We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Location, Worth Spending a Night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Special Location, Worth Spending a Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having seen pictures of the 3100 Kulmhotel for years, when it finally came time for a trip to Zermatt, a stay there was practically a requirement. Up at 3100 meters, you can feel the altitude, but I didn't find it overwhelming except when digesting dinner. If you have the chance, do look at the forward weather report before booking. I had a reasonably unobstructed view, which was spectacular. The rooms are plenty large with good bathrooms. The heater/dryer rack included was a plus.

Internet service was quite good, but I wish they had added streaming ability. Nights are quiet, and not being able to catch an NBA playoff game via Slingbox was too bad. But that's a minor complaint. The reason for staying up there is have the peace of being there.

The restaurant was pretty good, with a solid salad bar, two options for the entree, and a delicious dessert. The staff was pleasant, and it probably didn't hurt that the waitress had eyes more beautiful than the mountain itself.

The room was equipped with a small water heater. Bringing some tea was a good idea as it helped stave off any altitude effects. The small shops downstairs were pretty good (but close promptly at 5 to allow the workers to get the last trains down). Found some items there not seen down in Zermatt.

Price was reasonable for a hotel of this calibre set so far up a mountain.

Room Tip: Worth getting a room on the front side with a Matterhorn view. If you wake up on a clear morning, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    62
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
57
153
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed i night here and enjoy the famous and spectacular view ! The room is clean and warm!
If you want to have the best view, you have to live here!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 小艾愛
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

There's one reason you go to 3100 Gornergrat: the views. And they don't disappoint.

The hotel itself is nice, but a little on the basic side. We paid for the top tier "Junior Suite" and it was definitely the most simplistic $400/night room I've ever stayed in. That said, dinner and breakfast were included in the price and they were both outstanding.

The front desk service was fine, but certainly nothing extraordinary. Our server at the restaurant was excellent though.

I didn't realize how hard sleeping could be at that altitude. I'm 30 and it mildly bothered me, but it really bothered by 54-year-old mother (she had to take an extra blood pressure pill to lower her heart rate because of it).

That said, the views make up for any shortcomings. Watching the sun rise from our room was truly one of the most spectacular sights I've ever seen.

The thing that struck me the most about this hotel was how secluded it was from the rest of the world. Once the train stops running for the night, you are completely isolated on this mountain. That can definitely be a positive, but for me personally, it left me feeling a bit stir crazy. We had stayed in Zermatt the night before and enjoyed walking around the town. If I had to do the trip over again, I would have probably stayed the night again in Zermatt and just taken the train to Gornergrat for a day trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happycj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The location is just incredible. You wake up with the view on the highest mountains of Switzerland. Either Monte Rosa or Matterhorn view from your bed. Just this is already worth the stay. You are so remote, when all skiers and guest have left the Gornergrat you are just alone with the other guests. Cozy restaurant with decent food. Completely new and renovated rooms, with the name of the mountain you are facing with lots of detailed decoration inside. The staff is funny and very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, with big selection, fresh bread, eggs, cereals. Great cheese selection.

Really nothing. Only keep in mind: the location is remote. No way of getting any nightlife, since last train in winter departs at 7.30 pm. But this is exactly why you want to be up there in the mountains! Alone!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TitschMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The best thing you get staying here: the chance to be in nature with the matterhorn at your doorstep without so many people..... that is once the last train leaves you are only with the hotel guests. We stayed here 1 night, and enjoyed a great meal and breakfast with a view. While we did not hike up from Zermatt we took 2 decent day hikes from the hotel. You can easily find a 3 hour challenging hike where you encounter a ton of rocks, snow ,and marmotts. Some hints: get up early to take photos before the clouds come in (and people!), and take a photo of your door so you rememember your room name (ie room number). The service was really great - my brother and law was nursing an injury and asked for ice - which he got in a vaccuum sealed bag with a smile.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Service_Sommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
185 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Simply stunning, awesome location a true once in a life time experience. Rooms were clean and modern, food in the restaurant was excellent and service from reception to waiting staff was attentive and first class

The scenery is breathtaking, you have to see to believe

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Kulm Hotel Gornergrat is an experience not to be missed while visiting Switzerland. Just a 45 minute train ride from Zermatt - lies Gornergrat - like a cup surrounded by some of the highest peaks in Europe - it is a spectacular destination. Most visitors do Gornergrat as an excursion from Zermatt - but staying a night there is something special. Every single room has fantastic views of the mountains and the delicious sit down dinner is as romantic as things can be. If you enjoy a scenic calm and a different perspective to Switzerland - you must do this even if it means planning Zermatt around it

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Duforspitze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manavsingh444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
1.6 mi away
Riffelhaus 1853
Riffelhaus 1853
#60 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#17 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
3.0 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Matthiol
Hotel Matthiol
#43 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat

Property: 3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat
Address: Gornergrat 3100m, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — 3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel like a research station: The Kulmhotel Gornergrat is in the middle of a high mountain range. At 3,100 metres above sea level, life is different to life down in the valley. Outside you are surrounded by the four-thousanders. Inside, checking in is easy and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing