the tv channels...maybe a little more international channels..
would absolutely stay here again and recommend it highly

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schlumpf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

Stayed there from July 20 to 21, 2009. Very good location near the Train Station. Rooms are small but clean. Breakfast was good. Service was not the best and I think that maybe there are better hotels on their price range. On a 1 to 100 scale I would give this hotel 70.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinodelValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
280 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed here for one night last week and really enjoyed it. As others have said the location here is perfect and it is a good value. I didn't even have a reservation ahead of time, just did my TA research before our trip and luckily they had a room for us and even let us check in around 10:30am! After our prior hotel in Italy which was no frills at all we made sure the Walter had a/c (it was very hot there!) and wireless internet. I was pleasantly suprised by how spacious our room was (corner room on 6th floor) and the bathroom was great (stand alone shower and separate tub, blow dryer). We did not request a room with a patio since we were only there for one night but we had a large window that opened up with a view of the lake and a nice breeze to follow. They had a little pull out twin sofa sleeper for our daughter. We parked our car in a large public parking garage just 2 blocks away and upon check out they gave us a card ($20 FR) to exit garage.

The town of Lugano is beautiful and we really enjoyed it. The water was turquoise blue/green and the public park and gardens were breathtaking. Great shopping and lots of sales in July.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
238 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

We were pleasantly surprised by the reasonable hotel. There is probably not a better positioned hotel for vies of the lake in Lugano. We had reserved a small non balcony room but when we checked in, it was a tad too small...so fortunately they had a room with a balcony that we could sit on...which we did every day and it was wonderful. The breakfast is included and was good. The location fabulous and we could not have been happier. They had two computers which were open for clients use at no charge and that was a real treat. The room was small but well appointed and the bath was great. We were really pleased with this hotel and chose it because of previous reviews from trip advisor - thanks everyone!

Helpful?
Thank bitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#32 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#37 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Property: Hotel Walter au Lac
Address: piazza Riziero Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing