We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at the center!”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #63 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The room was excellent, with small living room and spacious shower. Breakfast was excellent. Part of the staff speaks Italian and Portuguese. This is when I learned that over ~3 thousand Portuguese people live in town. The filet flambé served in the hotel was definitely great, prepared in front of you. Really a must. The manager of the hotel was really attentive and on the way out he offered the electric car from the hotel to take us to the Bahnhof. It couldn't be perfect. For those doing a roundtrip in Switzerland here are some tips: for seeing Matterhorn, take always the option of Gornergrat. The Matterhorn Glaciar Paradise, well. It was ok. Between the too, think of Gornergrat. On your way to Bern or Lucern, take the Dampfschiff tour to cross Interlaken by boat. You can dispatch your luggage to the Bahnhof of destination to keep hands-free for 22 Francs. It is worth to pay the service.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank SandroBernardes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here for one night with husband. It happened to be Christmas Eve. We came to Zermatt to see the Matterhorn and to begin the Glacier Express on Christmas Day. We chose Hotel Excelsior because it offered the best price, was available, and was close to the train station.

Total for one night was $259.78 USD or 225 CHF. This includes breakfast and a pick up/drop off at the train station.

When we arrived at the Zermatt train station, we first picked up our Glacier Express tickets, then called the hotel from a complimentary phone in the train station, and asked for a pick up. The driver promptly came in the electric cart, which was a heavy duty golf cart. The seats were covered in a white fur thats been around.

The hotel was just a few minutes away. The hotel upgraded us from a regular room to a room with a view of the Matterhorn. This was a nice bonus, but unforunately, due to a winter storm that had moved in, we weren't able to see the Matterhorn at all. There was a balcony outside of our room, and that would have been nice for the warmer months.

Across from the hotel is a fancy restaurant called Le Mazot. We had dinner at the Brown Cow Pub, and came to Le Mazot for dessert. We sat at the bar on the right, and had it to ourselves. The apple tart was delicious, and took 20 minutes to make, so we knew it would be piping hot. We also had a grapfruit sorbet with champagne, and that was lovely. It was served in a martini glass, and topped with a mint leaf, a vertical dried caramel design, and a vanilla pirouette.

Breakfast was in the basement, and the staff were kind. There was an assortment of fruit (like cut up kiwi), breads, deli meats, cheeses, etc.

One annoying bit was the hotel receptionist who kept encouraging us to eat in the hotel restaurant, whose menu looked uninspiring and over priced. I had asked her for restaurant recommendations, and she offered none except the hotel restaurant. Also, the power had gone out briefly twice the night before, due to the winter storm. As a result, on Christmas morning, they couldn't print out our hotel bill- the receptionist was forced to handwrite our bill.

Still, it was a solid stay before our trip on the Glacier Express. If only the clouds had parted and we could have seen the Matterhorn!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is clearly only rated so low due to a small amount of reviews. We stayed in zermatt for one night before boarding the glacier express, but we wish we could have stayed longer! Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a balcony room with a view at no extra charge. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had a spectacular view of the Matterhorn (minus a crane parked unfortunately in the way) and we were able to walk everywhere, including the train station (although they offered a free electric car service). For our first hotel-breakfast in Switzerland, we were impressed-a very nice variety. The service at the quaint little bar was nice too! VERY reasonably priced!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ploog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A nice way to spend your days while skiing in Zermatt. This is a nice, clean family owned hotel, Swiss way with all you need for a perfect skiing, other than a spa. Comfortable beds, excessive breakfast and a dinner you will remember. Service without remarks. I have spent several skiing holidays with my family here since 1985. This February I visited the place again and they still keep it going right. All the best!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel is a quaint alpine place. The rooms are neat and modern. All rooms have free wi-fi , a definite plus. If you can afford it , take a deluxe room which faces the matterhorn. The view in the morning is awesome. The staff is very friendly . When you reach the station call the hotel and they will come and pick you up.

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank umanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Excelsior was the most comfortable of our 3 hotels on our trip! We had a suite, and the bathroom was very large and nice. The bed was very comfortable, and warm.
Breakfast was AWESOME. Make time for breakfast.

Pretty close to the main street, but a little of a walk. Great view from the room, right on the river.

You need to arrive before midnight, because they close the lobby.

Note to Americans: Bring a wash rag! they don't have those in Europe!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lauren374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Over the last 18 years, we have stayed at the Excelsior Hotel 9 times. We think this is the best value for money Hotel in Zermatt. The views of the Matterhorn from our rooms have always been excellent. You could not ask for better Hosts, or food. The rooms are clean, fresh, airy and well maintained. We usually stay at the Hotel, when the Folklore Parade in on in August. This goes past the Hotel. The Hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the station, and even less to the main street, with all the shops. We are looking forward to 2011, when for a change, we hope to be in the village in October.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rondacoaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Simi Zermatt
Hotel Simi Zermatt
#60 of 110 in Zermatt
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambiance
Hotel Ambiance
#56 of 110 in Zermatt
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#81 of 110 in Zermatt
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alfa
Hotel Alfa
#83 of 110 in Zermatt
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Derby
Hotel Restaurant Derby
#90 of 110 in Zermatt
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Hofmattstrasse 38 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: £156 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive and feel just like at home The Excelsior is a small family owned hotel with a large number of regular guests. Lovingly renovated hotel, which is quietly located in the center. The bus stop for all the lifts is in front of the hotel. The sunny rooms situated on the south side offer a fantastic view of the old part of the village and of the famous Matterhorn. All rooms are equipped with bathtub or shower/WC, hair-dryer, towel heater, telephone and mini bar. Much charm and joy of life meets you in our Ex-Bar and on the Pergola (sun terrace). Excellent meals can be taken in the à la carte Restaurant La Ferme. Internet-corner and free of charge wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing