We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Matterhornblick
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 11 September 2010

stayed in sep. for 4 nights
the hotel is situated in the center of zermatt , near the main church.
rooms are clean, modern and spacious.
we had a balcony with a beautiful scenery of the town.
breakfest was continental which was more then satisfactory
the staff was helpful in planing our hiking trips and couertious to all requests.
could not ask for more

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeevIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baku
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

This hotel is good value for money and situated in the middle of the village only a short distrance to a supermarket, main street and plenty of restaurants. You can enter the hotel from the ski locker direct to your room. Our room was a nice size and TV has channels in many languages including 5 english channels. There is a sauna, steam, jacuzzi which is nice after skiing. Breakfast is continental served downstairs. There is no restaurant, but there is cool African restaurant in the building which serves spicy fusion and good value. Plenty of other restaurants within 150m of the hotel. Overall good value, would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2008

An excellent hotel in the heart of Zermatt run by a very friendly anglophone couple, Kerstin & Bernhard Julen. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the village church. Rooms on the opposite side of the building had spectacular views over the Matterhorn. Breakfasts consisted of bread (including croissants), local harms and cheeses, cereals, fruit and the usual array of drinks. The hotel appeared to be better value for money than some of the nearby hotels that we visited (including the Antika).

The hotel is around 10 minutes walk from the train station although when laden with luggage, it is much easier to use the hotel's taxi service at a cost of 6F (as opposed to the 17F charged by ordinary taxis).

The best restaurant in the vicinity of the hotel that we found was the Stockhorn, which specialises in local meats and cheeses (esp. raclette).

We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Liked — Friendly proprietors
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamtam2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We stayed here for five nights whilst doing some summer hiking in the area and loved the hotel. The family who own it were really friendly and helpful. They have lots of information in the lobby about the local area and were always happy to answer questions. The breakfast was really good and filled us up until the afternoon.I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Liked — the great view
  • Disliked — the spa was a bit tired
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank faith2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Central, clean, modern, quiet, great breakfast, excellent value. What more do you want?

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — breakfast could always be better, but was very happy
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank petrusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#23 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#44 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Hotel Beau-Rivage
#74 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#34 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#70 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhornblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhornblick

Property: Hotel Matterhornblick
Address: Kirchstrasse 38, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matterhornblick 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in a central, but quiet area of Zermatt. The base lift stations are and easy 10-12 minute walk from the hotel. The Ski Bus also stops directly at the hotel and will bring you to the various ski lifts in the morning, and back to the hotel afterwards. The start of the Bahnhofstrasse (main street), where you can meet, shop, go out and party, or just window shop, is only about 100 meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Matterhornblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing