We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded from Le Petit Hotel - Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We had an amazing stay at Hotel Butterfly! After arriving at Le Petit Hotel, the owner said due to constructions occuring next door to the hotel, we had been upgraded to a room at Hotel Butterfly. Very lucky for us as we had a great 3 night stay here. Could even see the very tip of the Matterhorn from our balcony! =) Caught snow flakes on our tongue for about an hour after settling in.
Good location (pretty much everywhere is in Zermatt - gorgeous little town) and we thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast included each morning. Staff were friendly and spoke english well. Rooms were comfortable, heated and extremely clean! Cant fault this hotel at all!
Thanks for helping us enjoy this beautiful town! Will definately be back!
Jodie and Cameorn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JodeCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2011

Can only agree with the high rating of this hotel. Stayed for a week over Xmas and all the staff were friendly, polite and helpful .e.g. We ran out of toothpaste, went to reception to see if they had any - they didn't. 5 minutes later there was a knock on our door and a member of staff held out a large tube of toothpaste - they had gone to the shops and bought one for us with no charge!

The breakfast was fine though I cannot recommend the boiled eggs unless you like them stone hard.

The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the cupboard space extraordinary.

We were sad to leave and if the gods of finance allow, will return next year.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fabphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed here in June and cannot fault the hotel. Our room was clean and spacious and the staff are so friendly. The food was very good, if a little restricted in choice, but the staff willingly offered alternatives and the service cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkalot55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

My daughter and I loved our stay at the Hotel Butterfly! Perfect location - a very quiet hotel but just a quick walk to the train station. Room was beautifully decorated with a wonderful bathroom. The women at the reception desk couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradotraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Rooms were very comfortable. Electric car transport to and from station was much appreciated.
Breakfast was good.
Location was great, very close to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EK639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed two nights at the Best Western Hotel Butterfly and were very pleased with the accommodations, the helpfulness of the staff, the room, breakfast offered and the meals we had at their restaurant for dinner. Close to the train station, they provide a driver to come pick you up(but it's just a short walk to the hotel). The colorful flower boxes make the hotel very inviting. The room was very nice. Off the main street, it is a quite location. I would most definitely recommend staying at this hotel during a stay in Zermatt. And, make sure you travel to the Gornegrat and HIKE down some of the mountain-what a wonderful experience!
Gail Hennessey http://www.gailhennessey.com

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geshrwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Finished our Haute Route here and stayed 3 nights/2 rooms. The hotel is in a great location, close to station but quiet. Rooms were excellent and facilities very good indeed.Staff exceptionally helpful. Our experience of Best Western has been good across a number of European cities and this enhanced it further. Good value and thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaPoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#30 of 111 in Zermatt
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Butterfly

Address: Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £110 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Butterfly 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Butterfly has a quiet location in the center of car-free Zermatt, a 2-minute walk from the Gornergratbahn train station and the ski bus stop.All rooms at the Butterfly hotel have satellite TV including CNN, coffee and tea-making facilities and are provide with free Wi-Fi.In the evening, you can enjoy a delicious 5-course dinner in the restaurant.The spa area features a Finnish sauna, an infrared cabin, a steam bath and a tanning bed. During the summer, the spa area is available upon request. Massages are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Butterfly
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing