We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #20 of 32 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

If you're looking for a perfect location in the very center of Zermatt, for a 'reasonable' price, look no further than Hotel Helvetia (and by reasonable I mean less than 400CHF per night). The hotel is situated on the main street in the city, and is right in the middle of the bar/restaurant scene of Zermatt, which is very convenient. That being said, the street noise from the bars carries up to your room so if you have issues sleeping you may need to choose another hotel off of the main street. The bars stayed open very late, and there are always clusters of people outside smoking/laughing/chatting. For us, the street noise wasn't an issue.

Our room was the tiniest room I have ever stayed in....ever; it was even smaller than the room on our last cruise ship. The bathroom was naturally very small since the room was tiny, but even worse it was very dated. A part of the shower perpetually fell off each time I would shower. The water temperature in the shower was also tricky; it would take a very long time for the water to heat up, and by the time it did it was so scalding hot that you couldn't stand under it. The scalding hot water would not cool off no matter how far you turned the nozzle to the 'cold' side. I finally decided to reach my hand out of the shower to turn on the cold water in the sink to try to balance out the temperature (which did finally work so I could rinse off). For the prices you pay in Zermatt, this situation should NEVER happen!

Another issue was the electricity; the power just shut off one morning in our room. I sent my Husband down to reception to inquire about this, and it turns out the fuse to our room had blown. The lady who helped him was very nice, but didn't seem to know how to solve the problem. My Husband ended up changing the fuse himself vice waiting hours for a handy man to arrive.

Aside from the negative aspects above, the hotel staff was very friendly, the breakfast spread was delicious with a good variety, and the hotel was clean. The bed was also very cozy and comfortable. My only suggestion to the owner would be to invest some money in room upgrades. I know he/she cannot make the rooms larger, however, the hotel would be much nicer without the 1970's era wood panel walls, very old bathrooms that are falling apart, and newer more modern furniture.

All in all, I would not stay here again but if you're in Zermatt for a short weekend, the room is bearable given the price. I think one would go crazy spending a 2 week holiday in such a room, but when compared to the astronomical prices of surrounding hotels in Zermatt you make make do.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesslecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear all

We offer two star double rooms budget, standard and superior. Our budget rooms are very small and have old bath rooms. I think these rooms are ok for a short stay in Zermatt for people just need a bed, shower and toilet in the room and a rich breakfast. For all other guests I recommend our Standard or Superior rooms.

Hope to hardly welcome you soon in Zermatt!
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    39
    29
    6
    10
See reviews for
12
38
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, West Midlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Being aware of supply and demand in the ski season we knew that finding a value for money hotel in Zermatt was going to be a challenge. The purpose of staying there was to catch the Glacier Express. Location is excellent in the main street and not far from station, contrary to other reviews we had a side room on 3rd floor so no noise issues. Although we appreciate the style of the hotel the room was small, the bathroom was very small and in need of some TLC especially the shower cubicle. Our floor (3rd) the landing was also used as the hotel laundry and so immediately exiting our room we were faced with mobile screens hiding the laundry. Breakfast was minimal but suffcient as we only stayed one night. Staff were pleasant but we still didn't feel that the price was fair despite the time of year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chessykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

This hotel is located in the center of Zermott in the middle of all the shopping and nightlife. We stayed in the family room so it was very spacious. It had a bedroom, a large living room with an L-shaped couch and a bed and a nice kitchen. Breakfast is included but it is really nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCMDRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed two nights on a guided hiking trip so I can't speak to value. The location is excellent - close to the train station and downtown. Dinner and breakfast were included in our plan and both were good. The staff were kind and helpful. The rooms are quite small and very dated. Our room faced the street - on the positive side we had a balcony to enjoy, on the negative the street noise carried on very late and challenged getting a good night sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
317 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Located on the main street just a few minutes from the train station. Room had balcony which was nice to sit outside in the evening. Breakfast included and was repetitive but nice- fruit, yogurt, rolls, cheese, meat, and cereal. Room so tiny there was nowhere to move once you brought the luggage in. Bathroom also tiny. No lift. Nice bakery located right downstairs- we purchased sandwiches there for our hikes as well as dinner a time or two because the food is very expensive in Zermatt. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TakeMeAway44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Accessed via a narrow steep staircase above the restaurant, the small rooms are good for short stays but lack of space would be an issue for longer. We had a room at the back which was quiet. Breakfast was good.

Bathroom configuration was good for acrobats but of the rest of us.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdunchob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.1 mi away
Le Petit CHARME-INN
Le Petit CHARME-INN
#37 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#26 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#35 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 72, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Helvetia 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 2 stars hotel is located in the heart of Zermatt. We have lovely small and clean rooms with a bathroom and TV in each. The Restaurant Helvetia is well know in whole Zermatt for it's exellent Swiss kitchen. Now we also serve Thai food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing