We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury that makes you feel completely at home”
Review of Hotel Firefly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Firefly
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Luxury that makes you feel completely at home”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Firefly is a truly incredible hotel....the suites are impeccably decorated in a mix of traditional and contemporary with furniture from local designers. We were warmly welcomed by staff and upgraded to a larger suite with a huge living area and balcony. All the little comforts have been thought over...coffee machine, great tea (although I couldn't find a kettle so used a saucepan in the otherwise well equipped kitchenette). The choice for breakfast was very good and served in the suite. If you're looking for a very hearty breakfast to set you up for a days skiing, don't be afraid to order plenty. I loved the fact that there was a backpack in the room that could be borrowed during the stay....very useful for a days skiing when you've only come with your wheels suitcase. The pool and spa were wonderful with sauna and 2 steam rooms.
The bar is fun and relaxed with plenty of games if you don't want to stay in your room...I didn't think it was necessary to charge us 10francs to use the billiard table though..this seemed a bit petty when everything else was so welcoming.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough...it's perfectly placed for town and the bottom of the ski lifts..I just wished we could have stayed longer than the 2 nights we did.

Room Tip: Any...they all look amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flowersui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Firefly.
We hope that we can have you next time longer than two days.

Best wishes

Family Kalbermatter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    23
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
129
137
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Didn't stay at this boutique hotel, but several times J and I visited their Bar 55. Fantastic! Three adjoining rooms, super furniture, a games room with lovely chess/draughts set, pinball machine (not working at the time we were there), football game and pool table - all very high quality stuff. Excellent wines and beers too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DudleyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for you feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed several nights at our bar and hope that we can welcome you once in our Hotel.

Best wishes

Family Kalbermatter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A year after our first stay we returned to Zermatt for the PDG race, there were no 2nd thoughts to where to stay. Once again the perfect mixture of recreation, wellness and comfort within a modern and traditional ambiance.

We arrived with a warm and friendly welcome from the Family Kalbermatter. It did not take long before we were invited for a drink at their very popular hotel bar, Bar 55.

We had a different apartment to our first stay, but yet again perfection. The apartment is a blueprint of how I would love my own living room to look like, inspiring.

The luxury is perfectly underpinned with comfort, always present yet never to much. Our shower/bathtub was so nicely done and inviting that I wasn't sure if I want to leave the apartment at all. However the day can be spent at the hotel swimming pool, sauna, fitness room or better yet within the most breathtaking mountains of the Swiss Alps, which can be seen from each and every apartment.

A shame we did not have time, since we did the race, to make a fire at the outstanding fireplace. Something I will come back for with a cigar and glass of wine from your perfect selection!

Thank you once again for this outstanding experience!

Adrian

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apassow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Adrian,

It was nice to have you guys here and hear about your breathtaking experiences. We hope you welcome you again next year und to hear more about your stories.

Good Luck

Family Kalbermatter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our band Sparrohs stayed for 3 days and 2 nights at the Firefly hotel and we can say it ROCKED! The service was wonderful...everyone was easygoing and always there to assist with any need. The rooms were a new style of great, cozy, and classy. We had our in room fire place burning away and the breakfast was served right in the room in the morning. The wellness and SPA was just perfect and probably my favourite that I've experienced so far. The cozy little bar was quite a nice spot in the evening and it had a very "good choice" of live music! It was the perfect spot to begin a wonderful day in Zermatt ready for adventure under the Matterhorn and to come back to at night for a very relaxing rest. Thank you Firefly team...you did it! Brian

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianDPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Brian,

It was a pleasure to have you guys here. We really enjoyed the good music and hope to welcome you again soon.

You guys ROCK.

Best wishes,

Family Kalbermatter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

One of the best boutique hotels in the world. Great food, great rooms and excellent staff. Hope to come back to this hotel next year for more skiing and fun. Great location and the best drinks. Hope to see firefly again soon and hope to visit Zermatt Unplugged again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank askilholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Askil,

Thank you very much for your good feedback. It was really fun to have you guys here.
Hope to see you again next year.

Best wishes

Family Kalbermatter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

First trip to Zermatt...wow. Firefly is just about perfect. Great rooms (apple TV even) with hardwood floors, full kitchens, location a short walk down the road from Matterhorn lift. Service was above and beyond - concierge, host, trouble-shooter, train ticket buyer all in one. Romantic spa, felt like we were in our own world. Cozy bar. And the absolute best - your custom breakfast order is delivered to your room every morning. Definitely going to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirk b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Kirk
Thank you so much for taking the time!
It is always nice to read that you had a fabulous time here in Zermatt. We are glad that we and our staff can be part of it.
We really hope that we can make another unforgettable holiday for you at Firefly.
Best wishes, family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We went to the hotel already for the second time and do not regret it - it is the best apartment hotel in town. Going there with a family is the perfect way to stay in Zermatt - the hotel provides nice baby beds and even Stokke high chairs were set up for our little ones. The rooms are very cozy and we really like the tempur mattresses! Staff is very friendly and attentive and reads every wish from ones lips.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank btandwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear guests
Thank you so much for writing a feedback for us.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your second time here in our hotel.
Of course we and our staff make everything to make you feel like home and to make your stay comfortable. Also for the smallest once :-).
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Regards, family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firefly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firefly

Property: Hotel Firefly
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Firefly 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Firefly**** is the first address in Zermatt for demanding travellers who expect luxury and lifestyle on the highest level. And as well a sign for the fact that tourism and environmental protection are not contrasts. It connects luxury, lifestyle and environmental consciousness under the same roof. With that, the Firefly sets forwad-looking impulses for a lasting tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Firefly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing