We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the staff. And location..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Ranked #21 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Hotel is perfectly located just a 2min walk from Zermatt's main train station. It looked very pretty as we walked up to it in the rain - all hanging flowers off the balconies, and typically alpine wood looking. The rooms were a good size, nice and clean, with a good size balcony. The best thing about the hotel though, was the staff. Cindy was one of the receptionists we dealt with - very helpful, funny, knowledgeable, polite. We only ate breakfast at the hotel (evening meals are available), and it was good - your typical mountain fare of breads, cheeses and meats. Oh, and theres a very nice bar area too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifthEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

We had 3 nights at the Butterfly and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel building looked even more spectacular that some of their photos with the window boxes in full flower. Great location with a short 3 min walk from the railway station. Pick up by little electric car anyway by calling the hotel from the hotel phones at the station. Really helpful pleasant friendly staff from Janet at reception to the barman. Very comfortable lounge with classic looking swiss style. Feel of a friendly family hotel, not a chain hotel. Great breakfast. Comfortable room with spectacular view of the mountains and other great buildings on the slope, good sized room by European standards, decor a shade tired but not an issue. Can't see the Matterhorn. 30 sec walk to main St, so quiet location but great access

Room Tip: We had mountain views from our room, not sure that all did but obviously some do if you ask for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandRtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Lovely big room with a balcony to sit on and watch Zermatt. Breakfast is varied and tasty and finally a decent coffee. Cappuccino and delicious. Rest of breakfast is good too. Little lifts so if a group checks in at the same time ... use the stairs and get fit :). Again, no ability to change the temperature in the room other than open a window ... that means noise from outside. No fridge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I really like this property, walkable from Zermat Train Station, and they offer a free pick up and drop to the station. The Hotel is really beautiful with a view to the mountains,
Very clean, spacious,,and an excellent complimentary breakfast menu.
Its a good destination for family with kids,

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the back side with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinod N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

On a last minute deal, we booked into the Butterfly from the barnhoff. Our friends and my wife and I enjoyed two rooms side by side on the first floor with a shared balcony. The rooms were generous in size and all amenities were very agreeable. Breakfast was a treat as well. The staff were extremely courteous and e hotel was centrally located. Thumbs up. Would definitely cme back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I landed in Geneva, Switzerland and only had a few days to see the country and knew what I wanted to do but wanted to feel safe traveling by myself. I went to the train station and told the travel agent what I wanted to do. I was able to book everything right there for three days. It was expensive but well worth it because everything was planned for me right there and I was given a detailed itinerary of all of my train stops and transfers, the tickets for the Glacier Express and hotel vouchers. It really made it easy for me. I stayed in Geneva and the next morning boarded an early morning train, went south to Zermatt where I stayed at the Butterfly Best Western Hotel. The hotel is a short walk from the train station but there is a small cart that will come pick you up. No cars allowed in this small village but everything is very walkable. It was a perfectly clear day so took the train up to see the Matterhorn! Magnificent!. The ski village of Zermatt is wonderful, too. There are many restaurants and shops. There is even a well stocked grocery store (coop) where I bought cheese, bread and wine and sat on my balcony and viewed a gorgeous sunset over the Alps. The breakfast buffet included in the price of the hotel was adequate with some variety and nice service. I boarded the Glacier Express which is a very slow moving train that travelled all the way across the southern Alps to St. Moritz where I spent the night. I caught the train the next morning back to Geneva via Zurich and across the northern part of the country. I did all of this in three days plus had an additional day in Geneva and travelled to Annecy, France and Dardagny, Switzerland.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed here in July 2012 and was particularly impressed by the friendliness of the staff. They cannot do enough for you and all of our requests were met with a cheerful politeness. The location is superb, very close to the railway station and two of the three access points for the mountains. The third one is a 10/15 minute walk away. It is at the quieter end of town but everything is within walking distance. In conclusion we would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it highly.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#36 of 110 in Zermatt
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#27 of 110 in Zermatt
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#31 of 110 in Zermatt
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Butterfly

Address: Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £112 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Butterfly 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Butterfly has a quiet location in the center of car-free Zermatt, a 2-minute walk from the Gornergratbahn train station and the ski bus stop.All rooms at the Butterfly hotel have satellite TV including CNN, coffee and tea-making facilities and are provide with free Wi-Fi.In the evening, you can enjoy a delicious 5-course dinner in the restaurant.The spa area features a Finnish sauna, an infrared cabin, a steam bath and a tanning bed. During the summer, the spa area is available upon request. Massages are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Butterfly
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing