We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Walter au Lac
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$306
US$238
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$288
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$500
US$440
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano(Lugano)
US$149
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
US$258
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Villa Selva(Lugano)(Great Value!)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
89
140
57
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
140
57
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewshopping areaone nightpleasant breakfast roomtransportation passtrain stationbooked directlymanaged hotelwonderful lakebusy roadtea and coffee facilitiessun chairsbreakfast was includedhistoric hotelwater pressureclose to the city centersmall balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2010

It's an old ( and family I think ) hotel, just beside the Lake of Lugano. The location and the view are perfect. You can go to the lake or to get lost into the tangle of old streets in the central part.
The rooms are comfortable, but don't expect perfection from a 120 years building. If you want to be pamper, go elsewhere. The only bad impression that I have is the noise from the street outside - is too higher during the night.
If traveling by car, you may have problems with parking - the public parking nearby is always full.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasilevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Lugano is a beautiful city. Our only regret was that we couldn't spend more than a day/night here.

Key Points
- free internet computer room
- 10 minute walk from the train station but be prepared for a lot of stairs
- very noisy with a busy street beside the hotel (windows are not soundproof at all)
- AC was not effective at all

Bottom line: would love to go back to Lugano but would not stay at the Walter.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corona_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Location couldn't be better, this hotel is right on the lake and next to a number of main squares. Also directly behind the main street with all the shops and funiculare. We spent new years eve here and hotel staff were lovely.

Room was clean but old, tired, small dated tv but a spotless bathroom as stated by other reviewers, and generous shampoo / shower cap / body lotion etc.

We were breath-taken when we came down for breakfast for the first time. With views over the lake you just find yourself sitting staring out the window for hours. Food was absolutely fine, there was plenty of it and it was fresh.

Free internet was also a great bonus. 2 computers which were rarely used by other guests. It was always free when we wanted to send emails home. There are also a number of games and a pack of cards to play.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venus000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 20 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 October 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Walter au Lac in Lugano, from 22 September to 1 October, and would most definitely stay there again on our next visit. Built in 1888, the Walter is a grande dame on the lakefront in this busy Swiss-Italian city.

All rooms face Lake Lugano, and most of the rooms have balconies. Our room had a small balcony, big enough for a small table and two chairs, and just perfect for afternoon relaxation and viewing the lake, or just sitting out there in the warm evening air with a bottle of wine.

If you're American and accustomed to staying at Marriotts or Hiltons, you'll likely be disappointed with the room; however, we prefer to stay in European-type hotels when in Europe. This room, while not large, had a very comfortable queen-size bed, plenty of closet space, radio, small TV (but really, who wants to watch television in beautiful Lugano?), safe, mini-bar, coffee/tea maker, and spacious bathroom (more about the bathroom later). There is now air-conditioning in the rooms. I can't imagine staying here in the warm weather without A/C, because the only "windows" are the French doors which open to the balcony, and leaving them open at night would not be an option for me.

Our bathroom was spotless and had a combination shower/bath. The bathtub's bottom was so narrow that we had a hard time standing up in it (really!) and I used one hand to hold the shower head for balance. It took some getting used to, and next time I would ask for just a shower without bathtub.

Walter's breakfast buffet, included in the price, is generous by European standards and includes fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, a wide assortment of rolls, croissants, and breads, cured meats, cheeses, and delicious preserves. The staff was always friendly and attentive.

There is free interent access on the first floor in a common area suitable for reading or watching a larger television.

It's Walter's location that is one of its best selling points. Situated on the lake, it's a very short walk to the ferries which travel Lake Lugano between April and October. Taxi to or from the Lugano railway station will cost approximately SF20.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissFribourg1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews