We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful !! Stay away !!!! Go anywhere else!!!”
Review of Albergo Acquarello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Acquarello
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Some work are in process in the hotel so expect to have a loooot of noise (drill at 8:20 in the morning)

One iron for all the hotel...
You can hear everything from the other rooms.

Bottle of water only the first day, for the other days you have to pay 4CHF

During all my stay I was looking forward to leave this "hotel" it is the worst Hotel I never did

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Johann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for people who want a place to stay near to the train station and to down town. The both things are possible because the hotel is located next to the cable car. The only problem is the noise of the cable car but isn't so bad because the cable car is closed at night. The hotel has lifts and wifi. The rooms are small but clean, modern, with tv, privat bathroom and shower.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlizama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is a bit hidden near the fenicular station, 1 stop form the railway station. and still walking distance as going steep street down.It is in the heart of old part of the city. The lake is 5 minutes of walk, also the lake promenadę, the park and funicular station to Mont Bre. It is clean, modernised hotel, the rooms with windowns to towards funicular are a bit noisy. But comparing to other Swiss prices it is very good value for money. Recommended for short stay in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the funicular station, less noice to be expected, as funicular starts ca 5 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhogZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 1 night. The staff were friendly and helpful and during check in the hotel shock when the funicular went past. It seems strange that a hotel was built over a funicular and parts of the hotel obviously suffer from the noise. Only a faint rumbling could be heard from our room 214.

Our room was small and stuffy with very strange angles. The bed was small and uncomfortable. The flat screen TV with several English channels was the highlight. The bathroom had a glass shelf over the loo. My partner knocked his head on the corner off the shelf and wounded his head. The shelf is difficult to see.

The view from the window was of a wall that had works of art hung on it. Some effort had been made to improve the view.

The hotel is easy to find and centrally located.

Not bad value by Swiss standards and may have reflected the noisy location. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Anything away from the funicular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here one night after doing the Bernina express
Our travel agent booked what is an extremely overpriced, difficult to find hotel.
Our twin room was almost beside the funicular that rumbles so loudly the room almost shakes.
We had to leave the windows open as the room was heated, we couldn't adjust heater, and it was hot and stuffy. Needless to say that doubled the outside noise.
Bathroom was adequate as was breakfast, but think seriously about staying here as I am sure there must be quieter hotels in same area.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask to be as far from funicular as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompaleryjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

in October 2013 it was the 3rd time we stayed here. it is very centrally located, a short ride by funicular from the train station. the hotel is in the middle of the city center and walking distance to the lake. the staff is very nice and friendly. specially the blond short haired lady at the check in and the lady at the breakfast. breakfast is great. and I would recommend adding it to anyone's stay. we stayed 3 nights, and the funicular that runs through the hotel .... I wore earplugs at night and heard nothing!! on our next visit to lugano .... we will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchbuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

It is hard to believe how building permission for this hotel has ever been granted. The funicular going to the train station of Lugano runs through it, so it is impossible to get any sleep before midnight and after 5 am which is when the funicular is operating. My room was very shabby and very claustrophobic as there was only a window overlooking a damp wall and it was very high so couldn't even open it. The weirdest thing was that there was no bathroom door so the room was extremely damp and moldy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#11 of 45 in Lugano
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#33 of 45 in Lugano
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#20 of 45 in Lugano
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#16 of 45 in Lugano
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Besso Lugano
Hotel Besso Lugano
#36 of 45 in Lugano
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Acquarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Acquarello

Address: piazza Cioccaro 9, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: £87 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Acquarello 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benvenuti all'Acquarello Il nostro albergo e situato nel centro citta, sulla zona pedonale, a pochi passi dal Lago di Lugano, nelle vicinanze del Palazzo dei Congressi, del Casino di Lugano, del Padiglione Conza (centro esposizioni) e della stazione FFS. Il nostro albergo a conduzione familiare e la sosta di chi certa un alloggio economico ed elegante. Hotel Acquarello (Ex Cristallo) e stato recentemente rinnovato ed ora puo offrire ai suoi clienti, nel quadro della rinomata ospitalita svizzera, tutto il confort che si meritano. Tutte le aree pubbliche e le camere sono NON FUMATORI e gli animali non sono ammessi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albergo Acquarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Acquarello Lugano
Albergo Acquarello Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing