We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another incredible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another incredible stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

You have to love the Matternhorn Focus. Über cool ambience and style. 75 meters to the lift. Incredible service. This was our 3rd stay and we still totally adore it. Already booked for next year and looking forward to returning

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear guests
Thank you very much for being ours guests again and your lovely review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time at the hotel Matterhorn Focus. Thank you very much and we love to see you again at the FOCUS next year.
Best regards and have a great spring time.
Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    56
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
146
347
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Returned to the Matterhorn Focus in February 2013 following up on 2 prior trips to Zermatt and a previous stay at the Focus in 2010. Absolutely wonderful experience. Very comfortable room with fun view of the Matterhorn. Great staff attention, with particularly good help booking Mountain lunches that are a signature Zermatt experience (great experiences at Chez Vrony, Fluhalp, and Findlerhof). Tremendous location right by the best lift onto the mountain and a good equipment rental shop, and ski off access back to the hotel.

Lack of lunch or dinner service not a problem if you expect it, easy to eat in the village, gives you a nice walk, and the swimming pool is a treat. Shy Anglos, we passed on the nude Sauna.

Room Tip: Check photos before booking room, American families like ours were shy about booking modern Haus A w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonLifeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear TA Member

We hope, you had a pleasant journey back home. Thank you very much for the good review. We are very happy that you enjoyed again your stay at the FOCUS. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in Zermatt.
Kind regards and have a sunny spring time.
Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Having read some of the reviews on here, and also seen the pictures of the quirkiness of the Matterhorn Focus, we just had to stay here. Our only concerns beforehand were really as to whether it was accessible enough for town, and whether it being bed and breakfast only would detract in some way from the overall stay. It is also, of course, not cheap, but then again nothing in Zermatt is, so I'll only say on that account that I gave it 5 stars for value.

From the very moment you arrive in your private electric taxi into the underground tunnel and are taken up the elevator into the hotel you just feel special. In fact you are special, because you are about to stay in a very unique and special hotel. Everything is wonderful, and we had smiles on our faces every time we walked in.

We stayed in a superior room, which was spacious, immaculate, and had great views back over Zermatt itself. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful, even down to the restaurant reservations and recommendations, which we would not otherwise have found or tried ourselves (Le Gitan and the Stockhorn by the way, both great in very different ways).

The breakfast was simply wonderful, the pool (which becomes part jacuzzi outside) and wellness centre amazing (the detail which goes into for example the chandelier over the swimming pool is just stunning) and the sitting areas are simply luxurious. Everly little detail seems to have been taken care of, right down to keycard controlled individual (and heated, naturally) ski and boot lockers.

The location itself, to go onto my earlier reservations, is simply perfect. In much of Zermatt you have to walk a long way or pay for expensive taxis, and then onto the the more restricted skiing areas of the Rothorn or the Sunnegga. From the Focus you are literally straight onto the Glacier Paradise gondola, from where you can go anywhere, even (virtually) straight over to Cervinia in Italy. You can also walk into the centre of town in 5 or 6 minutes, so everything is at your fingertips as it were.

I can only sum up by saying that I could not fault the Focus in any way whatsoever, and can say that it deserves every one of its plaudits and accolades in spades. I would come back here without hesitation, and in fact am almost spoilt forever by this place. Thank you Matterhorn Focus for an unbelievable stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aquavista41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

With a modern design this brand new boutique hotel is a perfect place if you ski or not. 30 meters from Matterhorn Express gondola the Hotel has not too much rooms. You are going to experience a personalized place. You can order a room with a view to Matterhorn Mountain.

Be advised that there´s no dinner avaiable to guests. You can order sandwiches or pizzas, but not a full dinner during the hotel. Sure, this is not a problem, you have a lot of fantastic options in Zermatt.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coogee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is the place to stay in Zermatt. Beautiful hotel right next to the gondola lift and a rental spot. The hotel has all the amenities you could want plus an excellent staff who really seems to go out of their way to make sure you have the best stay possible. It is an easy 10 minute walk to town.

The rooms are a nice size, very comfortable with spectacular views.

While the hotel does not have a restaurant they do have a limited dinner menu and will happily order take out from a very good restaurant across the path which they will either serve to you at one of their tables or give you what ever utensils you need to take it to your room.

Our whole experience was fabulous and we would definitely look to stay here again if and when we returned to Zermatt.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlt467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

despite being at the edge of town, this is definitely one of the best located hotels in Zermatt with it's proximity to the gondola, and the lift up from the final run of the day. The views of the matterhorn are second to none, and the overall desing and decor of the hotel is inspired. Honestly no negative criticisms or comments.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This was our fourth visit to he Matterhorn Focus and it is still as good as ever! We have been skiing in Zermatt for over 15 years and the Focus is definitely our preferred place to stay. The staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel interiors quirky and location is as good as it gets when getting to the slopes in the morning. Go and 'enjoy you privacy'.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hjberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 111 in Zermatt
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 111 in Zermatt
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 111 in Zermatt
770 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#8 of 111 in Zermatt
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhorn Focus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Property: Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 131, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Business Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matterhorn Focus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design & Lifestyle in front of the Matterhorn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Matterhorn Focus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Focus Hotel
Matterhorn Focus Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing