We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is the hotel to stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

a boutique, well appointed luxury hotel that is an ideal ski in/ski out option unlike most of the hotels in zermatt, which are more central to shops/restaurants but not the lifts. There are 3 lift options to access ski slopes (railway/underground train or cable car), and this hotel is < 100metres from the cable car, which is the preferred choice of the 3 options for most types of skiers as it goes the furthest, and allows access to 2 zermatt ski regions (plus italy of course)

You are a 10 min walk from the church in the town centre, with plenty of taxis to take you back should you wish, altho' we walked (and loved it) every night to/from dinner. A large ski hire with great gear is right by the cable car (< 100m from hotel) and is open to 7pm each night - handy for those arriving later in day...

We had a lovely superior room in A block (301) , with a balcony and a mezzanine (big enough for my teenage son to sleep in). floor to wall windows allowed me to see the lights of zermatt from the bed - the view was just spectacular.

Really enjoyed the huge breakfast buffet, and also the "happy hour" free snacks after skiing, but what really stood out for me in this hotel were
(1) the beautiful heated indoor/outdoor pool/spa and relaxation area, together with dry and wet saunas and other relaxation rooms
(2) the very personal and high level of staff service at every opportunity, and always with a smile - eg knowing me by name/bringing me my favorite type of coffee as soon as I sit down for breakfast each morning without being asked/ happily recommending and booking restaurants/ski guides/helping with doctor appointments (our group was somewhat injury prone) etc etc
No complaints at all, and this will be the place I will stay when I return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spiritof66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Matterhorn Focus is a very nice hotel and overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My only regret was not booking a suite when I had the opportunity.

The front desk staff were fantastic and very helpful throughout our stay – I can’t thank them enough for organising some superb meals and our transfers to/from the train station.

I booked a Deluxe room with the expectation that the room would have floor to ceiling windows and a view of the Matterhorn (as per the photos on the website). Instead we were at the side of the hotel (Building c) in a less contemporary room but thankfully with an incredible view of the Matterhorn. I loved waking up early)ish) every morning to watch the first rays of sunlight hit the side of the mountain!

Our room was adequate in terms of the size and it was tastefully decorated although there was no bath (just a shower) and there was a distinct lack of electrical sockets with which to charge my phone/iPad etc. Also, it wasn’t possible to directly control the temperature of the room whcih I found a bit annoying.

I can’t say I missed not having a mini-bar/fridge in our room but you can ask for one if that is your preference.

Housekeeping was very efficient and did a great job of keeping our room clean and stocked with fresh towels.

Room tip: The Deluxe rooms are split across 3 buildings and only those in Building A have the floor to ceiling windows if that is what you are looking for. I suggest requesting confirmation of which building your room will be located in at the time of book. Or just book a suite!

Breakfast is a bit of a let down and although it runs till 10:30am don’t expect much left after 10am or to receive a warm welcome from the lady who clears the tables – we came down at 10am one morning only to find all the table settings had been cleared away and received a surly look when we sat down.

Breakfast tip: Avoid the dry/rubbery scrambled eggs and ask a member of staff for some fried or poached eggs which are made to order.

The indoor/outdoor pool was another reason I booked this hotel and this was great way to relax after a day on the slopes. Very clean and modern spa facilities.

The hotel has a ski room in the basement with an allocated locker per guest room and heaters inside to dry/warm your boots overnight – a nice touch.

I would definitely recommend the Matterhorn Focus but choose your room wisely and book WELL ahead (as in 8-12 months ideally)!

Room Tip: Book a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryanpa_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel surpassed our expectations in so many ways! The staff were very friendly, hands-on and helpful. The interior design is a perfect mix of modern and stylish without feeling too corporate or extravagant. Good food and attention to detail. View from our room was spectacular - right by the slopes. But the most extraordinary bit was probably the heated pool that also connected to an outdoor area where you can just relax in the warm water while overseeing the Swiss Alps!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheVeggieVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were met at the train station by the hotel's electric taxi. From the time we slipped through the sleek glass garage door and up the tunnel to the hotel elevator (also glass), we knew this was going to be a unique experience. The hotel's location is perfect for skiers. It's just a short walk to the ski rental shop and the gondola to the top of the hill. With only 30 guest rooms, the service is personal, but not overbearing. One highlight is the breakfast buffet. There is plenty of variety and selection. The indoor/outdoor pool is just the right temperature to relax after a day on the slopes.

We had a "family" room for just 2 of us so there was plenty of space. Typical for European hotels the room was pretty warm. But we slept with the window opened and it was quite comfortable. There was a bit of noise when the cable started in the morning but it was easy to sleep through. I found that watching the cable car slide by with the Matterhorn in the background to be quite a treat. The best thing about our room was the view of the sun rise illuminating the Matterhorn. Truly an amazing sight.

I would recommend this hotel for just about any traveller: couples, families,or a group of friends. The staff was excellent, and the facilities were first class.

Room Tip: Make sure and ask for a room with a view of the mountain. Most of their rooms have views, but some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanOSki711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here over Xmas with my husband and friends. Great view of the Matterhorn and close to the lifts. Very friendly staff. Enjoyed a delicious buffet champagne breakfast included in the room charge. Reception also recommended a great restaurant in walking distance to the hotel (Sonnmatten). A wonderful way to spend a white christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpmt1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

From the moment that Chris, the owner of the hotel, took the trouble to personally and cheerfully fetch us from the Zermatt train station (close to midnight - 5 hours of delay on intercontinental flight), we knew that we were in for a treat. We were not mislead by this - it really got better! The rooms are stunning (tip - spend a little more for a view of the Matterhorn), the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the breakfast buffet is scrumptious and the heated indoor / outdoor swimming pool is a must after a hard day of skiing. Another advantage is that the hotel is very close to the main lift station that takes one to the skiing areas and, when there is sufficient snow during winter months, one can ski back to within a short distance on an easy red slope. The spa and wellness centre is tranquil - we had soothing massages to ease aching bones after a couple of days of hard skiing. Chris and Sonya (his beautiful wife) have created their dream hotel and their passion, together with a motivated staff, to make you're stay a pleasant one is what sets this gem apart from all others, in our opinion. We have stayed in famous hotels all over the world, and the quality of this hotel is right up there with the best, but the passion, commitment and personal touch of the owners is what sets this one apart! We intend to go back again, same time next year

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GavJones101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

There could not be better location for skiers. Literally next to the ski lifts and a few steps from the arrival of the slopes. Hotel has a modern design, rooms are spacey and comfortable with good equipment and amenities. Spa and swimming pool are a delight for after ski. Service is great and owners and employees are very amicable and ready to help at any time. Breakfast offers a wide assortment for all taste.
And the absence of restaurant is definitely not an issue in view of the plethoric choice Zermatt has to offer.
And our dog got a warm welcome as well!
We recommend and will go back with pleasure!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank NomadeModerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear NomadeModerne
Thank you very much for your great review about your stay in the FOCUS. We are very happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Compliments for a job well done are always rewarding and motivate our team to go on their way to make our guest’s stay a memorable one.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the FOCUS and send you our best regards.
Merry X-mas and a happy New Year.
Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
798 reviews
0.8 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
677 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#16 of 110 in Zermatt
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhorn Focus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 131, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Business Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £159 - £514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matterhorn Focus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design & Lifestyle in front of the Matterhorn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Matterhorn Focus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Focus Hotel
Matterhorn Focus Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing