We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old dusty hotel not in the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victoria au Lac
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Berne
2 reviews
“Old dusty hotel not in the city center”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We paid 145 chf as a half price discount for a double room with breakfast. The room was ok, with a bathroom but bed sheets and furniture were clearly outdated as well as the bathroom. Not worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriszbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    45
    71
    37
    32
See reviews for
32
86
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zaragoza
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The rooms are furnished like a grandma,s house and there is a 70,s looking disco in the hotel, but the location is unbeatable for the price, some 120-130 Swiss Francs. After having breakfast on the terrace you can take the boat to Melide, Gandria and some other villages on Lake Lugano.
Public underground car park next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANTIALFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have stayed 2 nights at this hotel.
I should admitt the hotel is not very modern but clean and with the specatular view over the lake
(even from the bathroom, which had enormous size).
We have enjoyed the breakfast at the terrace sharing food with the birds which have flied to our table.
The staff is very nice and helpful. I higly recommend the hotel to not spoiled clients.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Waiters very disinterested in serving you never loan being hospitable, wondering if there has been a change of management??? We were told "No Food until 6:30 " fine what about drinks??? Had to chase for a drink just not on!! The staff were more interested in catching up with colleagues ! Just such poor Hopitality!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lugano hotels

Zurich
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May. The rooms were clean and plenty big enough. Even thought we didn't use it, we noticed there was tons of closet space for putting away clothes, etc. The bathroom is modern and almost as big as the room! We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Heads up: They are doing construction on the street just below the hotel. It didn't bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

The hotel has certainly seen better times; it is clean and a parking opportunity just on the opposite side of the road, but that´s what there is to tell. Old room´s, awful smell. However in case you are travelling on small budget it might be an option, but really only then.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kudrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The room was located on a side where in front of them workers began to work with very much noise at 06:00, didn't allowed me to continu to sleep, when i asked them to change my room they asked me for more money!!! I've booked a dubel room like i was allone they gave me a singel room(without returning money and also without changing these noisy room for a normal room).
The service was very arrogant, they don't want to speak with me in English, if they are not abel to speak English then the responsability is from the managment.
If they give so a bad service they should better close the hotel! If these are Swiss hotel service i should prefer the next time Mexican Hotel service, a pity

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Markus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
0.1 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#17 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#32 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria au Lac

Property: Hotel Victoria au Lac
Address: Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Victoria au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Au Lac Lugano
Victoria Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing