We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This year was the third year our family has stayed at The Focus and we are never disappointed. The service is impeccable which matches the facilities with spectacular views of the Matterhorn from your room. The service begins even before you arrive. They will pick your ski equipment and luggage up from the train station before you arrive. It will be waiting for you in your private ski locker/ room. When you arrive you are welcomed with a drink by the log fire overlooking Zermatt. The facilities are always super clean and breakfast has the standard European selection with hot eggs and bacon. Again, service is exceptional since very few hotels have staff who remember your coffee order and make it when they see you sit down for breakfast. We love the indoor/outdoor pool area and the sauna is quiet and relaxing. The location is the best with the ski lifts just a few steps away. This hotel is worth every penny. We have booked already for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Janet C.

Thank you very much for your kind review and more importantly, your unfaltering loyalty to the FOCUS.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed again your stay and it is our pleasure to share your review with our team. To us there is hardly anything sweeter than a compliment for a job well done.

We hope to welcome you again to the FOCUS and send you our best regards
Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you for another amazing stay. This was our 4th year at Matterhorn Focus and is still our favourite Zermatt hotel and we're looking forward to another stay next year!

Fantastic rooms, ambience and service make this a really special hotel!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank argilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Family Gilmour

Thank you very much for your kind review and more importantly, your unfaltering loyalty to the FOCUS.

Your kind compliments sum up everything we want to be and we want to do. We truly appreciate your comments and we are happy to share it with the rest of the team; they are always fired up to be complimented for a job well done and for going the extra mile.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again next year.

With best regards and have a great time.

Chris & Sonja Noti, hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Dear Sonja and Chris,
again I hab a wounderful week in your gourgeous hotel.
The top room with the direkt Matterhorn view in the morning is unforgettable!
Thank you for you warm wellcome and your great services, all the time.
I will be back.. definitely.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Marcellino_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014
Google Translation

Hallo Markus

Wir haben uns sehr gefreut, dich wieder bei uns als Gast begrüssen zu dürfen. Ganz herzlichen Dank für die lieben Worte und das gute Feeback.
Wir wünschen dir frohe Oster-Festtage und freuen uns schon jetzt auf ein Wiedersehen.
Ganz liebe Grüsse vom ganzen FOCUS-Team. Chris & Sonja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Although it is a 10 minute ride from the Zermatt railway station, the hotel will gladly send a buggy to pick you up. From then on, everything was flawless.
We were warmly met by the helpful receptionist, given a welcome drink of our choice and thereafter taken to our rooms. The rooms are modern and of minimalist design with excellent toiletries.
In terms of location, it couldn't be better. Taking the lift down to the basement, one is literally at the base station of the cable cars to the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise.
Tips: Call the hotel for the complimentary shuttle just before reaching the Zermatt railway station as it does take some time for them to arrive.
I preferred the rooms not facing the Matterhorn as they give a lovely view of Zermatt town, besides being less expensive.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DoctorBakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear DoktorBakar

We truly hope, you had a pleasant journey back home. Thank you very much for the very good feedback and your kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay at the FOCUS.

We would be honored to be your hosts again if your travel plans lead you back to Zermatt and wish you a great and sunny easter time.

Kind regards from the Matterhorn FOCUS team.

Chris & Sonja Noti
Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent location 50m from Matterhorn Express lift. Friendly and very service minded staff. Lovely hotel with all you could possible need. We would like to come back!

Laila and Arnt from Oslo, Norway

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnt-Even S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Laila & Arnt

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and of course for selecting hotel Matterhorn FOCUS as your residence during your winter trip to Zermatt.

We are very pleased indeed that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would be honored to be your hosts again if your travel plans lead you back to Zermatt.

Yours sincerely

Chris & Sonja Noti, hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have stayed all over the world. This is undoubtedly one of the finest hotels we have ever had the fortune of staying in. Starting with a warm do anything for you staff to incredible rooms, spa and pool area, delicious breakfast daily. Excellent location to lift, a short walk to town which was needed daily after the wonderful Zermatt cuisine. We will be back, already planning next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Carol K
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experiences. Thanks a lot for the good feedback and the great compliments. We are very pleased that you have spent a great time in Zermatt and enjoyed your stay with us at the FOCUS. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you next year as our guests.
Best regards from the Matterhorn village, Chris & Sonja Noti, hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Due to unfortunate circumstances, we arrived very tired and emotionally drained to Hotel Matterhorn Focus in January 2014. We were greeted so warmly and the owners are lovely . They had gone out of their way to help us out before our arrival to deal with our loss of my husbands father which had impacted greatly on us.
Our room was fantastic and we were able to spread all our gear out and settle in. Having a spectacular view up to the Matterhorn from our bed or bath was very special. Great having two separate basins. One in the bathroom and one in dressing area near cupboard which I used to leave all my makeup and girly needs on the bench.
Nice lounge and there is a bath to soak up the view if you wish . It feels like you are right in the mountains and the 2 ski likes whoosh close by the window. They can't see in though because the windows are all mirrored. There is a nice wrap around balcony too.
Breakfasts were fantastic. We stayed in one night and had soup in the bar because we were tired after travelling from Australia.
The hotel is perfectly placed to hop straight on the lifts in the morning with a choice of 2 bubbles to go on. Ski out finishes just in front across the river. There is a great après ski place not far from the end of the run. Lots of fun.
The interiors of the hotel are super artistic and interesting. The artist who did a lot of them is responsible for some of Zermatts most expensive chalets to rent, so to get his style at this price is amazing. The chandeliers are incredible.
The pool and wellness area are lovely. I don't normally swim at ski hotels but I couldn't resist because of the beautiful lighting, views and ambience. Really comfortable wooden beds to lie on around the pool.
The staff were very helpful with recommending places for dinner. Matterhorn Focus doesn't do full dinner service but does have soups and snacks and will order in for you. The restaurants we went to, we walked to and from and were happy with all three.
My husband and I love walking around in snow so we don't mind that the hotel isn't in the centre of Zermatt. We like close to ski lifts as a priority. Numerous taxis and buses are in Zermatt anyway.

If you like artistic, personalized, interesting, cool and something more boutique like, then this hotel is perfect. Ski storage is great. Heated boot storage. Super comfy bed. European chic.
We loved this place and recommend it highly for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Matterhorn view and a bath if you feel like lying back and soaking it all in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
799 reviews
0.8 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
677 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhorn Focus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 131, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Business Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £162 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matterhorn Focus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design & Lifestyle in front of the Matterhorn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Matterhorn Focus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Focus Hotel
Matterhorn Focus Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing