We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we stayed in”
Review of Hotel Alpenrose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alpenrose
Ranked #6 of 32 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stunning views of the Matterhorn from our balcony. Recently renovated, spacious, comfortable after an arduous hike; ideally located near the cable car and start and finish of many of the better walks; hearty food in a very welcoming environment. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: As for a room with a balcony facing the matterhorn - we had room 1. Breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jas079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

This place is more suited to die-hard skiers. There is nightlife in Zermatt, but it's about ten minutes walk down an icy road to the nearest bar.

Room Tip: Book the Matterhorn View rooms - worth the extra for balcony facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lholm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel Alpen-Rose, chosen for its unrestricted view of the Matterhorn at the quieter end of Zermatt. It is situated next to the picturesque rushing river Vispa, and five minutes walk to the Matterhorn cable-car station. The hotel was very clean and well-managed.

Our room was excellent with stylish furnishings and plenty of space. The modern bathroom was larger than usual. The balcony with its small table and 2 chairs were much used bu us to admire the view. The manager kindly lent us a kettle with some coffee and tea so we could make our own cuppa. We loved watching the Matterhorn from our room in the changing light from sun-rise to sunset.

The breakfasts were very good, with the usual buffet and hard-boiled eggs. The charming rustic restaurant was open all day, and provided good meals, including Swiss meals such as rosti and fondues. In the afternoons, their “warme kuchen” or warm cakes with fruit on the top were absolutely delicious. The terrace outside the restaurant was a pleasant spot to sip your drinks while basking in the sun and admiring the view. The skiers returning from their trips provided a bit of entertainment with their robotic walks due to their hard ski-boots.

This hotel has its own electric vehicle for transport to the station for a small charge. We would love to return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: When booking a room at the hotel, let them know which train you'll be arriving on and ask if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

On a stroll through Zermatt in 2008, we spotted the Alpenrose Hotel and decided we must stay there on our next visit. We did this in August, 2009 and it was wonderful. Our balcony had a full view of the Matterhorn and the weather was very kind! The family run hotel is a 10 minute walk from the station ( an electric buggy service can be arranged when you have luggage) and it was very quiet around the hotel at night. We received a warm welcome at Reception. Our visit was all we hoped for.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby_of_Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Miss_Calu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle G, Inhaber at Hotel Alpenrose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank jgimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle G, Inhaber at Hotel Alpenrose, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle G, Inhaber at Hotel Alpenrose, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.1 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 111 in Zermatt
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Petit CHARME-INN
Le Petit CHARME-INN
#43 of 111 in Zermatt
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adonis
Hotel Adonis
#69 of 111 in Zermatt
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Welschen
Hotel Welschen
#1 of 32 in Zermatt
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenrose

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 79, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Price Range: £143 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenrose 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Alpenrose, the 3-star-hotel in ideal position between the cable cars station to the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise (2-minute walk) and the Church square (5-minute walk). All rooms are newly refurbished in bright wood and all offer en suite facilities and balconies. Enjoy the best view from our superior twin rooms facing the Matterhorn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Alpenrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing