We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in switzerland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Derby
Ranked #99 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
begusarai
1 review
“The best place in switzerland”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Perfect view from the balcony. The services are normal. Location of the hotel is too good....2 mins Walking from the railway station. Restaurant is very good and provides good food. Services in restaurant in good. Overall an awsome experience :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shas7288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    50
    24
    11
    13
See reviews for
40
42
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel Derby provides services which are fully in line with the price for your stay. The central location of the hotel is convenient, however if you want to have full silence during the night, find a location a little away from the main street (Bahnhofstrasse); you might get surprised by an orchestra walking the street during the night (at least we got surprised). The rooms were rather big and clean. Althought the smell in the hotel was the greasy smell of fried food, the overall verdict for this hotel is indeed average. I can recommend the stay, but would look at alternatives next time.

Room Tip: Possibly a room without a main street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLOTUAB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hotel Derby is very quaint, clean, comfortable and accommodating. Their staff goes out of their way to make sure your needs are met. Not only do you get top rate service, but you feel like family.
The restaurants food is excellent. The presentations are works of culinary art. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is also just a very quick jaunt from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Very relaxing apartment centrally located One bedroom suite. It was large, clean and the beds comfortable compared to other hotels we visited. Breakfast was part of the package and it was a great selection of food. When you factor how expensive food is in Switzerland this knocked $60 off the bill. The only negative is that the Wi-Fi was spotty and we got disconnected most of the time. However we were on vacation so perhaps it was meant to be. I would stay hear again

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My husband and I had dinner here in May 2013 on our second night in Zermatt. The food was disappointing served with a heap of potato chips and limp vegetables. What happened to Swiss cuisine? It was a messy affair and tasted bad. We struggled to finish the food. The waiter shoved his hand infront of my face when serving.What happened to serving on the guest's right? There was a group of American tourists in the same dining hall. Next time we shall avoid diners that cater to groups. We ate in Du Pont and Hotel Walliserhof and they were so much better. Gentler.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLkkkhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zermatt hotels

Reidsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the building behind the hotel. The room or suite was nice. The building was very dark when we walked in but by the third entrance we figured out where the light was. The hallway was long and many turns. The breakfast was delicious. Lots of options. Near everything. The girl at the counter was so nice when we arrived and let us leave our bags at the front while we explored after check out

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabykat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed in the building behind the main Derby Hotel, which is still part of the hotel but has the suites with the kitchens. The location is the only positive in my opinion. The hotel is on the main street and a short walking distance from the train station. I don't think you could find a more convenient location. We were very disappointed with the room. The bed consisted of one thin mattress on a piece of wood and the pillow was flat. It was very uncomfortable and we could not sleep well during our stay. The shower leaked. One outlet cover came off the electrical socket. The hotel staff was not particularly friendly and helpful. We did not enjoy the breakfast. We would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrozenMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#25 of 110 in Zermatt
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#50 of 110 in Zermatt
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Simi Zermatt
Hotel Simi Zermatt
#64 of 110 in Zermatt
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
#86 of 110 in Zermatt
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pollux
Hotel Pollux
#53 of 110 in Zermatt
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Derby

Property: Hotel Restaurant Derby
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 22, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing