We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful hotel I visited”
Review of Hotel Firefly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Firefly
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful hotel I visited”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I went there for a long weekend because they have special offers in autumn (couldn't afford it in high season) and this hotel is just amazing. They have 4 types of rooms with different styles (earth, water, fire, wind) and serve the breakfast directly in your living room. I am from Switzerland and wanted to show Zermatt to my girlfriend so I took this offer and was really impressed about this place. It doesn't have the reputation of the Cervo or the Vernissage hotel (which I've tried too 2-3 years ago and wasn't as good). I am often disappointed about the quality of service we offer in Switzerland compared to what we charge for it but there it was really worth and an experience I won't regret. I would love to go back there and give a try to the 3 other rooms types and ideally in Winter but anyway for me this is now the reference of Swiss hotels...

The first day we arrive ( a wednesday) only 2 rooms were booked in the full hotel so we had the spa and pool for ourselves, that was pure luxury... On next day another rooms was booked and then slightly more busy on the weekend but visiting it on low-mid season had other advantages than the price...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchneckCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear guests
Thank you so much for the time you tooked to write such a nice feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are really glad to hear that you spent a lovely time here in our hotel Firefly.
It is our pleasure to make your stay as perfect as we can and we are happy to read that you could feel this.
We are looking forward to welcome you once again in our hotel.
Best regards
Family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    23
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
126
137
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We have been here for the annual Zermatt Groove Event and stayed in one of the suites. Friendly staff, relaxing Spa area, very nice bar and lounge für aprés ski hours and pre-dinner drinks and of course breakfast in the room... Stay there!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank me m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear guests
Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the time here at the Firefly during the "Zermatt Groove".
It would be our pleasure to welcome you once again.
Best regards
Family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A great experience! Rooms are amazing, really big and clean. The staff of the hotel is really nice and helpfull. Gym, pool and spa are well organized and perfect to enjoy some relaxing time. The gondola to got up to Matterhorne is just 3/5 mins walking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Enrica
Thank you very much for your positive feedback an the time you spent do write this.
We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and that you have been happy with our staff.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you to another time again.
Best regards
Family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel is staffed with friendly responsive people. The location is terrific and the rooms are even better. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast that was delivered to our room each morning and we took in the views of the Matterhorn as we recovered form our hikes. A lovely spot in a fabulous village.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms will be lovely. We hesitated to indulge ourselves with a room with a view but decid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Kathleen
Thank you so much for your feedback and the time you tooked for it.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in the Hotel Firefly.
It is our pleasure to make your stay as comfortable as we can.
Best regards
Family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We loved this hotel. We've been in almost a different place every day on a whirlwind trip and this hotel was so welcoming, so relaxing and everyone was so capable and efficient but warm and friendly, it immediately relaxed us. We are definitely going back. Everything worked brilliantly. Bravo.

Room Tip: The rooms are themed and are very well appointed. I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear guests
Thank you very much for your great feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here in Firefly. It is always our pleasure to make your stay as relaxing as it is possible. All our guests should feel like at home!
We are looking forward to welcome you once again in our hotel.
All the best!
Family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here in October, the shoulder season, and got a fabulous deal. Great price for a very large suite. We loved the place and would rate it a five if the internet had worked better. Alas, we are tied to technology for work, etc. and were a bit frustrated by the intermittent internet. Other than the internet, the place was a dream and the staff were very accommodating.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Earth room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Manager at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Valerie

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for letting us know about the internet, we will fix this problem and we really hope to welcome you soon again in our Hotel.

Best wishes
Family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Firefly for a week in September 2013. Basically, it's as brilliant as the other reviews say it is.

Because we were there very late in the summer season (a number of the larger hotels had already shut), the hotel appeared to be quite quiet. But as it's only got 15 rooms/suites, I can imagine that it's quite tricky for the place to feel busy. Everything is beautifully presented and maintained. Our suite was spacious and comfortable (although I did find the memory-foam mattress took a little getting used to). The pool/spa area was a high point and it was brilliant to be able to cool down in there every evening after a day of hiking (see the attached photo). The bar is also a very pleasant place to sit and enjoy a drink in the evening (also see the attached photos). The staff were brilliant. Friendly, helpful and efficient without exception.

There are two things to bear in mind though. For most people, me included, they will be complete non-issues, but I think they're worth mentioning. First, most of the rooms don't have Matterhorn views. If you're on your first and only trip to Zermatt, that might be something to consider (this was my sixth visit and I plan on going again soon so, as I said, a complete non-issue for me). Second, breakfast is only served in your room. You fill in a form in the evening saying what you want and when you want it and drop it off at reception before you turn in. So if you're the sort that likes to graze at the breakfast buffet, this might not be the place for you. Breakfast was still really nice though, with everything available that you'd expect to find in a good buffet. I'm not sure if it's planned, but they always seemed to bring way more bread than we could possibly hope to eat for breakfast, so I used some of it to make sandwiches for my lunch (in the small kitchen that was in our room).

Anyway, a big thank you to the staff for making our stay brilliant (and for picking us up from the station when we arrived and taking us back there at the end). I would not hesitate to stay with you all again in your wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly59CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Manager at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your very positive and kind review of our staff and property.
It’s so nice to hear how you enjoyed our facility and especially the service provided by our staff.
For us and our staff it is always a pleasure to make your stay as comfortable as we can.

We hope to welcome you soon again and thank you again for your great feedback and the great pictures.

Best wishes
Your family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firefly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firefly

Property: Hotel Firefly
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Firefly 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Firefly**** is the first address in Zermatt for demanding travellers who expect luxury and lifestyle on the highest level. And as well a sign for the fact that tourism and environmental protection are not contrasts. It connects luxury, lifestyle and environmental consciousness under the same roof. With that, the Firefly sets forwad-looking impulses for a lasting tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Firefly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing