We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic visit to the Hotel Phoenix”
Review of Hotel Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #23 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Loved this hotel again this year! Great location, quiet and off beaten path but still just moment from the heart of everything. Rooms are clean and very comfortable, the breakfasts are great, fitness center is pristine and well-equipped. Josef and his team are extremely helpful and very accommodating. The view from Room 204 cannot be beat from anywhere!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luciegirl_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelphoenix, Inhaber at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for your visit and review. We are very happy, especially for your returning. It gives us a very positive feedback and makes the atmosphere in the house very warm. Thank you. We hope to see you soon. Best wishes. Josef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

I can't big up this hotel enough. I've stayed in rooms at every level in the last few years & they are always immaculately clean & great to chill in after a hard day on the slopes. The staff are friendly, professional but still relaxed enough to make you feel really at home & comfortable. In the evening, it's always lovely to take a drink by the fire in the bar. I feel that breakfast could be a little bit more impressive - but it works. If (by any chance) the weather is not good on the mountain but you still need a workout...there's a great gym downstairs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvercl0ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This was our first stay in Zermatt and we did quite a lot of research before choosing our accommodation. Hotel Phoenix was definitely the best option for us. It is an amazing cosy hotel, with nice and spotlessly clean rooms. I would highly recommend one of the three semicircular rooms with bay windows. Rooms 304 and 404 are with the best Matterhorn view. The hotel is just a few minutes walk to both the Sunnega Express and the city downtown. The owners of the hotel were very firendly and complied with all our requirements when arranging the booking. Hotel Phoneix offers also a Ski special, which includes 4/7 nights stay with breakfast and 3/6 days international ski passes for two persons, which was a great value for money. Overall we had a great stay there and will definitely opt for the same hotel in case we go back to Zermatt.

Room Tip: Semicircular rooms with bay windows. N304 & N404.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stiliyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel from January 21-26, 2014 for a ski holiday. The hotel is very modern: great ski room with boot warmer, large rooms, amazing gym, fast internet and a great breakfast buffet included. The hotel was also generous in paying for our transportation to and from the train station.

Although I give this hotel 5 star, if I could suggest one improvement, it would be the beds, which are too small and not up to par with the Simmons Beautyrest beds used in many North American Hotels. In any case, I've come to expect such beds when travelling in Europe. I believe that this would be a worthwhile and low cost improvement for the hotel.

I look forward to returning back to this hotel next winter and couldn't imagine a better experience for Zermatt.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melech99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had never been to Zermatt and had to rely on Internet to book our hotel for the Christmas holidays. it could not have been better. The location was superb for hiking, skiing, shopping and eating. Our room was one of the superior rooms with a wonderful view of the Matterhorn, the village and the young, eager sledders climbing up the hill beneath our beautiful windows. Our room was spacious with an entry area, had a modern bathroom with lots of closet space and a large sitting area. Moreover the breakfast was excellent and the lower level also provided a well- equipped work out room. Additionally, a ski storage was provided at the entrance so there was no lugging of ski eqipment to your room. There was also a reception area and a well-stocked bar as part of the hotel lobby.

Importantly, the Inn Keeper was available to help make dining reservations and answer questions about the area. He even left boxes of candy for ech guest from a famous Zermatt chocolatier for Christmas Eve. We are from the United States and were extremely pleased with the hospitality.

Room Tip: Defintely choose a superior or deluxe room. They are a good value witrh amazing windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjvmontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel/B&B was really cozy and had everything we needed and more for a ski trip in Zermatt. We were a couple in our early 20's and thought it was perfect for our type of a trip. We could easily walk everywhere (to the bars and restaurants), you can walk to the furnicular to get up the hill (<5mins) and they have an awesome ski room with boot dryers to keep your equipment. Theres a good breakfast included, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They also have a really good beer behind the bar on the main floor. Internet via ethernet in the rooms or wifi on the first floor. Really comfy bed. Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay. Very helpful staff, great room, incredible views, good breakfast. Compared to prices of other hotels in Zermatt, it seems like a no-brainer to stay here. Very convenient (walkable in ski boots) to Sunnegga and Gornergrat.

Room Tip: The X04 rooms are the southwest corner rooms, which have large windows surrounding a circular sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#11 of 111 in Zermatt
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#67 of 111 in Zermatt
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix

Address: Untere Wiestistrasse 11, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: £131 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phoenix 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing