We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Value”
Review of Hotel Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Hotel, Great Value”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay. Very helpful staff, great room, incredible views, good breakfast. Compared to prices of other hotels in Zermatt, it seems like a no-brainer to stay here. Very convenient (walkable in ski boots) to Sunnegga and Gornergrat.

Room Tip: The X04 rooms are the southwest corner rooms, which have large windows surrounding a circular sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    62
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
61
194
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Zermatt is absolutely beautiful. Like being inside a snow globe. The hotel phoenix made it all the more pleasurable. Spotlessly clean rooms, friendly staff, fresh wholesome breakfast, even giving me a card and chocolates for my birthday.. Easy access to the centre of the village. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawnbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great Service, Awesome Breakfast and great rooms. This is one of the best hotels I have been in in my life. Great Place and great services, couldn't be better! If you are coming from the river (includes train station) in the middle of the town take the trail up through a very small meadow like area. If you are coming from closer to the Matterhorn take the streets.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

If you want a special place to stay in Zermatt that is stylish, has great staff and is immaculately clean then look no further. We stayed for 5 nights in the run up to Christmas with 4 teenagers and we were all blown away by this particular gem of a hotel. We stayed in room 404 which has the most amazing huge bay window looking out at the majestic Matterhorn.

The gym compares with any commercial gym and Josef's addition of the heavy barbells in the free weights section was inspired.

Josef, Daniela and their team have a great approach to service and make you feel truly welcome. Without a doubt the best hotel in Zermatt and we have stayed in several.

Room Tip: Room 404 for parents will not disappoint in any way! All rooms are lovely but those with a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AForryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendive
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Seeing the Matterhorn in person was in my bucket list and this was the place to do just that. The girl running the desk at the hotel was the sweetest person. She gave us a free upgrade to a room on the top floor that overlooked the valley with a postcard view of the Matterhorn. Our room was whisper clean, as was the whole place. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. I hope to stay at this place again someday. It might be the best lodging experiences I've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spent 3 nights in Room 404 which was on the third floor and a bay window room. Had 2 days of beautiful (lucky!) views of the magic mountain and one cloudy day where we hung around the unassuming town of Zermatt. Like others, was expecting the worst in terms of a skiing town in an expensive country, but Zermatt was surprisingly relaxed and in fact had more reasonably priced places to eat than Swiss cities.

Special thanks to the very lovely staff who made every effort with us and with whom we had some good chats. The bar and fireplace downstairs is v nice with good wines by the glass, and a cosy place to check your internet and say hello to other guests.

Definitely get a corner room if possible - it's not much more than the other rooms and from what we could see, much more comfortable. The hotel is very new and felt luxurious. A great trip!

Room Tip: Corner rooms with bay windows - definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tattooboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel Phoenix is perfect size; large enough for full service, yet small enough for personal attention. Breakfast buffet had good selection. Easy walks to Gornergrat Bahn station, the Sunnegga-Rothorn station, and the COOP (supermarket). Hotel Phoenix is a few blocks from Bahnofstrasse (the main car-less street); Bahnofstrasse is often jammed with people. The tourist office (across from the train station) has great area maps, especially useful "Adventure in the Mountains." We did a lot of hiking in the mountains; multiday cable car pass was well worth the price.

Room Tip: Highly recommend room #505; fine view of Matterhorn; very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDHall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#11 of 110 in Zermatt
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.6 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix

Property: Hotel Phoenix
Address: Untere Wiestistrasse 11, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phoenix 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing