We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Zermatt, but small and dated rooms”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #10 of 32 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Zürich
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location in Zermatt, but small and dated rooms”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is all about location, centrally on Bahnhofstrasse in Zermatt. Our tiny room barely fitted a decent double bed but was adequate for one night. It was clean, but the hotel has probably not seen any serious renovation since the early 80s. The price is high at over 200 CHF per night for a double with breakfast, even for Switzerland - but that is Zermatt in winter.

Room Tip: Some rooms have Matterhorn view, then again go out and take a closer look from any nice viewpoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    43
    29
    6
    9
See reviews for
13
42
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Conifer
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

OMG - Zermatt, what a great town!!!! We arrived via. the train, walked up the main drag to this adorable little restaurant and hotel. Up the stairs we went, only to find a cute little room tucked up into the rafters. Great bed, it was awesome as our window opened to the town square, so we could hear all the fun. The room was great, the restaurant was great. Come on down and have a great time in Zermatt!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed late december and found the hotel to be very tired. (needing investment) The facilities were very basic (tiny portable balanced dangerously on the wardrobe) and we had bare wire on the 80's hairdryer. The room was very small even thoiugh we had paid for a standard and not the basic room which is advertised as smaller. We really needed a choreographer to help us both move around the double room with en suite. We worked out a pattern of simultaneous chair moving that helped us navigate the tiny space that the bed had not taken up. The room was noisy until 3am form the bar opposite and the balcony was shared with people smoking on it until the early hours - even though it was a wooden construction hotel. There is no instructions for breakfast. We only found out that you could order eggs when an american asked for some. This was all acceptable until checking out in the morning when the lady taking our money had absolutely no dialogue with us. She never asked how our stay was and processed the 250 swiss Francs for the night(mare) and then handed us a receipt and abruptly said bye. We did feel cheated as there was no interaction at all. Stay at your peril. We were limited in our choice as there was no other hotels available for our date. Zermatt however is beautiful. The first syllable in the hotel name should act as a caution.

Room Tip: Higher floors but no lift. Double edged sword.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zermatt hotels

Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We booked a last minute mountain biking trip to Zermatt when we got snowed out in Livigno.
We didn't tell them we had bikes, they don't have a bike room but they immediately made arrangements with the Shoe/ski store next door to store our bikes!

The rooms were spacious with big windows to open for fresh air and light.

we were on the 4th floor which was harder to get to as our days of riding increased, but it has a HUGE awesome bathtub.

It was very quiet except for on Friday night when we could hear the bass of some nearby club.

The Continental breakfasts were great.

I did find the church bells annoying after awhile but I don't think you can escape them in Zermatt.

Room Tip: Room 15 has an awesome tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Hotel is conveniently located on Bahnhofstrasse, Zermatt's high street, midway between the train and lift stations. It would take you about 5-7 mins walk to reach the hotel. As the road from the station goes straight ahead but it is bit hard to find the hotel on the right. Just as the road bends right, suddenly you would find a big sign confirming the hotel existence. We found it hard to find the main door of the hotel and on enquiry we found that there are narrow steps going up by the side of the chalet which leads to a restaurant which acts as the hotel reception too. Climbing the steep stairs to reach the reception when we were dead tired, put us off totally. The room given to us was on the fourth floor and it was impossible for us to drag our heavy luggage through the narrow steps, so we had no other option than to ask for a change of floors. Finally the room given to us on the 2nd floor turned out to be so small that we could hardly move within the room. Surprisingly, the breakfast was quite good but that reason alone is not a motivating factor to re-visit again. The charges per day when compared with the facilities offered, were totally unjustified. Overall, our experience was too bad and would never recommend anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anindo_Aditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I booked this hotel through the Swiss Tourism website. We were headed to Zermatt not to ski but to see the Matterhorn and to go up the gondola ride to see it.

We stayed only 1 night at the Helvetia. It is centrally located in the heart of Zermatt very close to the train station which everything is as it is a ski resort town. When we arrived it was after 3:00pm and the hotel operator was already gone but left us a key and a note on the door telling us which room was ours. We climb the stairs as there is no elevator. We met and helped a Japanese tourist on the train and turned out he was our neighbour in the same hotel.

The room was small but very clean. Very Swiss like and we enjoyed it. Our room faced the street so it really was kind of noisy at night till about 3:00am. So bring a pair of earplugs. When other reviewers mention earplugs, take notice. The bed was quite comfortable and the bathroom was adequate for us though kind of small.

The next morning, we were allowed to store our bags as we were going up to the Matterhorn. Breakfast was small and simple. We again did not see the hotel operator, since it was the Easter Weekend, he was spending it with this family and letting the waitress deal with the guest. Which was quite fine.

Zermatt is very expensive, but the Matterhorn was very much worth seeing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FtMacTompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Hotel Helvetia is the best choice. It has a great location on the mainstreet near to everything - main railway station, Gornergrat station, restaurants, bus station to the lifts, Matterhorn museum, church square ...

It is a simple hotel with basic, small rooms, but clean and functioning. Sound insolation between rooms was poor (take some ear plugs woth you!). Breakfast was good, staff very friendly. The ski-deposit room is ...well... very small and clumsy so some people leave their skis outside the ski-deposit room (due to high-profile Zermatt visitors there is little chance to be stealed...) .

The hotel has no elevator. We had a room on the 3rd floor, so after skiing we had some more exercise, which was fully remunerated with a great Matterhorn view without any extra charges for it! Other hotels will charge extra for Matterhorn view!

Room Tip: Room no. 7 has great Matterhorn view
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_girl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Petit CHARME-INN
Le Petit CHARME-INN
#38 of 111 in Zermatt
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#26 of 111 in Zermatt
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#35 of 111 in Zermatt
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenblick
Alpenblick
#63 of 111 in Zermatt
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 72, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Helvetia 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 2 stars hotel is located in the heart of Zermatt. We have lovely small and clean rooms with a bathroom and TV in each. The Restaurant Helvetia is well know in whole Zermatt for it's exellent Swiss kitchen. Now we also serve Thai food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing