We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quite good hotel”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed here for a week. The location is good for those who plan to ski in Sunnega area as it can be reached on foot within 5 min.
The hotel consists of several blocks/buildings and we stayed in bldn.A, which has a swimming pool with salt warter - pretty cool, though the pool area didn't impress me much as per my opinion required soon renovation.
The breakfast is served in each of the buildings, so you don't need to go out and that is what was expected. The food for breakfast is the same all the time, so by the end of the stay I was almost fed up with it.
Another strange thing is the evening visit of a chambermaid, she would knock on the door every evening and open it the next second with her key asking if we need anything. Good surprise, especially if you are naked at that moment...
I would expect them to wait at least a min and only after that open a door with their key if no answer outside.. I found a solution though by puting 'do not disturb' sign outside the door...

Overall I would say the hotel is good for Zermatt, but definetelly overpriced during the season.


  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joujou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalpenresort, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Joujou79

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Alpen Resort Hotel and thank you for taking time to leave your comment here. We are happy that you enjoyed your week in Zermatt.

Normally, we are famous for our great value for money. If you decide to return next year to Zermatt, we will give you a hint: compare the prices on different pages or much better: ask directly our reception staff for the best Price, thats mostly better value for money than you will get from bookings over tour operators.

Best regards to London from sunny Zermatt-
Your Alpen Resort Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    199
    47
    17
    10
See reviews for
226
176
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the end of January with my wife and 8 year old son, room was of an excellent standard, very large with an upstairs (mesonet) for a separate sleeping area and a large balcony with spectacular views of the Matterhorn. The staff were first class especially in the restaurant, my son is a fussy eater and would not always eat the food of the menu but they were happy to offer alternatives to cater for his needs.The food was outstanding and there was plenty of choice, you would not leave the dining room hungry. The location of the hotel is right at the beginning of Zermatt, which was only a 5 min walk from the train station and from gornegrat ski lift (train). I would definitely recommend this hotel and resort to my customers.

Room Tip: Go for half board rather than Bed and Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agent_steve_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalpenresort, Manager at Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Steve

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Alpen Resort Hotel and thank you for taking time to leave your comment here.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your room and the food. I will pass on the compliment to our staff!

Best regards to London from sunny Zermatt and we are looking forward to welcome you next time - Your Alpen Resort Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at Alpen Resort over Christmas holiday with our two children, 9 and 3 years old. We had a fantastic time. We had half-board (which includes breakfast and dinner.) First of all, the rooms are very comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly. There is a very good and rich breakfast buffet. I especially enjoyed the 3 minute boiled eggs (apparently the eggs come from a local farm.) After breakfast we went for skiing of course. There are several ski areas that all have breathtaking views close to Zermatt. After skiing, at the hotel the children enjoyed the pool and I enjoyed the hot tub. Dinner was always a great experience. The food was consistently delicious and service was excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ottolaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalpenresort, Manager at Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear ottolaurel

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Alpen Resort Hotel and thank you for taking time to leave your comment here.
We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you had a great skiing experience. It's a pleasure for me to pass on the compliment to our staff!

Best regards to London from sunny Zermatt and we are looking forward to see you soon -
Your Alpen Resort Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

good location, friendly staff. close to skilift - about 5 min walk. not very fancy but clean, conveniently have two spa areas in both buildings.
Also, if planning on private transfer from Geneva, STAY AWAY from skycab.com ! most rude customer service ever !

Room Tip: excellent friendly helpful staff! stay away from room near play area: noisy in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalpenresort, Manager at Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Marina N.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Alpen Resort Hotel and thank you for taking the time to leave your comment here.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we could give you a great value for money. I will pass on the compliment to our staff!
If I give you a hint: We have the worlds best train system. From Geneva to Zermatt you have a little bit longer with the train, but you will pay less and the train staff in Switzerland is normay very friendly.

Best regards to New York from sunny Zermatt and we are looking forward to welcome you net time in Zermatt

Your Alpen Resort Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We again had a great stay at the best western aplen resort hotel in zermatt. A traditional hotel with all the comfort and a warm welcome. A very quiet place, only a few minutes walk from the nice centre of Zermatt, room with balcony with a really great view on the Matterhorn, a comprehensive breakfast buffet, really good diners and a large spa. Everyhing for a relaxed stay in Zermatt (one of the nicest ski places in Europe when you love skiing). The only minor thing.. a very small bathroom with a small shower in the bath.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mirjamkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalpenresort, Manager at Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Mirjamkar

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Alpen Resort Hotel and thank you for taking the time to leave your comment here.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. If you give us the pleasure to visit us again: As a frequenter in our hotel just ask at the reception for a room with a bigger bathroom and if it's possible we will find a solution.

Best regards to the Nederland from sunny Zermatt and we are looking forward to see you soon
Your Alpen Resort Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night. The hotel is decent and worked well with our budget, well more than the other places in town at least! We just loved the town of Zermatt, so we weren't in the room except to sleep. It was safe and clean- all we ask for in a hotel! Breakfast is nothing to write he about, but it's included, so we ate it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WifewithBaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed for one night only after a day on the Glacier Express train.

This was one of the few hotels which was open off season and we would have chosen something slightly more fancy if we had the option. So thanks to the hotel for being open. The whole stay was really ok but there was nothing to brag about. The room atmosphere was a bit borderline. The room was a bit worn off and blue carpet was really strange in this nice traditional Alpen house. The bathroom was new but not really well done. The faucet of the sink was loose and the faucet in the bathtub was not usability tested - it took me 15 minutes to find out how to operate it. The breakfast was a bit sub standard for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel

Property: Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Address: Spissstrasse 52 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#21 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#62 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpen Resort is a modern first class hotel with large and quiet rooms; most with a view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is close to the train station and only a few 100 meters from the ski-lifts. We also have two outdoor tennis courts, two indoor swimming pools (30°C causal pool and 33°C healthy salt water pool), sauna, steambath and whirlpool (all for free). There is also a children's nursery, (Kinderparadies), right across the street! Also for free: pickup service from the train station in Zermatt, internet corner and W-Lan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpen Hotel Zermatt
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing