We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Matterhornblick
Ranked #78 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice stay”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

we arrived on 20 december 2011. got an apartment with kitchen 1 bedroom, 2 rooms n 3 bed and 2 balconies. got a tv. no lift. so, i suggest to pack lightly as in zermatt also car free zone. and if you need to rent the small cab its cost you 6 to 7 chf. And the breakfast was OK. overall, we are content and happy with our stay at the hotel ! would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Perhaps it is the Swiss style. Perhaps it is because we only stayed there 1 night. There was a bit of “je ne sais quoi” even when we arrived and that was despite our initial conversation being in German re our reservation. There seemed little warmth from the host (Herr Julen) when we checked in and later when we checked out. Our later dealings with Frau Julen were warmer. Perhaps it was the extra effort required to carry the conversation in English.

The hotel is a 10-12 minute very slightly uphill walk (except for the last 70m or so) from Zermatt train station and if your luggage is not too heavy, the walk is extremely do-able and can save you a few CHF in a country that is extremely expensive. There are only electric cars and bicycles in the town so walking even down the middle of the street is very safe.
We were allocated a room on the Matterhorn side so it was a real treat being able to look at the Matterhorn from our balcony. From the floorplan I looked at whilst studying the fire escape map, it would appear some rooms do not have this view so it should probably be specifically requested.

The room itself seemed freshly renovated with solid timber panelling which although seemingly plain, work and obviously are fairly easy to maintain. The pillows were too soft (like most places we found in Europe) so we would recommend getting another or supporting it somehow. The bed itself was comfortable without being too soft or too firm. There is a good selection of French, German and English channels on the LCD TV. The bathroom is a good size – just make sure one draws the curtains if you leave the door open (even if you close the door it’s slightly opaque). Water pressure for the shower is fine.

There is a Jacuzzi which we made use of with towels provided. The multi-coloured lighting is a bit Vegas-esque but it was a lovely treat to be able to relax our tired muscles. There are also 2 foot spa type basins which was extremely nice and gave us good relief from aching muscles.

There are a lot of restaurants on the main street and around the hotel. Zermatt is a tourist town so prices are high but the restaurant at the Zermatterhof seemed reasonable. We ate at a restaurant called Stadel which offered traditional Swiss food at reasonable prices (for Zermatt) and a free shot of liqueur at the end of dinner.

Breakfast is nice, the selection is limited, particularly when the hotel is quiet (when we were there, the hotel didn’t seem particularly full – either that or we ate breakfast early). The standard continental fare is there but the selection of breads is not as wide as some other hotels.

There is 1 internet computer (Mac) which was fast but had some pop-ups and configuration problems on it when logged in as English but Frau Julen said this was limited to the English login – using French, German or other language was ok and the pop-ups would not appear.
Check out was ok, except beware the seeming practice of European establishments not to accept signatures for credit cards and only taking PIN. The host did not seem to be able to get around this problem (despite other places in Europe being able to circumvent this).

All in all, if you are looking for somewhere clean and very reasonably priced to stay and can accept slightly lukewarm service, then this hotel would seem to fit the bill.

Room Tip: Do request a Matterhorn view room - not all rooms will have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JClasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to italy. They do not allow cars in zermatt so you need to catch a train which takes 20mins. The hotel is about a 10min walk to the station or you can catch a taxi for 6 francs. The hotel was in walking distance to everything such as resturants and the skycar up to the little matterhorn.

Once we got to the hotel, there was one lady who seemed to be the manager/owner she was very polite, friendly and helpful. The male manager came across as arrogant and condescending.

The room was very basic with no tea/coffee facilities or fridge. The room was quite large with a lounge in it. On room description they had you could see views of the matterhorn. We didn't have any view except of the hotels behind us and surrounding hills. Perhaps if you were on a higher level you would get a better view. The bed was two singles put together which I was slowly getting use to as this is common standard in europe. They still rolled apart while we slept which was very annoying. It had a big terrace but no table and only 2 chairs so was abit pointless. We took the coffee table outside. The room was clean and had air-con.

We had breakfast but it was average. The bread was stale and it was only a continental breakfast so not much choice. We wanted to use the spa before we left, the room book said it opened at 8am so we went down and waited about 10mins and noone had come to open it. When went up to the front desk to ask what was going on and our response we got was it hadn't been cleaned yet and will be open in a hr, If you cant stick to a certain time than they should change that in there guest books. On checkout the male owner advised us that we had other nights stay and laughed at our expense for not realising. As we were about to walk up to our room he realised he was looking at the wrong room number and made us feel like idiots. He was not particularly friendly.

Room Tip: a top level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueky333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel 3 nights in September '11. It is situated 100 meters off the main street of Zermatt, around mid-village, near the Museum, church and the graveyard of Matterhorn climbers. So it is centrally situated, but without the noise of the street
.
The room was spacious, modern, appeared to have been refurbished not a long time ago. It has an excellent view of the Matterhorn, and this, by itself, is something you'll not forget!. No mini-bar or coffee machine. The bathroom/toilet has a semi-transparent glass door!

The breakfast is OK, breads, croissants, cereals, cheese, meat, juices, eggs (you have to ask for them), coffee/tea, fruits.

The staff is very friendly and helpful with advice about activities, trains etc.

They have a courtesy electric taxi service from (free) and to (for 6 CHF) the train station.

We had very enjoyable days in this beautiful place.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view of the Matterhorn, you have to ask for it, you should be on the 3rd or 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehren_ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Beautiful, newly remodeled and decorated rooms throughout the hotel with excellent views of the Matterhorn from the mountain side of the hotel. Friendly staff, very good breakfasts (included), and central location make this a wonderful summer vacation hotel. The staff was most helpful in suggesting hikes, making restaurant suggestions and reservations, and assisting in transportation from and to the railroad station.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain side of the hotel, about 10CHF (Swiss francs additional)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We love the family who own this place. Every year we look forward to returning. Perfect location, delicious breakfast, comfortable beds, amazing view of the Matterhorn... and the staff are so friendly... can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33turtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Nice hotel in the Heart of Zermatt .
Kerstin and Bernhard were perfect Hosts during our stay .
Their staff Ms Sabrina also helped us since this was our visit to Zermatt .
The town is blessed with an amazing view of the Matterhorn .

They treat you as guests in their house .
Rooms were very spacious and well maintained .

Room Tip: Just in the heart of Zermatt .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karthic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#40 of 110 in Zermatt
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artist-Apartments & Hotel Garni
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Zermatt
Hotel Continental Zermatt
#75 of 110 in Zermatt
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
#61 of 110 in Zermatt
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#68 of 110 in Zermatt
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Hotel Beau-Rivage
#76 of 110 in Zermatt
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhornblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhornblick

Property: Hotel Matterhornblick
Address: Kirchstrasse 38, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matterhornblick 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in a central, but quiet area of Zermatt. The base lift stations are and easy 10-12 minute walk from the hotel. The Ski Bus also stops directly at the hotel and will bring you to the various ski lifts in the morning, and back to the hotel afterwards. The start of the Bahnhofstrasse (main street), where you can meet, shop, go out and party, or just window shop, is only about 100 meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Matterhornblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing