We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located to Restaurants”
Review of Hotel Du Rhone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Du Rhone
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sion
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My mother and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on our trip around Switzerland because we'd heard Sion was picturesque with a beautiful castle. The hotel offered good views of the castle and was very close to cafes and restaurants, but with our window facing west our room got quite hot in the afternoon. Check-in was easy, the staff were very polite and the breakfast offered was quite basic but sufficient. Whilst the hotel offered parking, it was a few doors away from the hotel in a shopping centre car park which was underground and we suggest if you have luggage drop it off at the front door at the street level.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bardi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived in Sion without a hotel booking as the weather had changed our plans. This was the only hotel that we could find (on foot) with accommodation for two nights so, despite the high price (185 CHF) we took the room.
The room was clean and the shower was extremely welcome after a week in the mountains. There was no air conditioning so we were delighted with the large fan and big open window. The bed linen felt fabulous and we were very comfortable. The pillows were extremely soft and if I hadn't been so tired I would have asked for a second pillow.
The front view was over the town square and cafes but we were very lucky to get a rear room which looked out (at fifth floor level) back up to the mountains. I recommend a high floor (four or five) and a rear view.
The breakfast was amazing. Coming down from altitude I was ravenous and thoroughly enjoyed the fruit, breads, cakes, cheeses, eggs, meats, smoked salmon, cereals and selection of teas.
Compared to our usual travels this was quite an expensive choice but the central location, clean and quiet rooms and the extensive breakfast made it worth it.
Note that much of Sion (including all shops and many restaurants) is closed on Sundays. Friday is market day (until 2pm) and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Front rooms look out over the lively square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night, and it was a good stay for that one night. The rooms are spacious. What I did find was strange was that you had to take one elevator to go up to reception, and then another to go up to the rooms.

What I thought was nice about the hotel is that in the waiting area for the elevators there were books and boardgames for anyone to play with, if needed to pass the time. Also, I found the breakfast downstairs was very satisfactory, and free.

It is also in a great location in Sion--most everything is a short walk away.

One thing I would recommend is checking the prices of the parking garage across the street and comparing them to hotel parking (which I think are 12CHF a night). We ended up paying 4CHF for overnight parking across the street--nice savings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim_chi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent five nights in the hotel, taking breakfast and dinner each day at the hotel's restaurant. Breakfast came with our reservation and was very satisfactory in every sense, a buffet with meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, eggs, etc. Dinner: Wide choice of entrees, and popular enough to require reservations on the weekend. One of us has a gluten allergy so came equipped with a sheet of paper (in French) describing the problem and how to avoid issues. The waitstaff took the paper to the chef ("the boss") and came back to say that they could accommodate the problem. Each night a different menu item was chosen from the entrees, enjoyed thoroughly and without unpleasant aftermath. The waiter was always good-humored and we even had a visit from "the boss" to make sure everything was right. The hotel: We interacted with three different reception clerks over our stay and in every request each was honored. In two words: VERY ACCOMMODATING! We would definitely return to this well-situated hotel. One "heads-up": hotels in Sion do not typically have air conditioning. We visited during a rare period of uncharacteristically high temperatures. Two showers each day took care of the situation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJColoSprgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were travelling for 2 weeks in Switzerland and decided to visit Sion. We chose to stay at Hotel du Rhone due to its very central and convenient location. We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and ate breakfast at the restaurant. We have no complaints, there was a great selection of breakfast options. The staff were very helpful and attentive and the atmosphere was nice. We also ate dinner at the restaurant and were very impressed. We had the Chinese fondue with 20 different sauces, the meat was superb quality and the options on the buffet which accompanied it were great. It was also very reasonably priced at 23 Swiss francs. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting the restaurant, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quincy_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hotel was very nice, the staff was friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay. The restaurant on the premises had wonderful service, and delicious food. If ever there again, we'd stay at Hotel Du Rhone.

Room Tip: Wish they had double beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmurray01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights when visiting relatives. Well located at heart pf this small town, Hôtel is clean with good sized rooms that are équipped to à good standard with refurbished bathrooms. Good breakfasts and a very popular and competent - if unglamorous restaurant. Only complaint is that rooms are hot and we had to leave wîndows open to cool down. Not cheap by British standards and it is true that carpets and upholstery are à bit old fashioned, but overall this is à good hôtel underated by some reviewers

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lojo0680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sion
0.9 mi away
ibis Sion Est
ibis Sion Est
#1 of 9 in Sion
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Castel
Hotel du Castel
#3 of 9 in Sion
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#5 of 9 in Sion
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Des Vignes
Hotel Des Vignes
#1 of 1 in Uvrier
65 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Magrappe
Hotel Magrappe
#1 of 3 in Veysonnaz
37 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Royal
Hotel Chalet Royal
#2 of 3 in Veysonnaz
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Rhone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Rhone

Address: rue du Scex 10, Sion 1950, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Sion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sion
Price Range: £94 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Rhone 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Du Rhone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sion
Sion Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing