We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with great staff”
Review of Hotel Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with great staff”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Wonderful views of the Matterhorn fro room 304. This hotel is modern, comfortable and very clean...a true gem. Easy access to the train station and town centre. Small hills so not difficult. Breakfast great with plenty of variety and the best scrambled egg I have had for ages! The staff are very pleasant and helpful. We will definitely be back and would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.
Free WiFi available but only in the lounge area

Room Tip: Well worth booking a delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    59
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
184
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was a nice, clean hotel. The rooms aren't the most spacious (common with most hotels in this area), but are nicely decorated and contain all the required amenities for an enjoyable stay. The beds and linen were good and comfortable. The desk staff were nice, courteous, and helpful (and spoke good english). The breakfast layout was nice as well, including scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, a variety of cheeses, fresh bread and rolls, cold cuts, cereals, and juice. They have an expresso machine capable of making various warm drinks, but there was no decaf available. The breakfast is the reason why I gave the hotel 4 stars instead of 5. We stayed there 2 nights, and on the second morning we went down at 9:15am (breakfast goes to 10:30am). There were already a couple of breakfast items that had already run out (fresh bread and scrambled eggs being the 2 that I was looking for) that were not replenished. I came back down at 10am thinking it was just a matter of time before they were refilled, only to find the cutting board had been cleaned off instead. Quite disappointing given the other qualities of the hotel. I would still recommend this hotel, but I would not leave breakfast until anytime after 9am based on my previous experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I spent a week here in early September. We didn't find the walk from the station too difficult (7 or 8 minutes?) though I suppose if we had been lugging enormous suitcases a taxi would have been better. We were very pleased with our 'superior room' on the 3rd floor. We had a clear view of the Matterhorn from our balcony; we loved the generous, wall-mounted TV with lots of channels including Eurosport; ditto the room safe and the ample storage space. We would ideally have liked a bath rather than a shower, but this is mainland Europe, and the shower was an excellent one.
Breakfast was fine - the usual range of cereals and, inevitably, ham and cheese, plus yoghurts, fresh fruit and wonderful 'brotchen'. It even included both boiled and scrambled egg. All self-service, including the tea/coffee, but that's OK.
As others have pointed out, no free wifi in the rooms, only in the bar area on the ground floor. It's a minor inconvenience, and gave me an excuse to nip downstairs for a beer on the pretence of going to check my email.
The staff are an absolute delight - friendly, charming and helpful. They arranged for a (free) taxi back to the station when we left, and had been happy to store our cases for us when we checked out earlier in the day.
One final plus point. The Phoenix is just round the corner from the excellent Wallischerstube restaurant - which also does some great (very substantial) takeaways to eat in your room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanz1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in a deluxe double. The bay window view of the Matterhorn was incredible, the walk from the train station was quite easy, and the staff were extremely gracious. The entire hotel was very new, very clean, and very modern, but not in any way that clashed with the more traditional vibe of Zermatt generally. If I had to come up with a complaint it would be that breakfast offerings were a little sparse, but that seemed to be a trend on this trip.

Room Tip: I don't see how you can beat a deluxe double - request one with a bay window view of the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank throw_stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I had the superior room which was beautiful and had an awesome view. It was easy to find and not to far from the train station. Breakfast had a good selection. I picked this hotel because of past reviews. We were not disappointed. Staff was nice and accommodating .
Only minor negative is that wifi is only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: If you like to stand in the shower, ask for a room with a stand up shower, otherwise you will sit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pagfmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It's not easy finding a reasonably priced (by Zermatt standards!) hotel in Zermatt. But the Phoenix offered that and we enjoyed our stay there. It was fresh and clean with comfortable rooms, beds and good sized bathrooms (we had 3 rooms booked for our family and all of them were consistently well presented and all had balconies). The staff at reception were very friendly and gave a personal warm welcome. The hotel offers free wifi in the lobby / lounge area. We enjoyed the breakfast in the bright breakfast room which had a selection of breads, cereals, cheeses, hams and eggs. It is about a 10 minute walk to the town centre and train station.

Room Tip: higher floors have better Matterhorn views as the surrounding houses do partially obstruct those on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greattravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong West, null, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel during my honeymoon trip.
Our room has a balcony facing Matterhorn which was a fantastic view.
Having a beer with some books while enjoying the scenary of Matterhorn was really an unique experience for me.
The hotel staff, Jessica, has a super caring attitude toward the guests and this really left us an unforgettable wonderful memory.
The hotel has a quiet environment as it is away from the downtown, which is wonderful for us.
There is also a restaurant nearby called Walliserstube Zermatt which serves very delicious food.
A hotel truely worth its value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Resort Hotel Alex
Resort Hotel Alex
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix

Property: Hotel Phoenix
Address: Untere Wiestistrasse 11, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phoenix 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing