We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

A very friendly hotel with great service and location.Quiet yet central. Felt very comfortable staying here.Pick from the station was appreciated even though it's an easy walking distance. Reception staff gave helpful advice and followed up on requests.
Clean, comfortable room at the back of the building with a nice balcony and pleasant aspect.Wi-fi didn't really function in the room but worked in the lobby. Breakfast good and we had an enjoyable meal in the dining room despite a tour group.
Tea/coffee making facility appreciated.
Highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23Flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    198
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
132
305
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is an excellent hotel within easy reach of the railway station.

The hotel itself is in excellent condition, it would be very hard to find fault with it. But what really gives it character is the staff. Everyone we met was kind, thoughtful and could not do enough to make us feel welcome.

We stay in Zermatt at least once a year and the Butterfly is pencilled in for another visit!

Room Tip: The WIFI was not working in the bedrooms and the comment from reception was that this happens from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a delightful hotel in the resort town of Zermatt.
Despite some difficulties in the local tourist office stating the location of this hotel inaccurately on the map, we had a great stay here. We forgot to ask for a non-smoking room, yet they changed our room quickly and the room was a good size. The breakfast was nice - but not extravagant.
The front desk staff were very helpful in giving us the options of which mountain to go up for the best views of the matterhorn.
All in all a great Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for NON-Smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

A great hotel with friendly and helpful staff just a short walk from the railway station. Pleasant room with a balcony (I think all rooms have a balcony). Only negative was a large tour group which seemed to be everywhere; not the fault of the hotel, of course.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

No need for a little taxi, just walk around the corner. Perfect location in Zermatt (even though its a very small place).

Service and breakfast was good. Room was a nice size and comfortable, oh and has a good size balcony. Free wifi to your room, can be very weak on some occations.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

For dinner i walked to a little place called Snowboat, its off the main road, not too expensive, must visited. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Hotel is perfectly located just a 2min walk from Zermatt's main train station. It looked very pretty as we walked up to it in the rain - all hanging flowers off the balconies, and typically alpine wood looking. The rooms were a good size, nice and clean, with a good size balcony. The best thing about the hotel though, was the staff. Cindy was one of the receptionists we dealt with - very helpful, funny, knowledgeable, polite. We only ate breakfast at the hotel (evening meals are available), and it was good - your typical mountain fare of breads, cheeses and meats. Oh, and theres a very nice bar area too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FifthEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We had 3 nights at the Butterfly and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel building looked even more spectacular that some of their photos with the window boxes in full flower. Great location with a short 3 min walk from the railway station. Pick up by little electric car anyway by calling the hotel from the hotel phones at the station. Really helpful pleasant friendly staff from Janet at reception to the barman. Very comfortable lounge with classic looking swiss style. Feel of a friendly family hotel, not a chain hotel. Great breakfast. Comfortable room with spectacular view of the mountains and other great buildings on the slope, good sized room by European standards, decor a shade tired but not an issue. Can't see the Matterhorn. 30 sec walk to main St, so quiet location but great access

Room Tip: We had mountain views from our room, not sure that all did but obviously some do if you ask for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandRtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#32 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Address: Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Butterfly has a quiet location in the center of car-free Zermatt, a 2-minute walk from the Gornergratbahn train station and the ski bus stop.All rooms at the Butterfly hotel have satellite TV including CNN, coffee and tea-making facilities and are provide with free Wi-Fi.In the evening, you can enjoy a delicious 5-course dinner in the restaurant.The spa area features a Finnish sauna, an infrared cabin, a steam bath and a tanning bed. During the summer, the spa area is available upon request. Massages are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Butterfly
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing