We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zermatt
Ranked #72 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Always friendly, always willing to go that "extra little bit" to make your stay special. Staff are friendly and efficient, and the management charming. They went to considerable trouble to lacate, of all things, a guitar for our party to borrow for a special occasion, and made space for a reception, as well as providing a mouth watering buffet for about 60 people! I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any visitor to the marvellous village of Zermatt.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental Zermatt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

Excellent Location
Excellent Service
Excellent Food
Excellent Value for money

Stayed for a week in Jan 2013, wish we could have stayed longer!

The staff and manager were all very friendly and helpful.

Only (slight) negative was the menu in the restaurant was only in German and French, unfortunately we dont speak either, would have been good if the menu was also provided in English.

Room Tip: Our room was on the South side, had a (limited) view of the Matterhorn, Plenty of sun during the day...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stayed here for chrismas great welcome food and location, good staff service
close to gornergratt train so good access for skiing, just off the main street so close to all the action
rooms good with good tv hot water and balcony would stay again mianly cos the food is as good as many and better than some 4 +star hotels
very good value for money despite poor swiss franc

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

the restaurant downstairs is very good.a cosy,friendly athmosphere,you immediately feel welcome.the food is delicious,nice salad bar.the stuff is friendly and polite.the prices are low for zermatt.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarita84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Spend a holiday week in Zermatt half-board.
Positive about the hotel:
- Location in the middle of the village
- Breakfast and Dinner were very good.
- Good value for Zermatt
Negative
- We were lucky to have a renovated room because the other ones are totally outdated.
- Lobby, lift and corridors urgently need an update.
- don't expect great Matterhorn views from the rooms.

I would only come back if this hotel is fully renovated.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

This is a good little hotel in a great location.

17 Double rooms & 19 single rooms all with balcony

The singles were compact but had everything required including ensuite wc & shower. Paid CHF 120 per night for a single incl good buffet breakfast in Easter week. Rooms very clean and the owners very helpful. Half board is available for another CHF 25.

The location is perfect on a side street off Bahnhofstrasse. Couldn't have been more central but with little noise at night. Easy walk to the Gornergratbahn, station, ski hire, bars restaurants etc.

I would return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cottonsfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rosebonomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#32 of 111 in Zermatt
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
#86 of 111 in Zermatt
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
#59 of 111 in Zermatt
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elite Garni
Hotel Elite Garni
#70 of 111 in Zermatt
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zermatt

Address: Brantschenhaus 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: £99 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental Zermatt 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continental is located right in the city centre of Zermatt, 150 m from the train station and the Gornergratbahn ski lift. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the property. All rooms have a flat-screen TV and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Some rooms feature a seating area and connecting rooms are available on request for families. A rich buffet breakfast with regional products is included in all room rates. Guests staying at the Continental Hotel can enjoy a reduced entrance fee to the Vita Borni spa at the sister hotel Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, which is 150 m away, upon request and on availability. They also have the possibility to charge their restaurant charges at the restaurants of Grand Hotel Zermatterhof to their room account. Various restaurants, bars and shops are within easy walking distance of Hotel Continental. This is our guests' favourite part of Zermatt, according to independent reviews. This property also has one of the best-rated locations in Zermatt! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Continental Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing