We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Elvezia al Lago
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

I am thinking back about our stay this summer for 4 nights at the Hotel Elvezia with great fondness. The location is out of a movie. Very quiet, but so close to the city, wonderful views of the lake and the mountains on the other side. We did some great hiking there, leaving from the hotel. The food at breakfast was great, and the owner always very gracious. Will go back any time...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelleCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    17
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

This little hotel is a romantic and charming one. Simple and in one of the most beautiful places of Switzerland... You wake up seeing the lake and the bird's songs... You feel like home, there. I recommend it.
Just one another thing: you must walk about 7 minutes to reach the hotel, because there is no street, but the way is good and very very beautiful, and there is a stand to get your luggage.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaY4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2007

What a nice surprise! We loved our stay thanks to this hotel in great part. Will come back!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank fernandofel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

This was truly a wonderful spot. We were able to contact Rosi via email and she made the reservation process extremely simple. The views of the property were amazing - at all hours of the day. Room 1 sits right above the hotel kitchen, dining area and lake trail - we couldn't hear a thing! All rooms seem to have lake views with balconies. After a long day of hiking, we had dinner here and it was a nice surprise. Pretty reasonably priced and a very solid Italian menu. Make sure to save room after breakfast for some of the raisin cake. Whether staying for a quick weekend or longer holiday, this is a great place to call "home".

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kdthiede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2007

This tiny hotel is situated right on Lake Lugano, on the footpath between the Castagnola suburb of Lugano and Gandria. The hotel cannot be accessed by car, but only by the level footpath from Via Cortiva in Castagnola, or by boat.

The Lake Lugano ferry actually docks at the hotel several times a day, and travels on to the centre of Lugano either directly (taking about 15-20 minutes) or taking a longer but attractive route. This means that the hotel is quite a convenient commute from the centre of Lugano and also from Lugano Paradiso, where the museum of modern art is, and from where the funicular to Mte San Salvatore starts.

It is also a shortish walk along the lakeside path from the hotel to the incredibly picturesque village of Gandria, which has some excellent restaurants, but if you plan to return at night, remember to take a torch. The path is dark.

Some of the bedrooms have terraces, and some only small balconies, but the views from the bedroom windows are incredible. The lake is at its most beautiful here. The forested mountain drops down to the opposite side, and the colour of the lake can vary, anything from steely blue to deep green. If you are lucky enough to have a double aspect room, you will also see toward the far side of the lake or toward Mte San Salvatore and the lights of Paradiso.

Weather permitting, meals (including breakfast) are served on the terrace right on the lake. Rosi, the hotel manager, hands out the previous day’s stale bread to the ducks, swans, and cygnets, and some sizable lake fish come up to help themselves as well. The hotel has a private, small lawned lakeside area from where you can swim, and the water normally stays warm well into the autumn. The hotel is surrounded by lush subtropical vegetation, including banana palms and olive trees, and it is hard to believe that you are in Switzerland, just a few hours away from a glacier.

If you want a romantic getaway, or a contrast from the high mountains, or simply a quiet room with a view, this is a very special place. It is not luxurious, its facilities are naturally limited, but it is very clean and very very charming. The lunch/ dinner menu includes some tasty pizza and pasta or polenta and an enticing selection of ice cream and sorbets.

If the ferry schedule does not suit, a lake taxi will take a party from the centre of Lugano to the hotel. Rosi has the number. Fantastic!

If this hotel is full, someone should try out the nearby Fischer Seehotel, at the beginning of the path (the sentiero di Gandria). It's location looks equally wonderful. I have never seen a review of it, and although we always mean to have a look in, we never get around to it somehow.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — if you get bad weather, you're a bit stuck
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank swissfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

We have stayed 4 nights in Lugano and in Elvezia.
We loved the location, our room and the hosts.
It is quite, a little place in heaven!
They are very discreet and let us enjoy our privacy while being amazingly warm and friendly. Rosi's smile and laugh in the morning is missed by us and we will surely come back to Swizterland and therefore to Elvezia...

  • Liked — The hosts and location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pariswestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York - UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2006

We stayed at Elvezia Al Lago for 3 days. It has been a lovely holiday. The room (N.5) had view over the lake, was clean and quite (you can reach the hotel only by foot (10 min) or by boat) and well decorated (with frigo bar + TV). The interior of the hotel is very welcoming with replica paints of the Napoleonic Age. The staff was very welcoming and very accomodating. Breakfast was generous and generally open at least 1/2 hour longer than advertised (9.45) to allow a lay in! An excellent value for money.!One suggestion: replace the (cheap) wardrobe! We will definetely go back if in Lugano!

  • Liked — The location and the interior
  • Disliked — The cheap wardrobe
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy a walk to Gandria
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Dudina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Moosmann
Hotel Moosmann
#1 of 1 in Gandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#37 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Eden
Grand Hotel Eden
#26 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
2.1 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#21 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elvezia al Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elvezia al Lago

Property: Hotel Elvezia al Lago
Address: sentiero di Gandria 21, Lugano 6976, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elvezia al Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Elvezia al Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elvezia Al Lago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing