We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday treat”
Review of Stockhorn Grill

Stockhorn Grill
Ranked #34 of 199 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely birthday treat”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Lovely friendly service. Very cosy restaurant & excellent food. We were in a group of six & all had beef fondue - lots of sauces and extras included in price.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank caz060163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    104
    33
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were looking forward to going to this resturant for its Steaks.
Disappointed it was not cooked to our exact request. We also overheard the table next to us, request the steak to be re-Grilled.
However the scallop starter was very good. I felt the staff lacked ATD(attention to deatil). What a shame. Not sure if we will ever go back again.
Farshad

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farshad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious meat in cosy restaurant”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had fillet steak and lamb fillet, both delicious. Restaurant is atmospheric, a lovely old wooden building. Service very efficient and friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank roseYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High Marks for food, service, ambiance”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The negative reviews were worrisome so we were very pleasantly surprised. As suggested by others we pre-ordered the chicken cooked on the open fire place when making the booking. It was great with vegetable choices and chose au grant potatoes. They offer garlic butter once dinner is served. The waiter was wonderful and the ambiance was warm and friendly. We had always wanted to try this place when we walked by on past trips because it looked quaint from the outside, glad we finally chose it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
325 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“The cheese fondue was worthwhile”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I had already made a reservation for a table of four when I read the negative reviews.
Since I didi not feel like paying a lot and not receiving my moneys worth I changed at the last minute for the cheese fondue in the basement, and I was glad.
We were served by one of the portuguese waiters who was very friendly and helpful, I guess her name was Maria, and the fondue was great. I guess one cannot go wrong with cheese fondue in Switzerland!
At the end the bill was quite reasonable since we all had house wine and we just had a great night.
By the way, the ambiance in the basement is much cozier than in the ground floor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MiriamM972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockhorn Grill also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Stockhorn Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing