We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Firefly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Firefly
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

hotel located close to the main street to the gondola, that means 5 min. on foot.

build in 2009 everything is brand new, and very stylish. Owners very friendly, and vine cellar full of italian vine.

spacious ski room and dryer boots, available for guest.

spa area with steam bathroom, sauna and swimming pool very stylish, with chromo therapy.

what more can I say.
hotel staff, top, room top, location superb.

suitable for family too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Davide
Thank you so much for the positive feedback you gave us.
We are glad to hear that you had a great time in Hotel Firefly.
It's nice to hear that you like the style of the hotel and all the things we offer for our guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards
Family Kalbermatter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    22
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
124
137
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great hotel, great service, great staff, has all the necessary amenities. Down to earth atmosphere; fun bar; next to bar is a room with pool table, pinball game & foozball table & sitting area. Hip scene some nights at bar. great boot/ski room. very cool pool, gym and spa also great. Room service food is delicious. well located on way to the ski lifts & funicular. Staff is always willing to help with lift tickets, restaurant reservation, salon services & transportation to & from train station, or anywhere. If you have any questions before your trip, just email them and they answer all your questions. It's a fairly new hotel, and were concerned about that. We have done a lot of traveling and stayed at fine hotels so we have a good point of comparison. But they know what they're doing. For a ski vacation, this place was ideal - we would return.

Room Tip: the room above the bar can be loud until 1:30 am, however, it's also great to pop down the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear guests
Thank you very much for the time taken to write such a nice review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you very much for your loyalty.
We are very much looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Best wishes,
your family Kalbermatter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Hotel is very good located close to skilift.
Wonderful rooms, wonderful view, very kind and helpful staff.
Very good sauna and swimming pool.
Perfect bar with unic atmoosphere
We stayed there for one wekk in March 2013 with family. We had big room with Matterhorn view.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Elena

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing something positive for us.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the atmosphere and the style of the hotel.
Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Best regards
Family Kalbermatter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Hip and stylish atmosphere, cozy rooms and amazing spa to relax after a long day of skiing. Spa has free trail mix and water, citrus scented steam rooms and a tidy, warm sauna. Staff bends over backwards to help. We had to move our trip dates three times due to work and staff was kind enough to rebook our dinner rsvps each time (for each of the 9 restaurants). If you are looking for a chic, stylish hotel that still has the cozy feel of a B&B, this is the place! This is not a budget option but best money we've spent in a long time!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lidy1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear guests

Thank you very much for the nice feedback you gave us.
We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay in our hotel. It was our pleasure to make your stay relaxing and memorable.
We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Your family Kalbermatter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed recently for a short ski break (3 days). Superb small hotel in 300 m to lifts and 5-7 minutes to the very center by foot.
The place has a unique atmosphere of being at home. All you needs are met and even over exceeded!
The rooms have kitchen area which is so great - you have everything you might need from a cup of coffee to cooking a proper dinner. The room design is so warm and natural, I really loved it.
Pool and SPA area are great too, as well as a well-equipped gym. All dinner recommendations were perfect!
Special thanks to all staff!!! You made this stay memorable. Would love to come back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakulyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked our recommendations for dinner.
We would love to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best wishes,

your family Kalbermatter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a short break in the summer, when the hotel is less busy than in the winter. And prices are cheaper in the summer than the ski season!

Everything is spotlessly clean, staff are friendly and helpful.

It is great to have a small kitchen area in your suite, and a fridge. Hotel staff even lent us a kettle when we asked, so we could make tea. It's great to have breakfast in your room, and there was a great choice and selection - which you make the night before. We felt really at home there. It's nice to have a balcony and we had views of the mountain as well.

The bar downstairs is the epitome of cool and a relaxed place to hang out for a few drinks. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but staff give good advice on where to go.

The spa was great as well. Fortunately, for us, no one else was ever in there when we went in - so it was an entirely private area and this made it even more relaxing. We went there every evening at around 7pm. I'm not sure we would have spent as much time in there if other people had been around. The swimming pool was a bit cold for us - it was more of a cold plunge pool! It was too cold to do much swimming in - and we were there in the summer. (Hotel Firefly, please make the temperature of the pool a bit warmer!).

Do not attempt to walk there from the station if you have luggage, as it is a bit of a trek if you're carrying stuff. We got an (electric) taxi from the station.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have nice views of the mountains, so check this when you book if it's important to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letmetakeyoudown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear guest

Thank you so much for the great review.
We are happy to hear that you had a great stay. Your kind and warm feedback shows us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay and we would like to apologize that the pool was too cold.
We hope to welcome you soon again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Family Kalbermatter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have enjoyed my stay 24 hours. There is a nice breakfast served in the room. The staff is very charming and helpful. The rooms are big and the wellness area absolutely great and most importantly not loud after a day of skiing. I will certainly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firefly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firefly

Property: Hotel Firefly
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Firefly 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Firefly**** is the first address in Zermatt for demanding travellers who expect luxury and lifestyle on the highest level. And as well a sign for the fact that tourism and environmental protection are not contrasts. It connects luxury, lifestyle and environmental consciousness under the same roof. With that, the Firefly sets forwad-looking impulses for a lasting tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Firefly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing