We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, impeccable service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Suitenhotel Zurbriggen
Ranked #57 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My family (2 adults, 2 children and 1 infant), stayed here mid January for a skiing holiday.
After much research we chose Zurbriggen based on location, style, and positive correspondance with the staff during enquiries.

After 30+ hours of travelling, we were excited to arrive into Zermatt and were definitely more than happy with our choice. The wonderful service started from pick up, and continued throughout our entire stay. It was impeccable. Nothing was too much trouble, and all recommendations made by them worked out well.

Arrival: Upon arrival we were offered welcome drinks (which were much needed), as well noticing how well they had catered for our family. We found toys, colouring, kids cutlery, plates etc, small bathrobes, a cot etc.

Location: Great! Right opposite the Klein Matterhorn gondola and a nice, easy 10 minute walk into town. The free use of the sled came in handy to pull the kids along.

Rooms: We stayed in the 2 bedroom Streif. Each room is on it's own floor, accessible by lift or stairs. Very comfortable, and a good size. The kitchen was set out well. AMAZING views of the Matterhorn.

Breakfast: Yum!! You put in your order the day before and your breakfast is freshly delivered at the time of your choice. Choices of cereals, breads, pastries, fruits, cold meats, cheeses, juice, tea/coffee etc. We looked forward to it each morning.

Amenities: We used the wellness area each day, mainly for the pool and outdoor spa which was very enjoyable. The afternoon tea offerings are a lovely touch. We also used the ski room which was great too.

Negatives: The only one that comes to mind is that there is no laundry in the room or a common one in the hotel for DYI. Travelling with young kids we had a bit of washing that ended up being quite expensive when done through the hotel laundry service.

Overall, we loved Zermatt and Zurbriggen. So much so that we rebooked for next year when checking out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TROSS00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

My family spent a wonderful week here in January. I agree with a previous reviewer who said that there is something magical about it. The apartment was beautiful and also practical in every way and worked very well for our group (parents and children 21, 17, 9). Great combination of the positive features of apartment and hotel services.

Most of the details are covered by other reviewers, but a particular points I loved
. Uninterrupted views of the Matterhorn and proximity to glacier express cable car
. Lovely fittings and furniture, understated but beautiful
. Fabulous breakfast
. Ability to cook dinner in the apartment, great with a small child
. Wonderful wellness area and afternoon tea, which feels earned after a day on the slopes!
. Lovely staff, excellent housekeeping, lovely smell throughout.

I will remember forever sitting with my children in the warm water of the outdoor jacuzzi, looking at the Matterhorn and surrounding peaks, with gentle snow falling on our faces.

I hope to return one day.

Room Tip: We were in Saslonch which had 2 bedrooms and easily accommodated five of us with one on the sofa bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We've stayed here at least once a year for the last 5 or 6 years, since just after it opened. It is quite expensive, especially in the winter, but you absolutely get what you pay for. If we could afford it we'd spend every holiday here!

SERVICE
Aparthotel Zurbriggen is owned and run by the superstar 1980's ski racer Pirmin Zurbriggen and his wife and young family. Their sunny and welcoming personalities, combined with the hotel's small size, means that the service is very friendly and personal. It's not a 5 star service - nobody in caps and uniforms - just relaxed and attentive without being obtrusive.

ROOMS
The place is small - just 10 or so apartments, each one with a bedroom and a kitchen / diner /sitting room, with a balcony with an unobstructed view to the Matterhorn. The quality of fittings and decor is very high - bang and olufsen stereo, dvd and tv for example.

There is a sofabed in the sitting rooms, so you can put two adults and two kids into the smaller apartments and it will work just fine.

FOOD
Breakfast is served each morning and is really delicious - you order what you want the night before and it's delivered to your apartment in the morning.

There isn't a restaurant, but there are plenty of good ones nearby, and if you really wanted to, you could cook - the kitchenette is well equipped.

LOCATION
It's very close to the Klein Matterhorn lift station - good both for summer hiking and winter skiing. At the top end of the village it has uncompromised views to the Matterhorn. This does mean that it is about 10 minutes gentle walk from the centre of town, so when you arrive and leave they'll collect you and your bags from the station in their electric car.

WELLNESS SPA
There is a small swimming pool with massage jets and an "endless pool" pump that can generate a current you can swim into. There is a steam room, sauna, "erlebnis duche" - a sort of shower that sprays mist, or automatically varying hot and cold water. There's also a lovely outdoor hot tub, with views to the Matterhorn.

Room Tip: All the apartments have perfect views of the matterhorn - just pick by size! (Olympic suite in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirkej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My wife and I stayed the Suitenhotel Zurbriggen for three wonderful nights.
Although the weather wasn't great the hotel, staff and wellness centre made up for it in spades!
We had some booking "wrinkles" that were quickly taken care of and Mr. Zurbriggen himself made sure our stay will last in our memories forever.
The hotel is fantastic! Perfectly situated directly across from one of the main lifts it offers up a short walk to the ski hill and or hiking.
The rooms are beautifully appointed, airy and light.
I simply cannot say enough about this hotel or the family and staff!

J & M

Room Tip: ...All the rooms have a view of the Matterhorn so you cannot lose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Suitenhotel Zurbriggen in September. It was absolutely delightful. The rooms are superb, the view to die for, and the service is impeccable. My wife and I do not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed only one night in Zermatt and chose the Zurbriggen because of the reviews here on TA, as well as the view we were promised. We were not disappointed! We had the Matterhorn Suite, a lovely large room/suite with a stunning view directly to the Matterhorn. The service was impeccable - everyone from the front desk to the lovely lady who served us our breakfast in the room, to the owner who sweetly and unexpectedly brought us to the train station when rain caused us to check out a bit early (thank you, Pirmin!). The hotel is a bit of a walk to town, which we didn't mind. It is directly across the road from the Klein Matterhorn train, and about a 15-minute walk to the main train station and the train to the Gornergrat. Yes, I would highly recommend this hotel - worth every Swiss Franc!!
Oh, and breakfast was wonderful...you get to select your items from a generous menu and pick the time your breakfast is delivered. Eggs, omelets, breads, coffee, juice, friut, meats...all delicious!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good! But ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

High end and therefore worth the price. Picures on web site reflecting reality. Spent 2 nights in one of the suites early August. Beatiful location, very good service, very nice hospitability. Everything was nice, will return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Focus - Design Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Berghof Zermatt
Hotel Berghof Zermatt
#79 of 110 in Zermatt
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#17 of 110 in Zermatt
589 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
#62 of 110 in Zermatt
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suitenhotel Zurbriggen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suitenhotel Zurbriggen

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 68, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#36 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#38 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#40 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £224 - £676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suitenhotel Zurbriggen 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Suitenhotel Zurbriggen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apparthotel Zurbriggen Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing