We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Off to a great start when a friendly guy from the hotel picked us up in an electric buggy at the station and took us to the hotel, pointing out useful places along the route. The entrance to the hotel is via a short underground tunnel (think the entrance to a Bond villain's lair) before being whisked up via a glass lift to reception.

Check in was seamless and we were given a tour of the facilities and shown how various bits in the room work.

From station to making a coffee in our room must have been less than 20 mins.

We had a suite with Matterhorn views. The room was extremely stylish and sophisticated with a very functional layout. It was also immaculately clean, and housekeeping kept it like that every day. The room looked exactly as it appears on the hotel's own website.

The weather was such that we didn't get much of a Matterhorn view, but on the occasions we did, having chosen a Matterhorn room was well worth it.

Breakfast was really good with a lot of choice and by the end of our stay the nice waitress knew which coffees to bring without us asking. The hotel were also happy to prepare packed breakfasts so we could start our day early before breakfast was served.

The hotel didn't serve any
meals other than breakfast during our stay but were able to arrange good takeaways which meant we could enjoy our suite rather than go out.

Other things: The spa is excellent. Wifi very quick. Nespresso machine in the room. Hotel were able to supply a blackberry charger when ours broke.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear CWTraveller99

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for your detailed feedback. It was a great pleasure for us to be your host during your recent stay at the FOCUS.

Your kind compliments sum up everything we want to be and we want to do. We truly appreciate your comments and we are happy to share it with the rest of the team; they are always fired up to be complimented for a job well done and for going the extra mile.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerely
Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    54
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
139
333
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is family run. The couple that run it stepped out of the finance sector and invested their lives into a one-of-a-kind hotel in Zermatt. The staff is friendly beyond expectation. I stayed their for 7 nights with my Fiance. We are from San Francisco, Ca so coming to the swiss alps we were not sure what to expect.

We had as 1-Bedroom suite facing the Matterhorn. The room was modern yet maintained a mountain charm and provided more than enough utilities to support your every need. We spend most of our time in the pool hanging out outside in the snow with several couples from around the world who we met there and are friends with today. the breakfast buffet is a cheese and meat crazy experience. Providing a large variety of cheeses as well as common bfast items such as eggs and croissants.

The staff takes care of all your dining needs around the area and makes all your reservations for you. It is located a 30 second walk from the Gondola up to the mountain and only minutes away via taxi to the downtown area.

We plan on making a trip to Zermatt annually to this hotel. Its a great experience for the family or a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing, even the standard rooms. Town view or matterhorn view are exceptional, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Dave C

We are very happy that we have met your expectations.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and it is our pleasure to share your review with our team. To us there is hardly anything sweeter than a compliment for a job well done.

We will continue on that path and the FOCUS hopes to be on your list, if your travel plans should lead you back to Zermatt.

In the meantime, stay well and enjoy the summer.

Yours sincerely Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you're in Zermatt and want Swiss-clean, you really must go stay here. It's a perfect hotel in terms of cleanliness, super modern cool, and AFFORDABLE. Chris who owns the place is a young entrepreneur. He's not going to tolerate old stodgy boring or any of those things. He keeps it "tuned" like a car enthusiast would keep his car tuned. Fit as a fiddle.

My wife and I wonder how he keeps such a luxury hotel running at such a low price ($390 US for one of their large best). Pool is perfect and bigger than it looks in photos. Breakfast coffee is the best i've had in western europe.

Cons -- it's a 15 min walk to center of downtown. But trust me you don't want to be downtown. There is a nice Japanese / Thai place (super expensive but delish) not far from hotel. You're literally next to the cable cars up to little matterhorn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear gramone

Thank you very much for your great review about your stay in the FOCUS. We are very happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Compliments for a job well done are always rewarding and motivate our team to go on their way to make our guest’s stay a memorable one.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the FOCUS and send you our best regards

Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in and I have payed much more for other hotels! I did follow the suggestion of other reviewers and highly recommend getting a suite with a view of the Matterhorn. The room was amazing and the staff was very helpful and nice. I did enjoy the appertif drink on arrival and being able to have a morning swim before checkout. As others have already stated the only downside was the hotel not having a restaurant. That said, the breakfast included had a good selection of bread and cheeses along with many other options. I would definitely come to Zermatt again simply to stay at the Matterhorn Focus.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Samantha60878
What a nice review! Thank you so much. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay. Your kind and warm feedback shows us that we are on the right “path”. We all endeavor to provide this kind of service so that you feel at home. Seeing our guests with sparks in their eyes makes our work so special. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel soon. In the interim, we send you our best regards.
Take care and enjoy the summer.
Best regards
Chris Noti, Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Amazing attention to every detail from indoor outdoor pool, sauna and spa to breakfast. Stayed in a suite with kids, beautiful room. Outstanding view of the Matterhorn. The front desk is extremely thoughtful(my husband forgot my bag by mistake and they remembered and chased him down!) and helpful. Thanks so much for this.
One of the most relaxing places I have ever stayed, recommended by a friend and he was so correct.
This hotel is so worth the drive/train up to Zermatt.

Room Tip: Rooms with a suite can sleep 2 adults & 2 kids very comfortably(not on the sofa) in an alcove so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APreudhomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear APreudhomme
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel Matterhorn Focus. It is always great to hear that the people liked our style, infrastructure and services. We will hand over your feedback to our team. Thank you very much and we would love to see you again at the FOCUS.
Kind regards and have a great time.

Chris & Sonja Noti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montperreux, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent one night in this hotel as a couple for a break. The overall rating of this hotel is excellent.

The location is excellent: just near one of the cable car to go to the ski slopes and 5 minutes walking to the nearest restaurants and bar in Zermatt.

Positive:
Very friendly staff and down to earth
Checkin very efficient with welcome drink of your choice
Very nice room "Superior Deluxe" - we have been upgraded for free because of seasonal closure of the hotel. Very cleaned and tidy. A great view on the Matterhorn (except the cable car post in front of!), a lot of light due to a complete wall of window (with external tint glass - you can't be seen from outside), good tv device with lot of channels, very comfortable bed (but still two single beds aside as it is common in Swiss german part), Nespresso coffee machine with 2 free capsules and Caillers chocolate bars, nice bathroom with lot of products.
Very good breakfast, great choice of products and coffee, and very nice staff
Nice sauna hammam, and swimming pool (internal/external). can have drinks around the pool (which is not everywhere the case!)
The hotel bus drive is very nice guy and accommodating

Negative:
No restaurant in the hotel
No bath in this kind of room (superior deluxe).
Shower curtain in the bathroom
Hot temperature in the bedroom and in the hotel in general. At the breakfast, the eggs need to be cooled to order and not already pre-cooked.

Room Tip: Room with Matterhorn view in house A or B
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This year was the third year our family has stayed at The Focus and we are never disappointed. The service is impeccable which matches the facilities with spectacular views of the Matterhorn from your room. The service begins even before you arrive. They will pick your ski equipment and luggage up from the train station before you arrive. It will be waiting for you in your private ski locker/ room. When you arrive you are welcomed with a drink by the log fire overlooking Zermatt. The facilities are always super clean and breakfast has the standard European selection with hot eggs and bacon. Again, service is exceptional since very few hotels have staff who remember your coffee order and make it when they see you sit down for breakfast. We love the indoor/outdoor pool area and the sauna is quiet and relaxing. The location is the best with the ski lifts just a few steps away. This hotel is worth every penny. We have booked already for next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Janet C.

Thank you very much for your kind review and more importantly, your unfaltering loyalty to the FOCUS.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed again your stay and it is our pleasure to share your review with our team. To us there is hardly anything sweeter than a compliment for a job well done.

We hope to welcome you again to the FOCUS and send you our best regards
Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.8 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhorn Focus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Property: Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 131, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Business Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matterhorn Focus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design & Lifestyle in front of the Matterhorn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Matterhorn Focus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Focus Hotel
Matterhorn Focus Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing