We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel facing the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lido Seegarten
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice hotel facing the lake”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Nice hotel, and splendid location, on the lake of Lugano. The experience changes a lot of course if you do not get a room with lake view. The hotel can become a little noisy when is full, because ir is a little building. The food is good but kind of everpriced. Service is good, but nothing fancy or special. If you don' t get a room with lake view is not much worth the price ((the overall rating would drop in my evaluation).

Room Tip: Ask for lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    70
    47
    20
    8
See reviews for
17
57
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

What a phenomenal hotel! My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel. It is ideally located on lake Lugano and the view alone is absolutely breathtaking. Location wise it is a ten minute walk from the centre of the town and there is an bank and supermarket just down the street. The rooms are a bit old fashioned but very lovingly maintained and exceptionally clean. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. It has poolside service and the restaurant is ON the water! We had dinner at the hotel twice as the food was exceptional (pricey,but too good to pass on).
We spent part of each day by the pool and it was a relaxed and all round wonderful trip. They can expect us back soon!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frequent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Had dinner here a few times (I live in lugano) and the dishes are well presented and delicious (and so is the aperol spritz!). This place is ideal for a romantic dinner thanks to the amazing view over the gulf of Lugano.

however, don't forget you are in the centre of an expensive town and you'll pay for both the view and the quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

This property is right on the lake and has magnificent views. The outdoor pool and terrace are enjoyable in summer, as is the direct access to the lake. The hotel has one of the best restaurants in the city with a great wine selection. The rooms are a bit dated but comfortable and have all the standard luxury amenities: bathrobes, slippers, free wireless, and parking nearby. The staff is warm and friendly. The city is a short walk away. Suitable for both business and vacation travellers.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alybaba786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I live in Lugano but I spent a night at the Lido Seegarten due to some work in the bathroom of my house. As I work in the city I selected an hotel close to the city. The hotel is located 10-15 minutes on foot from Lugano downtown. What I think that it is important to note is that the Lido Seegarten is the only one hotel, and I would like to emphasize the only one!, that is direct on the lake side! (The others have always the street before the lake or like the Eden in Paradiso are composed of two buildings). In my opinion another very interesting aspect is that the hotel is managed by a family that in my opinion is big plus. The hotel as a swimming pool on the ground floor direct on the lake side (you can also go swimming in the lake) and two restaurants with a lovely terrace on the lake! This time I didn’t eat at the restaurants but I tried them before and I suggest everyone to have dinner there (think also about the location!) as the food is excellent. In the morning I had breakfast in the restaurant with a superb view on the lake (even if I see it every day it was a great experience so I can guess that from someone coming from another country is still better!).
The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. As I didn’t need the lake side I booked a double room (for single use) called “Vista Monte Baro”. This kind of room have view on the Monte Baro and on the street in front of the hotel. I had no problem with the street as in fact in the night there is very little traffic (it begins in the morning). What surprised me was the size of the room: very comfortable with a double bed, a desk, a big armchair, etc. Really a nice room! In any case I can understand why someone told that 4 stars are too much: in my opinion the room should be refurnished as soonest (and the carpet removed) as it looks more like a 3 stars hotel. The bathroom was ok (with a shower) but again it would be better to renew it. Overall I would rate my stay as a 4 stars: ok the room maybe like a 3 stars but remember the excellent location of the hotel (on the lake, close to the city, etc) that are really a big plus and don’t forget the passion of the family owner of the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athens85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Location great,view phantastic, but the hotel has seen better days.

Room Tip: lakeside view, parking expensive. dinner at terrasse worth the price for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreasfwidmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Fantastic views, room basic, no carpet on floor, just something like linoleum for those old enough to remember it! Food excellent, service efficient but not very friendly. Very efficient at extracting money from guests; iron and ironing board not available, you have to pay for someone to do the ironing (expensive but a good job). The electricity supply comes from a very old-fashioned socket that you can't find anywhere else, and they won't lend you an adaptor, they will sell you one! Unnecessarily greedy in my view. I've seen and enjoyed the sensational view but wouldn't go back there if I could avoid it

Room Tip: ask for lake view, other roms have nice views of mountains but the lake view is unforgettable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SASG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
1.0 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#23 of 45 in Lugano
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Eden
Grand Hotel Eden
#29 of 45 in Lugano
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Seegarten

Property: Hotel Lido Seegarten
Address: viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lido Seegarten 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lido Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Seegarten Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing