We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Manitoba, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I recently stayed here (October 1-3, 2012) and was very happy with my room. I'm not sure why some reviews say the decor is outdated; room 43 had perfect Swiss decor. The room was large and fully equipped. The bathroom (and the entire room) was exceptionally clean. Having just arrived from Venice, Italy I found this hotel fantastic. Beppe and his wife were the perfect hosts, as were all staff we interacted with. Breakfast is standard European fare, perhaps chain hotels offer something more "western". (Croissants were excellent!). Would absolutely stay here again. Perfect, safe location for female travelers.

Room Tip: Room 43 was quiet, clean and included a small view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PSIMKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    64
    32
    6
    8
See reviews for
45
37
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, IN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The hotel is nothing fancy, but centrally located and clean. Breakfast was the typical ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, bread, etc. but it was plentiful.

Be sure when arriving by train to walk across the street and take the funicular down. At the bottom, walk to your right. We were tired from traveling and elected to take a taxi which basically drove us down the hill and charged us a flat fee of 20€.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyn405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The room was very outdated. It looks really old and It's in desperate need of some renovation. The breakfast wasn't worth having, it would be better if they just didn't serve it. Very disappointing indeed. But then again, staff were very friendly and the hotel is very central.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had a very pleasant one night stay here, en route from Switzerland to begin a cruise in Venice. It is handily situated, just one street back from the lake and we had two rooms, one of which was smaller and more recently renovated - the other being larger and still perfectly satisfactory.

We had booked online and had great communication from the office, and upon arrival the front desk staff were particularly helpful and efficient.

The rooms were both very clean, as was the breakfast room with the meal being a good start to the day. I would thoroughly recommend the San Carlo as a good place for travellers wanting a solid, if not flashy, place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The hotel is in the centre of Lugano, near the Lake, near two commercial centres and near everything. It's easy to arrive to the hotel from the train station by using the funiculare, and while coming from the train station isn't a big deal, going back with luggages could be really tiring (the train station is the peak of the city).

About the staff: They were absolutely helpful in everything, from providing a good breakfast, checking all the time if you needed something else, to help me making a call because I had lost my ID card in the last hotel we were staying at.

Breakfast: it's not a buffet, but you get bread, croissants, cheese, orange juice, marmalade, butter, coffee, tea or chocolate, and, of course, water. The breakfast room is really clean, like everything else in the hotel.

Rooms: Clean, big enough and slightly outdated. We were in the first floor and as we left the window open during the night, we could hear some noise in the street but we could sleep perfectly fine.

I'd highly recommend this hotel and I'd definitely come back if I travelled again to Lugano. It might be a 2* hotel, but it felt better than other 3* hotels that I've been at.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripMember081820154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This Garni hotel is an excellent value: great position for visiting the city, a parking lot is just a few meters behind the hotel, so it is very comfortable to get there. Rooms are small and not very attractive, they are no-frills but are very functional and have all you really need: cleanliness, good shower, comfortable beds. Breakfast is a little bit limited in choice, but tastes good. The owners are very friendly. A final word... the hotel is open all night long.
In brief: a good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlop_oOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Given Lugano's outrageous rates, €150 paid for evening (family of 3) seemed reasonable. Location cannot be more central and convenient, provided you are not driving or do not rely on taxis. Agree 100% with other reviews here: very friendly and helpful staff at reception, that made our stay even more enjoyable. The rooms are O.K. in size, the furniture is outdated and a bit worn out, but nothing disturbing. So... thumbs up for San Carlo Garni...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#36 of 45 in Lugano
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#14 of 45 in Lugano
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#26 of 45 in Lugano
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Acquarello
Albergo Acquarello
#34 of 45 in Lugano
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.8 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo Garni

Property: Hotel San Carlo Garni
Address: via Nassa 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Carlo Garni 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Carlo Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing