We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Albergo Acquarello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Acquarello
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Basic hotel. Clean room. Left the - Do not disturb sign on the door but they still came in and did the room which I found really annoying.

I checked out around 6 am and the reception area was closed with no where to leave the keys etc.

The only good thing about this place I would say is its location. Right next to the funicular that takes you straight to the Rail station. It is also in the centre of the Lugano and easy access to everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VarunaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    91
    93
    33
    38
See reviews for
44
91
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Simple but practical. Priced reasonably. Good location even though no view to the lake.
Close to station. Walking distance to many restaurants and stores.
Personnel is friendly.
Rooms a little dated but OK.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I must say that read all the reviews and when booking paid for a room away from the Funicular. The room was a good size with plenty of storage room, as well big bathroom. There was no real noise to disturb my sleep, I slept very well for my 4 night stay, and the difference in the cost was only a few dollars, well worth it. It was very clean and comfortable the only thing was that i was meant to have tea and coffee making by my booking but there was nothing in my room. I went down to inquire and the front desk told me that i could come down each morning and she would make me a coffee. The location was great i arrived by train so i just got the funicular down to the front door. This hotel met my needs and would stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra to upgrade to a room away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was good news/bad news. The location is excellent, but not only is the funicular noisy, the people waiting for it are also very loud, specially late at night after a few vinos. Room was clean and comfortable. Would not want to be there in summer though. It was quite hot even in autumn. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yunderup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I'm not sure I'm going to say anything that hasn't already been said by other reviewers. Granted, this hotel had a convenient location, but it was SO awful.

The front desk clerks were beyond rude. After a long day of traveling, we stood in front of the clerk completely unacknowledged while she spoke to her friend on her cell phone. The lobby reminded me of a bowling alley. To get to our room, we took an elevator that looked like it belonged in the NYC subway system.

The room itself was HOT and had no air conditioning; only a feeble oscillating fan. I was unconvinced that the lock on the door actually worked. The funicular (although conveniently located right outside the front door of the hotel) starts running at 5 a.m. and plays four notes that have now been burned into my brain.

Really -- really -- only stay here if you have no other options. After staying here, a park bench would probably be more appealing to me.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConnecticutChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lugano hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This was clean, but that is about all that can be said. The staff were kind. The hotel is right in the middle of Lugano which is the only thing it has going for it. It is afflicted by the noisy fenicular railway which comes to a stop right outside its front door. The rooms are dark and the air conditioning (if you stay here, make sure you get a controller for the air conditioning) is noisy and lights up the whole room on and off through the night. The receptionists were helpful and kind. We slept badly. The ensuite bathrooms were small and cramped - hard to get out of the shower without falling into the loo.

Room Tip: get the air conditioning controller when you sign in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue e e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We booked in here at the last minute (literally an hour before arrival at a McDonalds on the highway across the border from Italy) when we decided to head to Lugano after skipping Lake Como. It was the cheapest we could find with availability, so off we went. After traipsing around the area looking for the hotel I finally found it nestled next to the aformentioned furnicular station. I think it took me so long to find because I would never expect to find a hotel nestled where it is. In any case, glad to arrive we checked in and headed up to our rooms in the old lift. Our rooms did face the furnicular track and what other reviewers have said about the noise is unfortunately true - you get a booming racket every once in a while when the traincar arrives or departs. If you don't have earplugs then don't stay at this hotel because it will definitely disrupt your sleep (or just go out and drink if you can afford it and sleep through the noise). It does stop eventually, but you need to be prepared for it. The rooms are functional and clean but certainly nothing to write home about in terms of decor. They do thankfully have blockout shutters and sleeping is easy in that respect. The rest of the building does show its age and it's not anything pretty to look at. We did find the staff straightforward but friendly and we even got free wifi which was very nice. There is a reduced parking rate available for guests of the hotel in the parking garage around the corner, but we didn't partake of it. The hotel has a prime location and it is literally five minutes walk to the foreshore where all the action is - just remember not to breathe amongst the swarms of midges!

This hotel should be on your list if you want a very good location in Lugano or if you don't want to spend much (both of our criteria) but if you are looking for something remotely trendy or classy, this hotel isn't for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zteu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#33 of 45 in Lugano
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#20 of 45 in Lugano
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#12 of 45 in Lugano
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#26 of 45 in Lugano
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Acquarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Acquarello

Property: Albergo Acquarello
Address: piazza Cioccaro 9, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Acquarello 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benvenuti all'Acquarello Il nostro albergo e situato nel centro citta, sulla zona pedonale, a pochi passi dal Lago di Lugano, nelle vicinanze del Palazzo dei Congressi, del Casino di Lugano, del Padiglione Conza (centro esposizioni) e della stazione FFS. Il nostro albergo a conduzione familiare e la sosta di chi certa un alloggio economico ed elegante. Hotel Acquarello (Ex Cristallo) e stato recentemente rinnovato ed ora puo offrire ai suoi clienti, nel quadro della rinomata ospitalita svizzera, tutto il confort che si meritano. Tutte le aree pubbliche e le camere sono NON FUMATORI e gli animali non sono ammessi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Acquarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Acquarello Lugano
Albergo Acquarello Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing