We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Adonis(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Petit CHARME-INN(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$424
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Continental Zermatt(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Antares(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$186
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
413
227
31
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
227
31
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streettrain stationcourse evening mealgood sizeexcellent locationglacier expressconvenient locationcold meatsour room was spaciouswould definitely stay here againelectric vehiclefew minutes walknice balconyrestaurant staffhalf boardyour luggagecomfortable hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If one listed the 20 top hotel satisfaction experiences, the Butterfly would rate excellent in all of them. A hidden benefit is its proximity to the rail station. The hotel staff was outstanding, they went out of their way to be accomodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Butterfly is a cosy warm hotel, with a very welcome atmosphere. The rooms are very nice, with a very spacious balcony to sit and enjoy your morning/evening tea. The bar is very well decorated and you are served well. The Breakfast is good. Very good value for your money

Room Tip: Room with a Balcony facing the mountains
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimpykhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here before we left on the glacier express in May. It was close to the train station. It was our anniversary and they gave us a very nice room. The breakfast was really big with everything you could ever want. The bed was so comfortable. I would go back. It was very quiet for being right in the town and near the train station

Room Tip: every room is nice
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our first impression of this hotel was when we arrived in Zermatt after midnight on the last train and someone called out our name. It ended up being the hotel bartender who had stayed late to meet us at the train station and walk us the block and a half to the hotel to help us get settled in. When we got to the hotel, the manager was also on his way out and stopped to say hi and let us know that they were happy we were staying with them and to ask for anything we need.

We loved the room and the balcony that overlooked the green mountains on one side. It turns out in the morning you can wake up to the sound of bells around a herd of sheep that graze on that mountain - we thought it was amazing. Just over our balcony there were also pink flowers that formed in the perfect shape of a heart and were ever so romantic.

We chose to come to Zermatt because we heard they had skiing in the summer on a glacier and that fascinated us. The more we asked people about this, most did not know if it was true and were definitely not sure if there were beginner slopes open for my girlfriend to learn on (she had never been skiing before). The hotel staff was amazing and told us where to rent equipment and reassured us that there was definitely a beginner area they called the Magic Carpet. The rental place was extremely helpful with the rental and spoke English fluently - they also helped me get accessories to use my GoPro portable camera while skiing. The rental guy was also not sure if there was a beginner area open this time of year but we rented the equipment and took a chance on the hotel staff recommendation anyway - we are so happy we did, because the hotel staff was right and it was amazing. We even got our lift tickets up the mountain for 2 days for about the same price as the tourist people were paying just to ride up the tram and back down for pictures. It was a great experience.

They also recommended great dinner places in town and we were immensely impressed. But the most important help they provided was when we asking for places to find homemade chocolate and cheese. They recommended a chocolate shop on the corner that ended up having the best chocolate and a local cheese maker who we were able to walk to in about 30 mins. We got so much more than we expected or bargained for out this stay and would definitely do it again and recommend it to anyone. They also let us know that we were going to be skiing with the US Olympic Team training while we were there and that was an awesome perk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric-Emma_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Hotel Butterfly in Zermatt. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with an excellent view from the balcony! The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel was a 2 minute walk from the train station with convenient access to all attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews