We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good mountain restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffet Bar Sunnegga

Buffet Bar Sunnegga
Ranked #108 of 197 Restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: US$14 - US$40
Cuisines: Swiss, Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In the Buffet Bar Sunnegga - as those conversant with the Valais dialect will already have guessed - guests are spoilt with sunshine from morning until sunset. It's the perfect spot to enjoy local specialities and a glass of fine wine. Our large sun terrace also offers up impressive views of the Matterhorn. Thanks to the close proximity of the "Standseilbahn Sunnegga" station, the restaurant is also an ideal meeting point for non-skiers.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
819 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“A good mountain restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Sunnegga's restaurants are at the top of the underground railway in an area of challenging and not so challenging ski runs. There is a self service restaurant, which we used, or you can have waiter service.
We went on a miserable day and the large restaurant was a great relief. There was a glarge choice of mountain food (bratwurst, rosti, pasta) as well as good salads. The self service is large but the ambiance was good and staff were friendly

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMatterhorn_com, Guest Relations Manager at Buffet Bar Sunnegga, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positiv feedback. Buffet Bar Sunnegga is a good choice as well with sunny weather, as the setting it is spoiled by the sun.

Best regards,
Guest Relation Manager, MyMatterhorn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    32
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More like a US Ski Restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We'd been looking for a restaurant more similar to what you'd find on the slopes in the US - and this was it! I got a brat and fries, and my husband had a brat and this Swiss potato cake thing with onion gravy over it. We loved what we got! It was about 50CHF for the two meals and a bottled soda drink each. Note that they charge for the packets of ketchup even though there is no sign! They also had a salad bar and lots of different drinks (alcoholic and not).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tahitijess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMatterhorn_com, Guest Relations Manager at Buffet Bar Sunnegga, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear tahitijess,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to receive input how to improve the service and looking forward to welcome you again in Zermatt.

Best regards,
Guest Relation Manager, MyMatterhorn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“First espresso of the day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

After having beenspit out by the Sunegga underground, this is the first opportunity to start charging caffeine. A nice open space restaurant without real ambiance. Functional.

Helpful?
Thank Shogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food with great views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

The food here is good quality, from salads to pasta, soups and rosti. It is all very tasty. My family have spent our last 20 years on ski trips to Zermatt and we have been through the whole menu! The views outside on a fine day are breathtaking. A great place to eat and meet.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMaryAinslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Excellent goulashsuppa and pastries and if the sun is shining the terrace is a nice sheltered spot to eat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alistair-Cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffet Bar Sunnegga also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Buffet Bar Sunnegga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing