We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect ski holiday”
The living area provides a sense of space, light and closeness to nature.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living area provides a sense of space, light and closeness to nature.
French windows 6 metres high leading to a large terrace, with white electric exterior curtains. Living area with suspended and illuminated table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The living area provides a sense of space, light and closeness to nature.
French windows 6 metres high leading to a large terrace, with white electric exterior curtains.
Living area with suspended and illuminated table
The most spectacular property in Zermatt, if not the Alps. A huge 300m2 Manhattan style loft.
Baby grand Steinway piano
Masterbedroom
Living area with bar
Two double en-suite bedrooms overlooking the main loft area
Jack-in-the-box armchairs and a signature Heinz Julen chandelier
Both levels of the Loft are served by a private lift (elevator)
Jacuzzi and a second sitting area
Dining area
The sought-after furniture in the Loft is designed by Heinz Julen
The Loft was selected by the London Times as one of the 20 coolest chalets in the Alps.
Our concierge team will ensure that you get the most out of your holiday.
Heinz Julen Loft and Penthouse in the same building together host 14 guests.
Private chef on request
Housekeeping service on request
Catering available
Catering available
Catering available
The Living area provides a sense of space, light and closeness to nature
Heinz Julen Loft and Penthouse in the same building together host 14 guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Zermatt, Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
joloju201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect ski holiday”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The Heinz Julen Loft provided us the perfect stay in Zermatt! The view upon entering the chalet for the first time is breathtaking, and throughout the stay it never ceases to amaze, providing a beautiful scenery of the mountains during the day and the city lights down below at night. One of the greatest aspects of it is that the chalet is very spacious and yet cozy, with many areas to spend time with family. Access to the ski lifts is very easy, the center of the city is extremely close by, but the chalet is still in a quiet and peaceful location. Chef Max and Maria were amazing hosts, extremely helpful and discrete. The dining experience was amazing each and every night, with a variety of high quality dishes accommodated to our tastes and similar to what would be served at a top restaurant. Overall, I highly recommend it for anyone wishing to have an unforgettable experience in the mountains.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2018
Dear Joao and family,

Thank you very much for your review and visit in the HJ Loft in Zermatt. It was a pleasure having you as ou guests in our chalet, we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to welcome you back in Zermatt in the future.

With best wishes,
Nikos, Resort Manager, The Mountain Exposure Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent chalet”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We were a group of six adults (four skiiers, two non-skillers), staying in this chalet for a week.

We all had an excellent week in what is a very spacious and luxurious chalet. Theo, the chef, was top notch - and Radmilla, our chalet host ensured we were completely looked after at all times.

Despite being large and having a contemporary design, the chalet is still extremely cosy.

Excellent location.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
Hi Andrew, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Zermatt. Theo and Ramilla are delighted at your comments. We thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. With best wishes, Kayleigh and all the team at Mountain Exposure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jack06
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Stunning pet friendly loft, with gorgeous views of Zermatt”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We recently spent 7 nights in the Heinz Julen Loft.

The loft is a fabulous space for 6 people - I can understand the original owner having many fabulous parties here, as the space is perfect for entertaining! From the lit dining room table, the piano and the lovely glass wood fire. The loft is designed to really maximise the stunning views of the village.

It is a little quirky (e.g. there is a spa bath right next to the kitchen/casual dining/tv area) - but we liked the quirkiness!

Also as others have mentioned there is no ski room/depot but, you would not be catching the lift (the service lift of the Omnia Hotel), and then walking the short (but steep) path to the loft with ski gear. Our ski gear was left in the village at a ski shop each night, so no real issue for us.

We self catered and found the kitchen to be very well stocked in terms of kitchen accessories/tableware. The fridge was also stocked on our arrival with some basics (milk, cheese, cold meat, orange juice etc).

Another lovely touch was the chocolate and champagne as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Thank you!

A special mention to Nadine from Mountain Exposure (our Resort Assistant). She was extremely helpful. Advising us on ski conditions, restaurant bookings and even searching all the supermarkets for maraschino cherries for our whisky sours! Nothing was too much trouble for Nadine. Thanks again Nadine!

As mentioned you catch a lift/elevator from the village to the Omia Hotel and it is just a few minutes walk to the Loft. The entrance to the lift is right next to 1818 Restaurant (so very central). You can also walk up from the village if you prefer.

The loft is also pet friendly, so we were able to take our two small dogs.

I would stay again and highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing loft in an amazing village”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Incredible place to stay and enjoy Zermatt. Very unique space that is excellent for entertaining. Mountain exposure does a fantastic job with everything from start to finish.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildathea...
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“cavernous chalet representing great value for money given its size”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

At a time when most ski chalets seem to focus on cramming the maximum number of people into the smallest amount of space, the Heinz Julen loft probably represents the most spacious 6 person ski chalet in the Alps and for its size and comfort level, the most reasonably priced. On our second ski trip here, we remain convinced that, despite its quirks, the loft represents an incredibly good deal. Heinz Julen did not design the chalet for skiing however, it was his own party place, and this is very evident in the design - everything is focussed around the cavernous living area with its huge glass windows overlooking the whole of the town. The dining table - which can be hoisted up to the ceiling - seats about 20 people - the loft sleeps just 6! As previous posters have mentioned, the bathrooms, in particular, are very small. For skiers there is no boot room and no real place to dry wet gear - not that you'd be trying to come back to the chalet with your ski gear up the steep slope. Mountain Exposure have a good deal with the ski hire shop next to the lift station however, and you can leave your skis there, so this is not a problem. The design is not for everyone - its very much industrial and minimalist - Heinz has designed the interiors of many other hotels in Zermatt, where he has adopted a more cosy look while keeping his signature themes.
Not recommended for small children - mezzanine level only has wire lines as a barrier! Bedrooms only separated from living area by glass windows - little noise or privacy protection.The addition of a washing machine for guests use this year is very welcome - a drier would be even better!
All in a spectacular, centrally located, vast chalet with amazing views that represents great value for money given its size. Some quirks, but the benefits win hands down.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, view
Liked least: Bathroom, furnishings
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asics21
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What else could you wish for in Zermatt”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in the Heinz Julen accommodation to enjoy the last days of a warm summer in the wonderful city of Zermatt. Kindly being picked up by taxi as organized by Mountain Exposure, it was a short walk to the lift, which is shared with a number of other inhabitants of the higher-up apartments in Zermatt. A code to the lift is provided, and do not lose it, otherwise it is a rather long and steep walk up. Once out of the lift, it is just five minutes walk to the funky designed building, which has a great view over the valley (not the Matterhorn unfortunately). The accommodation is very well equipped with everything you need. The beds are very comfortable, the design makes you smile and there is plenty of space. The only downside is that is can be noisy. But then, after a day outside, you are so tired that you fall asleep right away. Affordable priced for summer and a good starting point for all the hiking/biking activities around. Nice views of all the paragliders during the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: The noise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bartlettn...
New York City, New York
1 review
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Mountain Exposure run by Donald was our first experience in Zermatt. Everything was taken care of through Mountain Exposure, from pick-up to guides, lunch reservations, and everything in between. Donald has been in Zermatt for a while now and therefore is able to guide you from lunch reservations to impressive guides who will take you off piste to amazing parts of the mountain that we simply could not get to our have the experience to guide us through while making it where we needed to be for lunch. Truly an impressive operation and made our entire trip delightful!

Thanks Again,

Chris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2015
Dear Chris
Thank you for your kind feedback. Reviews such as yours are vital for companies such as ours to continue to flourish. We appreciate you taking the time to write this and hope to welcome you back for another Mountain Exposure holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing