We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home - 2337m above sea level”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berggatst-Haus du Trift
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is one of the most terrific places I have ever been in the mountains. The views are fabulous, the hiking opportunities offer something for every level of mountain experience, the guesthouse itself is really more than a nice place to be. Hugo and his family / team make you really feel like home here. For a guesthouse in the remote areas of the mountains, the sleeping quality is really good (enough cover sheets and plaids), relatively spacious bedsizes, the food is really good, fresh and home made. Don't miss the apple pie.
After your hiking just sit outside on the terasse, relax and enjoy that you can watch the alpine ibex walking around the place.
The prices are moderate - remember, you are in Switzerland more than 2000m high, no streets are leading to this place.

Room Tip: If you prefer some privacy, I recommend the double rooms. But the shared rooms are very good, spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMS1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have been coming to Zermatt for many years and always look forward to our hike up to Trift to see Hugo and Fabienne. They run Hotel Trift and do an amazing job. Hugo is extremely knowledgeable in the local hikes, geography and history. We always learn something new every time we meet with him. Fabienne's home cooking is yummy and especially the apple pie!!!
The views from the tables outside the hotel are outstanding. Whether you are hiking up for the day or staying overnight, you will have lots of great memories from your visit to Trift. If you are lucky, Hugo will play his Swiss horn!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2TravelCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

after a few days in the mountains of Jungfrau, I decided to head down to Zermatt to the see the Matterhorn. I didn't want to stay in the town, as I heard that it is VERY touristy. Luckily I found the hotel du trift! I hopped off the train, stashed my backpack in a locker at the station, and grabbed a small day bag and headed up the trail. (tip: stop by the Visitor's Bureau just outside the train station to get a map, directions to the Trift, and use their fast, free, WiFi) Ask folks in town if you have trouble finding the trail. The hike is 2 hours and ~600m of elevation gain. I ran as much as I could and made it in 65 mins, but my pack was only a few pounds and I was really moving. About halfway you'll pass another guest house which also has great views. I got to the Trift (a little late for dinner!) but Jugar couldn't have been any nicer and got me seated right away. Dinner was delicious (soup, salad, spaghetti, vanilla pudding) and I also bought a beer and sweet homemade tea. (get the tea, it tastes great after that hike up!) A hot shower is a few extra Euro, but worth it in my opinion. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. I had to leave early the next morning to catch my train out of Zermatt and Jugar even got up early to fix me breakfast. The way down took my ~45 mins but again I was running. Met some nice folks staying there as well and overall LOVED my stay! Highly recommend staying here as opposed to downtown Zermatt. (You don't get views of the Matterhorn from the hotel, but there are other mountains which are also beautiful).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is a very well run mountain hut. The owner Hugo and his family make all guests feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are cosy and exactly what one would expect ie simple but comfortable. Fresh bedlinen can be hired and a hot shower is possible. The toilets are spotless and the food was excellent. The location is one of the few in the area where there are no other means of transport (no cable cars/mountain railways) so as evening falls, you really have a sense of the isolation of the mountains and of course there is an excellent opportunity to spot wildlife. The views of the surrounding mountains are stunning. Do not miss the opportunity to try the home made ice tea and the apple tart which is probably the best in the Zermatt area. Overall I rate this mountain hut very highly, and I have stayed in many over the years. This also proved a very good introduction to mountain huts for my kids who are now keen to do this again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This is a gem of a mountain hotel operated by a wonderful family, Hugo and Fabienne Biner and their children. Hugo was an incredibly knowledgeable and welcoming host who made sure my family got the most of our stay at his hotel. He gave us great suggestions for hikes, as well as giving us detailed weather forecasts and at one point encouraging us to wake our boys up quickly to take advantage of the best weather of the day (he was right!). The hotel is clean and the food good. Note that here (as in all mountain huts) you must pay with cash. Also, reservations are by phone only (the hosts speak excellent English). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Now, I should say that I did not actually stay here. However, I did stop here twice while I was walking up the Trift valley and had some of their excellent ice tea and a chat with the owners who were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.

The Trift hotel has a wonderful location alone in a beautiful Alpine mountain setting at the end of the Trift valley. The Trift valley is a wonderful walk up from Zermatt (which in itself is a wonderful town) and after the Trift hotel you can carry on to several other really good walks such as up to the Rothorn Hut or the Hohbalmen.

I got a really good impression of the Trift hotel and it is certainly popular.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KeenHiker97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Celta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
3.0 mi away
Riffelhaus 1853
Riffelhaus 1853
#56 of 111 in Zermatt
137 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 111 in Zermatt
504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Silvana Mountain Hotel
Silvana Mountain Hotel
#41 of 111 in Zermatt
171 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schwarzsee
1.6 mi away
Zermatt Youth Hostel
Zermatt Youth Hostel
#4 of 75 in Zermatt
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berggatst-Haus du Trift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berggatst-Haus du Trift

Address: Zermatt, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Zermatt
Price Range: £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing