We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is the most amazing hotel I have ever stayed in. The level of service is beyond comprehension! The staff is wonderful. We were picked up from the train station in a horse and carriage! Can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seitz-1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafael_biner, Manager at Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and your compliments referring to your delightful experiences during your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof. You motivate my team and myself to continue our route of providing excellent service combined with faithful hospitality in an awsome setting.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in not too distant future.

Warm regards from sunny Zermatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    81
    18
    14
    7
See reviews for
127
175
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We celebrated my daughters wedding at this magical hotel!! Everything was perfection,the staff was amazing, the food was EXCELLENT!! The newly weds stayed at the hotel after the reception and they Loved their room!! Besides the hotel ,Zermatt is one of my favorite places on earth!! Great times shared with great friends and family!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafael_biner, Manager at Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Trip-Advisor Member, Thank you very much for your recent feedback. We are more than happy to learn, how impressed you have been by experiencing our services during your stay, In the meantime we have even performed our quality: All the rooms in the fourth floor have been refurbished last spring. Our Fine dining Prato Borni has its own kitchen and the restaurant has been perfectly refreshed. We would be most pleased to welcome you and your family again in the near future. We wish wish you a nice ongoing summer. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Faultless hotel in all the aspects.
Everything is perfect here. I was lucky to be staying in one of the newly refurbished suites that was superb. Not all the rooms are refurbished at the moment, but it seems like they are all going to be soon.
There are 2 restaurants, a bar and an indoor smoking lounge.
The hotel has a very nice pool area with outdoor jacuzzi, and an excellent sauna/steam area. Only let down is the gym that should be arranged, but that's not why you go to zermatt. And also the mixed changed rooms, i don't want to be taking my clothes off in front of strange men...really those are the only let downs, not major ones.
The most amazing thing here is service and the people who work here. They are all extremely polite, kind, eager to please and most of all they smile and make you smile. Nothing is too much for them and they will make anything you want happen.
I have stayed at many 5 stars and more hotels and until now this is the only place where i really felt at home and 1000% satisfied with everything.
I loved it so much i already booked my ski week there for 2015, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dflawless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafael_biner, Manager at Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member.
Thank you very much for your recent feedback. We appreciate your inputs. We are very happy to announce that during our closing time in April until the end of june 2014, we have renovated the rooms of the fourth floor. Also our fine Dining Prato Borni has been refurbished - by conserving the luxury and very impressing classic decor - a new kitchen has beeen added to the restaurant on the same floor. Our hotel has been awarded as number two of the most friendly Luxury Hotels in Switzerland.

We are very much motivated to continue our challenge. We wish you all the best and would be most pleased to welcome you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The level of service in this hotel is exceptional. From the front desk, to the wait staff in the dining areas, to the bell services staff... all were helpful without hesitation. The room was clean, functional, very attractive. Although my room was a bit on the small side, it had every amenity you might want. Being in the center of the city was very convenient with everything within walking distance. We were shuttled from the train station to the hotel by their horse drawn carriage which was an excellent way to travel down the narrow streets of town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafael_biner, Manager at Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member

We thank you very much for taking your time and to write about your positive experiences during your last stay at the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof. It is our goal to render a most valuable stay to our guests - and we can read in your comment that we have succeeded. Since your last stay we renovated the entire fourth floor. Furthermore we have refurbished our Fine Dining Prato Borni and have added a new kitchen on the same level. It is our aim to fulfil our guests requirements. We have just been awarded among the 100 friendliest hotels in Switzerland. And we are more than grateful that the jury ranked us on place two in the category luxury hotels.
We would be most delighted to welcome you again. We wish you a nice summer and hope to see you in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We visited the hotel on 20/03/14.

We were staying in another hotel in zermatt.I wanted somewhere special to celebrate my husbands birthday.I chose the zermatterhof on its reputation and 5 stars.
Although this doesn't always mean great service in all hotels of this standard
I walked into the hotel as a nonresident.
I was treated so well by the reception staff.
I explained I would like to organise a last minute/surprise party for my husbands Birthday.
I wanted champagne in the Star Bar,dinner in the Prato Borni Restaurant for 6 people and could they make a birthday cake?
No problem I was told even though I had given them 3hours notice!
When we arrived into the bar a table was reserved for our party.
The champagne was waiting and a selection of amazing canapés were also brought to us.
The pianist played Happy Birthday.
Dinner in the restaurant was amazing..
We had fabulous service wonderful wine and delicious food.
Of course a birthday cake and candles arrived!
I could have spent weeks organising the evening but the team at at the Hotel made it effortless.
It's amazing what can be achieved in a few hours.
We had a very memorable evening
A huge thank you to restaurant manager Stefan and his team.
Thanks must go to the proactive receptionist that I spoke to first for arranging everything.
I apologise for not remembering her name.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafael_biner, Manager at Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor-Member

Thank you for your positive feedback you have written on the occasion of your husband’s birthday that you celebrated at the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof and for the fact, that you have chosen our location among all hotels&restaurants in Zermatt. We are proud and thankful for this. It is our aim and daily challenge to organise events and fulfil our guests requirements in a professional way. Therefor we can offer fantastic settings in different locations as our Stars-Bar, the Rudenbar. Right now we have contributed with the re-opening of the refurbished Fine Dining Prato Borni a high level gourmet-restaurant for all who love to enjoy excellent cuisine and service in a distinguished atmosphere.

We would be most pleased to welcome you again in not too distant future. Have a nice time and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My parents and I stayed at the Zermatterhof for four nights and we had a fabulous time. The location is great - close to the station and in the centre of the resort. The staff are extremely attentive, friendly and a credit to the hotel. This factor alone would encourage me to return to the hotel as recently I have found that other five star hotels in Switzerland do not offer the same level of service where staff are concerned. The bar, restaurants and spa were all of the standard expected from a five star hotel. The only disappointing aspect was the lack of control in the pool area where small children were allowed to jump into the hot tub and generally spoil the enjoyment of other guests. Of course we understand that the children are the responsibility of the parents, and in the end we dealt with the matter directly, however it would have been helpful to have more input from the hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the refurbished rooms at the front of the hotel with a view of the matterho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanineBly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafael_biner, Manager at Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We thank you very much for taking your time writing about your experiences during your last stay at the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof.

Especially your positive feedback of the outstanding service attitude of the Zermatterhof staff encourages us to continue on this path. It is our goal to render a most valuable stay to our guests - and we can read in your comment that we have succeeded. We understand your disappointment when children were jumping into the pool despite the interdiction. We will ensure, that our existing rules will be communicated with better attention and enforced by our staff and manager on duty. Since your last stay we renovated the entire fourth floor. Furthermore we have refurbished our Fine Dining Prato Borni and have added a new kitchen on the same level. It is our aim to fulfil our guests’ requirements. We have just been awarded among the 100 friendliest hotels in Switzerland. And we are more than grateful that the jury ranked us on place two in the category luxury hotels.

We would be most delighted to welcome you again. We wish you a nice summer and hope to see you in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I recently returned from a fabulous stay at the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof. It is an amazing alpine property with several excellent restaurant choices, breakfast fit for a king (get the banana pancake and crepes!), impeccable service, and excellent spa facilities. I loved the central location. The staff were always friendly and more than willing to help and go out of their way for us. The service was attentive but not intrusive. I liked the fact that soft drinks and water were provided and the Virtuoso amenities really add a nice touch. My room with a view of the Matterhorn was one of my favorite things about waking up each morning. If you are looking for the perfect Zermatt experience, a stay at Zermatterhof will not disappoint and will exceed expectations. I will be back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you can get a room with a view of the Matterhorn, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Butler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafael_biner, Manager at Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor-Member

We thank you very much for taking your time and to write about your positive experiences during your last stay at the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof. It is our goal to render a most valuable stay to our guests - and we can read in your comment that we have succeeded. Since your last stay we renovated the entire fourth floor. Furthermore we have refurbished our Fine Dining Prato Borni and have added a new kitchen on the same level. It is our aim to fulfil our guests’ requirements. We have just been awarded among the 100 friendliest hotels in Switzerland. And we are more than grateful that the jury ranked us on place two in the category luxury hotels.

We would be most delighted to welcome you again. We wish you a nice summer and hope to see you in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#18 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zermatterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zermatterhof

Property: Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 55 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#15 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#17 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#41 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Zermatterhof 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof welcomes illustrious guests into its five-star surroundings in exactly the same way as it has done ever since 1879. Enjoying a central but peaceful location, this traditional luxury establishment offers classic elegance and all the comforts of modernity. The hotel has 77 individually furnished rooms and suites with magnificent views of the surrounding mountains, promising both peace and space in an exclusive setting. And for the ultimate in luxury, guests can avail themselves of the hotel's wellness zone, Vita borni. Here, you can experience an atmosphere of wellbeing with a spacious pool, saunascape, treatment rooms and a private spa for couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Zermatterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing