We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with a few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, on our second visit to Zermatt. This was a very last minute trip so we could not get accommodation at our preferred hotel and ended up booking here. Turned out to be way better than we expected! The design is... funky. Very funky. We stayed at the Coeur des Alpes earlier and we understand that Heinz Julen designed that, as well as this one, which he owns. Couer des Alpes remains our favourite, but at Backstage, Heinz has managed to create a really out-there hotel as well. The gizmos and technical flashes are all very nice - as long as you can figure out how they work, which isn't exactly easy. We are both quite tech-savvy and it still took us a while to figure out how the ultra hi-tech light panel works. The room was nice and spacious and mostly comfortable. The design somewhat lacks practicality - didn't quite enjoy the massive bathtub next to the bed, making the room a bit crowded...or the ultra large toilet and the cramped shower room. The room was also very stuffy and hot (we went in August), and there was nothing they could do about it, except tell us to open the only door that led to the balcony. We did that, and stayed up half the night because of street noise below. While the location is very convenient - close to the town centre and the station, this can mean a lot of noise in busy periods. Still, problems aside, this is a good hotel, and we had a good time. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellingflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked 3 double rooms for 2 nights as part of my 50th birthday celebration. Our stay was excellent. The staff were polite,friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast was simple with a great selection of teas, coffees, cereals, bread, pastries, jams, meats,cheese and eggs. The hotel is small and despite its high quality has a very relaxed feel to it. The decor is striking. Our room which had a balcony and view of the Matterhorn was cosy and well equipped. The hotel has it's own art gallery,cinema/multipurpose venue and lounge bar- all very stylish. We didn't try the fine dining in the hotel in the evening as we prefer to explore. We would highly recommend Chez Vrony mountain restaurant and Chez Max restaurant by the river, both owned by relatives of Heinz Julen. The spa and relaxation facilities are very unusual. The heated beds were my favourite area. My only complaint would be that the reception, breakfast/dining room area were too hot but we will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Enjoyed the v original design and architecture , arty feel ,with a cinema and art gallery as well as up to the minute tech features and the spa , partly outdoor ,which rivals the best.central location . compact yet uncrowded.a complete one-off special experience. Will go again

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AceVenturaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 nights in January in a cube loft family room. The room design was fabulous, resulting in plenty of space for the 4 of us. The hotel is a visual feast in a gorgeous location. The staff were wonderful. Always a friendly smile and nothing was an effort. My husband required an iron, and upon asking at reception was advised that he was on holidays, they would have his shirt ironed for him.
Lovely fresh breakfast every morning in the restaurant with an amazing view.
My husband and I had the 7 course tasting menu in the After Seven Restaurant on our last evening. It was magnificent.
The wellness centre is very unique and worth a visit to the themed rooms.
For a stay with a difference, I definitely recommend the Backage Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muskie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Backstage,- never been in a Hotel like this before. The Cube Loft was amazing, there was always something new to discover in the room, and the hotel area. Great style, comfortable and in the center of Zermatt. The breakfast was very varied, healthy and well presented.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine_Sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed there with my wife and our 8 year old daughter for a weekend. Really nicely appointed room and very friendly service. The spa was rather just ok, but came in handy after a day on the slopes. It was expensive at about 450 franks per night, but it's more or less reasonable for this kind of place and the area. Overall I enjoyed the stay, and would recommend it for a nice weekend getaway (but I think it would be more suitable for a romantic weekend for two rather than for a family trip with kids :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Andrei G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

If your like cool architecture then this is the hotel for you. Great rooms, comfortable beds friendly service. Sometimes service can be limited. There is nobody at the desk after 10pm. What happens if you forgot your key? Breakfast was being offered too late one morning being that we were meeting a guide for a hike, they called me on my cell the night before to tell me that the person who prepares the food would be in early for us. Now that's what I call service. The spa is as funky as the rooms. This is not a five star hotel, but many of the luxury hotels I have stayed at could learn a thing or two from this boutique family run property. Job well done!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelKaren39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#33 of 111 in Zermatt
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#29 of 111 in Zermatt
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#13 of 111 in Zermatt
992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 111 in Zermatt
592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#31 of 111 in Zermatt
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backstage Hotel Vernissage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backstage Hotel Vernissage

Address: Hofmattstrasse 4, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: £155 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backstage Hotel Vernissage 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Backstage Hotel Vernissage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing