We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Steak” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Derby
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Steak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Steak was good and I opted for the peppercorn sauce.

Go for the Italian wine over the Swiss. The waiters don't tend to smile but the food makes up for it.

Family had lasagne and pasta which they enjoyed.

I almost left my bag behind, too relaxed :)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Photografter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    45
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
38
37
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a great stay at Derby in January. Went with my in-law family (total of 5). My wife and I stayed in a double room in the main hotel and my brother-in-law and in-laws stayed in the apartment across the street. Both rooms were great. Both rooms were fairly big and the pull-out couch that served as a bed in the apartment was comfortable. Good beds, quiet rooms. No reason to complain. We checked in early and the apartment was available so were allowed in there. We went skiing on our last day and they held on to our luggage until we came back. We didn't have rooms available but gave us a place to change. Breakfast was OK. The hot stuff wasn't really hot but they did make eggs for you on the spot which was nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masahiro Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

When you arrive somewhere new it's refreshing to easily find your hotel and be welcomed by the staff - exactly our experience at Hotel Derby. The hotel is just a few short minutes from the train station, on the main road in the center of town, which is nice at night when it's cold and you are hungry! In the morning, you can take the bus to the lifts or walk - we walked and it was only 10 minutes to the further and less to the closer, seeing both lifts during our stay. The hotel had a ski room with a drying rack for shoes, and allowed us to keep our luggage there for the day we checked out while we hit the slopes one last time. The rooms were European average - you know, the small shower stalls with the two twin beds pushed together to form a decent sized bed, but it was clean and it was quiet. The woman at the front desk was absolutely lovely, providing us with restaurant recommendations, helping us make last minute reservations, and always ensuring our stay was going well. She was available for anything we needed and an absolute gem. The morning breakfast was convenient and had a variety of options - scrambled eggs, sliced meats and cheeses, muesli, cereal, croissants, and included cappuccinos, coffee, juice, or tea.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec_lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
begusarai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Perfect view from the balcony. The services are normal. Location of the hotel is too good....2 mins Walking from the railway station. Restaurant is very good and provides good food. Services in restaurant in good. Overall an awsome experience :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shas7288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel Derby provides services which are fully in line with the price for your stay. The central location of the hotel is convenient, however if you want to have full silence during the night, find a location a little away from the main street (Bahnhofstrasse); you might get surprised by an orchestra walking the street during the night (at least we got surprised). The rooms were rather big and clean. Althought the smell in the hotel was the greasy smell of fried food, the overall verdict for this hotel is indeed average. I can recommend the stay, but would look at alternatives next time.

Room Tip: Possibly a room without a main street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLOTUAB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hotel Derby is very quaint, clean, comfortable and accommodating. Their staff goes out of their way to make sure your needs are met. Not only do you get top rate service, but you feel like family.
The restaurants food is excellent. The presentations are works of culinary art. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is also just a very quick jaunt from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Very relaxing apartment centrally located One bedroom suite. It was large, clean and the beds comfortable compared to other hotels we visited. Breakfast was part of the package and it was a great selection of food. When you factor how expensive food is in Switzerland this knocked $60 off the bill. The only negative is that the Wi-Fi was spotty and we got disconnected most of the time. However we were on vacation so perhaps it was meant to be. I would stay hear again

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
#84 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sarazena
Hotel Sarazena
#79 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simi Zermatt
Hotel Simi Zermatt
#64 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Derby

Property: Hotel Restaurant Derby
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 22, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing