We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior servicel, excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel after previously staying at the (supposed) five star Grand National Hotel in Lucerne. Overall, the service at the Butterfly was at least as good as the service at the Grand National. Buffet breakfast was excellent with cold cut meats in addition to fruits, bread, museli, etc. Thery also served coffee, hot chocolate and a choice of teas. The room was lovely with a nice bathroom. My only complaint would be that the sauna was not open until after 4:00PM

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petruzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

Based on Tripadvisor reviews I had originally reserved at Le Petit hotel for our 3 night stay in Zermatt. About a month before our trip I was advised that Le Petit was undergoing renovation, and they moved our pre-paid reservation to the Butterfly. I thought perhaps we'd get the worst room in the place since the Butterfly is a more expensive hotel, but to our surprise we had a room on the top floor with a view of the peak of the Matterhorn. The beds were typical Swiss-German style, two twins pushed together with duvets. It was a lovely room,not fancy but very sufficient, and the balcony was a bonus. Breakfast was very good with a bottomless cup of coffee (so appreciated in Switzerland where a cup of coffee is 4 CHF and up!), cold cuts, birchermuesli (yum), soft boiled eggs, fruits, breads, cereals. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momtero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The hotel is very closed to the train station, about 2 min. walk. The room is spacious and clean with a balcony. It provides a kettle in the room and you can enjoy free coffee and tea (many hotels in CH do not). The buffet breakfast is okay. You can use the PC for free on the lobby floor.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happylittlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Was booked at Le Petit hotel, that was closed so they put us up in here. Nice hotel, great location close to train station. Zermatt is expensive though. Also get wifi free.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sloughboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed here in May 2011 when our other hotel had to close due to a leaking pipe. We were quite lucky actually! This hotel was great! The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was very nice.

Breakfast was great and a good start to the day.

The hotel is very close to the train station, tourist information and the train to the top of the mountain. Its set back from the main pedestrian street so you dont get any noise from the street.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Im not sure on the prices and value for money as we paid for a cheaper hotel and got this due to circumstance. But we enjoyed it very much!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,123,410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Spent 1 night here on our way from Geneva to Venice - The Hotel was very nice - all amenities were as advertised. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice. The rooms were very clean and comfortable - overall it was an excellent find.

The location was very convenient to the train station - easy 2-3 minute walk but right off the main street with all the restaurants/pubs/museum.

We would definitely come back to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dim100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Our family stayed here on May 28 for just 1 night. The hotel is excellent. The room is a nice size and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and friendly and gave us advice on things to do. The breakfast was fantastic! I really wish we could of stayed longer. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 111 in Zermatt
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#32 of 111 in Zermatt
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#12 of 111 in Zermatt
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Butterfly

Address: Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £106 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Butterfly 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Butterfly has a quiet location in the center of car-free Zermatt, a 2-minute walk from the Gornergratbahn train station and the ski bus stop.All rooms at the Butterfly hotel have satellite TV including CNN, coffee and tea-making facilities and are provide with free Wi-Fi.In the evening, you can enjoy a delicious 5-course dinner in the restaurant.The spa area features a Finnish sauna, an infrared cabin, a steam bath and a tanning bed. During the summer, the spa area is available upon request. Massages are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Butterfly
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing