We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel was located right on the small street very close to Zermatt main station and Gronergrat Bahn. It was closer than it looked in the map. In fact, right after you leave the station, walk a few steps on Bahnhofstrasse and turn right to the small road and you will see this charming swiss chalet, quiet but close to everything. No matterhorn view from here.

We booked 2 double room (standard) on the first floor which we liked because our balconies were huge.

Room was clean and spacious with classic decoration, Zermatt village painted wall, wood furniture, and carpetted floor. Breakfast was good.

All in all, the hotel was cute, convenient and good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    205
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
138
321
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Level Contributor
232 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Very close to the Railway Station & Market place. Helpful and friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Loved the place. The staff was very co-operative and helped us plan our day for a memorable trip to Gornergrat & Matterhorn Glacier Paradise.

Zermatt is a wonderful place, in fact one of the Best in the Swiss alps. Want to go back and stay with Butterfly

Room Tip: Prefer the Rooms on the higher floors with balcony overlooking the garden..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAMESHSHIRALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We were originally booked to stay at their sister hotel, Le Petit, but were upgraded to this location. We were upgraded, because there was a huge snow storm that was forecasted and they wanted us to be closer to the city center. The hotel is less than a two minute walk from the train station. The front desk staff were very helpful and give great suggestions for things to do. The hotel provides laundry service and our clothes were washed, dried, folded, and delivered to our room within 4 hours. The breakfast offered each morning had great variety and was delicious. The rooms were super comfortable and we honestly didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BK_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Butterfly for a weekend trip with two other families. The hotel is short walk from the train station. We found the rooms to be comfortable. My kids appreciated that the double bed could be separated so that they didn't need to share. The receptionist was very friendly and gave us advice about travel times and area activities. We enjoyed having the bar area to meet and socialize with our friends. The included breakfast included breads, yogurt, cereals, cheese, and cold cuts. My kids were able to order hot chocolate.

The only downside of the hotel is that there aren't any views.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

A very friendly hotel with great service and location.Quiet yet central. Felt very comfortable staying here.Pick from the station was appreciated even though it's an easy walking distance. Reception staff gave helpful advice and followed up on requests.
Clean, comfortable room at the back of the building with a nice balcony and pleasant aspect.Wi-fi didn't really function in the room but worked in the lobby. Breakfast good and we had an enjoyable meal in the dining room despite a tour group.
Tea/coffee making facility appreciated.
Highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23Flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is an excellent hotel within easy reach of the railway station.

The hotel itself is in excellent condition, it would be very hard to find fault with it. But what really gives it character is the staff. Everyone we met was kind, thoughtful and could not do enough to make us feel welcome.

We stay in Zermatt at least once a year and the Butterfly is pencilled in for another visit!

Room Tip: The WIFI was not working in the bedrooms and the comment from reception was that this happens from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a delightful hotel in the resort town of Zermatt.
Despite some difficulties in the local tourist office stating the location of this hotel inaccurately on the map, we had a great stay here. We forgot to ask for a non-smoking room, yet they changed our room quickly and the room was a good size. The breakfast was nice - but not extravagant.
The front desk staff were very helpful in giving us the options of which mountain to go up for the best views of the matterhorn.
All in all a great Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for NON-Smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#25 of 110 in Zermatt
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#34 of 110 in Zermatt
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 110 in Zermatt
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Butterfly

Property: Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Address: Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Butterfly 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Butterfly has a quiet location in the center of car-free Zermatt, a 2-minute walk from the Gornergratbahn train station and the ski bus stop.All rooms at the Butterfly hotel have satellite TV including CNN, coffee and tea-making facilities and are provide with free Wi-Fi.In the evening, you can enjoy a delicious 5-course dinner in the restaurant.The spa area features a Finnish sauna, an infrared cabin, a steam bath and a tanning bed. During the summer, the spa area is available upon request. Massages are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Butterfly
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing