We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our number one restaurant choice in Lugano”
Review of Bottegone del Vino

Bottegone del Vino
Ranked #11 of 384 Restaurants in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$72
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Basel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Our number one restaurant choice in Lugano”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We visit Lugano three to four times per year and it's pretty much mandatory now for us to drink and dine at Bottegone. The menu, although limited, usually has something each of us likes, the wine is fabulous, and the atmosphere convivial. It's popular with visitors and locals alike. At lunchtime, tables are quickly filled, so if you don't have a reservation, get there early!

Talk to the staff about the type of wine(s) you want -- their advice is spot on. If you order by the glass, they may leave the bottle by the table "just in case" you want more -- and you probably will. Note: their selection of dessert wines is good too, don't overlook those. I never leave without a Passito.

The menu depends on what's fresh in the market and the chef's mood. In winter, there is almost always a hearty choice with beef or game. Every time that I've been, there has been a salad with goat cheese (tomme) on the menu -- it's one of the few standards and my default choice if I'm not having a daily special. Shortly after you arrive, you'll be given a plate with some complimentary nibbles -- usually a bread, cheese, salami and mini bruschetta selection.

Even though each item on the menu isn't that expensive, your overall bill will probably not be light because you'll most likely give in to the temptation to have a few glasses of wine, coffee, maybe dessert etc. Resistance is futile -- so sit back and enjoy!

Note: the restaurant is dog friendly. At lunchtime, one of the regulars brings her charming French bulldog. We've brought our own dog there a few times.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BaselTourmaline123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    181
    53
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent though limited selection in rustic atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place has unique character which I personally love.
The menu is a daily menu written on a chalk board. 3-4 dishes, some meat some pasta. We had excellent veal on skewer with some steamed vegetables and salami raviolu in sage and butter sauce that were excellent but a little spicy. The service is good and not flattering. Do not miss in the cheese at the end of the dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Service very friendly. Food excellent, good value for money. And they speak English explaining the menu which is great. We had a bottle of local wine (from Ticino) following the chef suggestion For desserts we had a cheese plate with excellent choice of cheeses. Do not miss it when in Lugano .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hbenshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, amazing food and wines, great service and atmosphere. A must when in Lugano.”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is no small deal. Lugano is a city with many gastronomic heavens, but Il Bottegone Del Vino deserves a special note. Located in the heart of the city, few meters from the lake and the old piazzas, it is the perfect place for a relaxed business lunch.
The service is impeccable, yet friendly and very smooth. Food is great, with a seasonal menu that blends local delicacies with northern Italian kitchen-art. The beef tartare is simply amazing. Even more so when accompanied by a bottle of Barolo Gaja 2003.
The wine list is truly inspiring, with a great selection of wines from Italy, France and Switzerland.
The bill will not be easy on your wallet, but after all Switzerland is an expensive country. And the beef tartare was to die for.
I'll be back at the Bottegone when in Lugano, that is for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancoAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food average, wine a complete rip off”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We are aware that Lugano isn't the cheapest place to dine, but we felt thoroughly ripped off after having an evening meal here. We don't speak Italian, but can translate a basic menu, but there was no wine menu that we were offered. We chose to share a meat / cheese platter as an starter, then both selected what turned out to be mediocre pasta dishes. The waiter asked us what wine we liked, and brought a bottle of local Ticino wine. My husband's pasta wasn't delivered until about 10 mins after my meal, with very little apology, and when we got the bill we were astounded to see that 50% of it was the cost of the wine. So that was 98 CHF! My husband was furious as he felt we'd been ripped off and they had just charged what they fancied for what was an average bottle of wine. I just wanted to get the hell out of there so we paid and left (of course no tip!). So please be aware if visiting this establishment, and check the cost of the wine, which can be embarrassing really, but could save you a lot of annoyance.

Anyway, there are far superior places to eat in and around Lugano, so don't waste your money here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TheMacs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bottegone del Vino also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Bottegone del Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing