We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
560
27
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
560
27
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast is served apple tv larger suite living room perfect bar full kitchen mountain bikes memory foam well equipped gym daily breakfast small kitchenette stunning hotel amazing spa stainless steel hotel bar rooms are beautiful hotel service
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We have been enamored by the Firefly ever since our first visit a few years ago. We've had some-off season stays, and it has always been extremely pleasant and "novel" due to the fun and cool furnishings the owners have selected. The materials used to decorate the hotel are beautiful and fit in so well with the surrounding mountains; granite floors, venetian stuccoed walls everywhere done by someone who really knows the technique. The hotel's decor and spirit is animated by fire, earth, water and air; interesting themes. The spa area is delightful with the stainless steel pool, turkish bath, aroma bath, sauna and ice bar.

I recently organized a surprise birthday party and Katerina could not have been more helpful and delightful in helping in so many ways, from ordering and receiving supplies, to allowing me to decorate with candles and personalized pictures for the event, to arranging for a very special fondue appetizer for our guests, and arranging glass and tableware for the event, and ensuring that the fireplace was lit upon their arrival.

If you want to hold a party in a special venue, Zermatt will surely delight your guests, and the Firefly was a fun place for all. They also provided a discount for guests included in our group.

The breakfast is delicious and if you don't feel like going out for dinner, there are fully serviced kitchens in even the smaller suites that will allow you to make something hot to eat.

The suites are beautifully appointed with swiss-mountain objects and photographs all of which has a very modern and "cool" feel to it.

Nice products, robes, slippers and the use of a Firefly backpack for your sportive outings. The hotel is very close to the Kleine Matterhorn lift station.

I cannot recommend the Firefly highly enough. The only issue is that all of this quality does have its price; dear but worth the expense.

Room Tip: There are only a few suites with Matterhorn views; suite 51 Terra is one of them. It's a luxurious 3 bedroom 3 bathroom suite.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanieag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is a very nice modern hotel in a great location and well catered for families with extras for the kids including playstations and a great bar and spa downstairs for the parents. The staff we very helpful and the rooms are amazingly decorated. Our only dislike was that the fire alarm malfunctioned at 1am one night while we were there and the staff did not inform us as to the situation until I got up and went downstairs to find out what was happening. Also, although we stayed in many nice 4 or 5 star hotels throughout our European trip the hotel Firefly was also the most expensive but several hundred dollars per night, but thats probaly just the norm for Zermatt.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bentleysinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

It was my first time in Zermatt, and feel lucky to have stayed at Firefly for this unforgetable stay. We where met by friendly staff. Beautiful, clean hotel interior and glamorous SPA. Will definetely recommend this family owned hotel with it´s warm and cozy atmospfere to family and friends. If you get the chance to go, you won´t be disapointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noraaa_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We just stayed at the hotel Firefly for 3 nights and can only recommend it wholeheartedly (even though it will make finding a room for next year even more difficult...). The location is spot-on, close to the center and to the Furi-lift, the hotel is family owned and run and after a couple of days you feel like staying at an old friend's place, the staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful and try to accomodate you in every way. The rooms are great, modern, good beds, lots of space, nice kitchen, great showers, big windows... Breakfast is served in the room which is nice when you ski and was great. Didn't have time to use them but fitness/ swimming pool looked great. There is also a very hip bar where a lot of people gather in the evenings which I liked a lot (note our stay was during new years eve).

The only small negative I can think of is that our suite was on a low floor and from the master bedroom people walking on the road could see in your room (I would suggest putting a tainted glass on the lower part of the window to fix this)

Can't wait to be back next year

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas_from_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We have stayed three times at this fabulously hip boutique hotel in Zermatt and each time we are amazed by how comfortable, modern, elegant and friendly the hotel is.
It is a family owned hotel and that shows in their serious attention to details and customer service. The hotel is more than comfortable with their location, wonderful gym, glamourous pool/spa and an in-room breakfast that blows any Four Season's brunch away. We are always sad to leave the hotel and we always look forward to our return. It's the highlight of our summer travels. We took two friends with us this year and they do were blown away by the hotel. It's just really easy, laid back, but hip and cool. It's elegant and modern but warm and inviting. A great balance of the things you want when you're not at home. Definitely would suggest anyone traveling to Zermatt to stay here. Thank you Firefly for always giving us such memorable times!

Room Tip: If you're trying to save on dinners, shop for some groceries at the local COOP and prepare yourself a meal in your room's kitchen!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarthaD179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews