We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional”
Review of Albergo Acquarello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Acquarello
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Functional”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

All was clean,functional and fine. But not a room to spend time in. It is close to everything. Lots of restaurants etc walking distance from the hotel. It is very convenient to take the funicular to the station especially with baggage.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 237Susan123237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    91
    93
    33
    38
See reviews for
44
91
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This hotel is run by a big lovely family, all staffs are nice, helpful and friendly. Location is in the old city center, and close to shopping malls, just 10 mins walking can reach the lake. Room not very big, but clean and comfortable. Surprisingly, the homemade breakfast is fresh and delicious. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

honestly it was fine. Even though our room was just above the boarding point for the funicular it didn't keep me awake, the walls didn't vibrate. The internet here was really, really cheap compared to exorbitant charges at other hotels we stayed in. So the rooms are not that big, but that is the rule in Europe rather than the exception. They were clean, beds comfy. Just a short walk into the shopping area, restaurants and the lake, so location very good. Staff were helpful and friendly. Hotels in this area are very expensive, I would stay here again based on my experience. I was really prepared for the worst with previous reviews but no problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maisymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Rumbling vibrations and noise from the funicular are unavoidable. The rooms were clean, but small and institutional. Don't stay here unless you plan to spend minimal time in the hotel and you manage to get a rock bottom price through a last-minute rooms consolidator on-line. This is not a welcoming accommodation - -neither the physical surroundings nor the staff's interactions with guests.

Room Tip: Insist on a room away from the funicular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwixtTwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-balmelli, Manager at Albergo Acquarello, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
By reserving us you have a large choice and all you have to do is to individuate the best deal FOR YOU (suited your needs):
You want a basic and funtional room without spending a fortune? Reserve our Economy room.
You wanna get a room a bit far away the funicular than take a Standard. These rooms are more quiet and some of them face the back of the hotel.
Clients must know that we have also "Superior" rooms, responding at their exigency for pretty quiet ( we are in the very centre of the town after all...), completely new refurbishing (2013!) very confortable rooms.

Our tip: reserve what you need and be sure you will get what you have reserved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lugano hotels

Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Basic hotel. Clean room. Left the - Do not disturb sign on the door but they still came in and did the room which I found really annoying.

I checked out around 6 am and the reception area was closed with no where to leave the keys etc.

The only good thing about this place I would say is its location. Right next to the funicular that takes you straight to the Rail station. It is also in the centre of the Lugano and easy access to everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VarunaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Simple but practical. Priced reasonably. Good location even though no view to the lake.
Close to station. Walking distance to many restaurants and stores.
Personnel is friendly.
Rooms a little dated but OK.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I must say that read all the reviews and when booking paid for a room away from the Funicular. The room was a good size with plenty of storage room, as well big bathroom. There was no real noise to disturb my sleep, I slept very well for my 4 night stay, and the difference in the cost was only a few dollars, well worth it. It was very clean and comfortable the only thing was that i was meant to have tea and coffee making by my booking but there was nothing in my room. I went down to inquire and the front desk told me that i could come down each morning and she would make me a coffee. The location was great i arrived by train so i just got the funicular down to the front door. This hotel met my needs and would stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra to upgrade to a room away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#33 of 45 in Lugano
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#20 of 45 in Lugano
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#12 of 45 in Lugano
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#26 of 45 in Lugano
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Acquarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Acquarello

Property: Albergo Acquarello
Address: piazza Cioccaro 9, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Acquarello 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benvenuti all'Acquarello Il nostro albergo e situato nel centro citta, sulla zona pedonale, a pochi passi dal Lago di Lugano, nelle vicinanze del Palazzo dei Congressi, del Casino di Lugano, del Padiglione Conza (centro esposizioni) e della stazione FFS. Il nostro albergo a conduzione familiare e la sosta di chi certa un alloggio economico ed elegante. Hotel Acquarello (Ex Cristallo) e stato recentemente rinnovato ed ora puo offrire ai suoi clienti, nel quadro della rinomata ospitalita svizzera, tutto il confort che si meritano. Tutte le aree pubbliche e le camere sono NON FUMATORI e gli animali non sono ammessi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Acquarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Acquarello Lugano
Albergo Acquarello Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing