We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay I had in Zermatt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dufour Alpin Zermatt
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The location is perfect: Most rooms face the Matterhorn (when the sun shines, watch the changing view early in the morning). Dufour is clean and comfy, not fancy and impersonal like many of the huge wellness hotels (with infrastructures that in Zermatt I would never want to use). Breakfast at Dufour is very good. Definitely to be recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the Matterhorn. But I'd make sure to get one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

Staff were very pleasant and helpful with our requests for information. Internet was slow, but that could be a blessing if you were looking to get away. Hotel taxi pick up from station needs to be organised in advance. Breakfast was basic but food standard was excellent. No restaurant on site, however there are any number of eateries nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaFi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

A new hotel, located on the right side of the river, where it's less turbulent. We had a corner room, facing the Matterhorn. The room was quiet, spacy, very clean, and had an almost junior suite character. The breakfast is very good, and we were personally welcomed by the owner. Perhaps this positive report is a bit influenced by the perfect weather conditions which we could enjoy. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miehinkisaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Zermatt does not allow vehicle travel so it is only accessible by train. I found this to be welcoming. The hotel staff picked us up at the train station using the hotel's small transport vehicle (Much like an enclosed golf cart). After reaching the hotel we were able to see the town just by walking. This was one of the best places we stayed on our two week tour of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland. We only stayed two days here, but wish we would have stayed longer. We will make reservations at this hotel next time we go to Zermatt. The staff was friendly and the breakfast provided was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quintin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank mhg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chantou18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GottlobStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#19 of 111 in Zermatt
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Capricorn
Hotel Capricorn
#38 of 111 in Zermatt
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#35 of 111 in Zermatt
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#46 of 111 in Zermatt
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Hotel Beau-Rivage
#76 of 111 in Zermatt
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dufour Alpin Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dufour Alpin Zermatt

Address: Riedstrasse 35, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: £122 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dufour Alpin Zermatt 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dufour, a typical Valais hotel with its own unmistakable character. Privately run hotel with friendly family atmosphere and a warm welcome. The hotel stands out for its sunny, quiet and yet central location. Chill out in our lovely garden with sunbathing area. Relax in the wellness centre and large pool at the ****Parkhotel Beau-Site. (Free admission for Dufour guests). The hotel has 15 comfortable standard double rooms furnished in chalet style, including 3 large guestrooms for up to 4 people. All rooms come with bath or shower, WC, hairdryer, cable TV with info channel and radio programmes, self-dial telephone and minibar. Most rooms have balconies and views of the Matterhorn. Our varied breakfast buffet will set you up for an exciting day in Zermatt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dufour Alpin Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing