We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Modern Marvel”
Review of Hotel Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Modern Marvel”
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed at the newly built Hotel Phoenix for a week, and were thoroughly impressed. Jessica and Simone on the desk could not have been more helpful. Our room, with its wood/stone decor, was spotless, modern yet cosy. Thick walls and comfy beds made for amazing nights of sleep. Our balcony had a view of the Matterhorn, which was pretty magical. In all, we had a wonderful stay and would definitely return. Zermatt is not cheap, and the Phoenix must be one of the best value options in a pricey town.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BushResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    59
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
184
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York / Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Just returned from a ski trip to Zermatt. The Hotel Phoenix is less than a year old. Everything is spotless. The staff is very friendly, about a 5-10 minute walk to the main streets of Zermatt. When we arrived at the train station the hotel shuttle was being used, so the front desk told us to call a certain taxi (which arrived in 2 minutes and the hotel covered the fare.) SO YES, they do provide service to/from train station upon arrival/departure whether it is there own shuttle, or a taxi. Anyway, we were happy as soon as we pulled up to the front door. Sleek, modern Swiss design. Everything was perfect. Lots of hotels in Zermatt are old, worn and frumpy, they need to be modernized. The rate at Hotel Phoenix were great for VERY costly Zermatt! The rooms had free internet and the lobby bar had free WiFi. The bathroom had heated radiant floors which were wonderful. Wonderful beds and duvets. The breakfast was delicious, Euro-style and had a nice variety of foods. Eggs, cereals, meats, cheeses, pastries, juices, waters, coffee, tea, espresso, cappucino and hot chocolate . We would definately stay at Hotel Phoenix again and can't recommend it more! Only reason I didn't give it a highest rating is because it's not a 5 star ultra luxury hotel. But it is luxurious enough and gorgeous, nevertheless!!

Also, the little 'Matterhorn Sports Shop' just down the street also rents out SKI CLOTHING. We didn't have to pack big bulky ski clothes. They and another place rent clothes, but Matterhorn Sport was less expensive though. Have a great time!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticino
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Totaly new and modern. I really like this hotel! excellent breakfast, nice staff, great roomsm, nice athmosphere. i will from now on spend my zermatt vacation there! cool.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticinotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We skiied Zermatt this January with some friends. Although Hotel Phoenix is rated 3 stars, under the US rating system it would be 5 stars. The European rating system looks at available amenities. Phoenix does not have a pool or a restaurant, so only gets 3 stars. But wow, what a hotel! It is brand new, opened July 2009. Super modern decor, combining wood, stone and lots of glass. We stayed in Room 505 which had a beautiful view of the Matterhorn and of the village. The room was large with a large bathroom. Service at Phoenix would make the Four Seasons staff flush with shame. They are hospitable and friendly to the point of ridiculous. The owner, Joseph, went to the train station several times, of his own accord, to pick up our luggage. The girls at the front desk run circles around you, making sure you are happy and have everything you need. The breakfast was the highlight. Fresh breads, yogurts, espresso, eggs, etc. Cannot say enough good things about Phoenix. And the location for skiing is very convenient, just a couple minutes walk to Sunnega.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Resort Hotel Alex
Resort Hotel Alex
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix

Property: Hotel Phoenix
Address: Untere Wiestistrasse 11, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phoenix 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing