We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed for 1 week in February to meet up and ski with a friend and also my daughter who lives and works in Zermatt. Despite being half term (the hotel was full), I found every single member of staff with whom I had contact, to be the most welcolming and attentive that I have ever encountered. Well done everyone!
My room was spacious, warm, exceptionally clean, comfortable and quiet. Loads of tv channels and good (stable) wireless internet connection.
Although booked on a b&b basis, I elected to dine in the hotel each evening, taking the set menu - first class.
Will certainly be my number one choice when I next return to Zermatt.

Room Tip: Although my room (603) did not have Matterhorn view, it was very spacious but if the view is importa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alistair-Cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalpenresort, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Alistair

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Alpen Resort Hotel and thank you for taking time to leave your comment here. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in our hotel. I will pass on the compliments to our staff! Thanks also for the detailed and friendly description of your room.
We hope your daughter will have a good time in Zermatt and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards to Wisbech from sunny Zermatt-
Your Alpen Resort Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed here for a week. The location is good for those who plan to ski in Sunnega area as it can be reached on foot within 5 min.
The hotel consists of several blocks/buildings and we stayed in bldn.A, which has a swimming pool with salt warter - pretty cool, though the pool area didn't impress me much as per my opinion required soon renovation.
The breakfast is served in each of the buildings, so you don't need to go out and that is what was expected. The food for breakfast is the same all the time, so by the end of the stay I was almost fed up with it.
Another strange thing is the evening visit of a chambermaid, she would knock on the door every evening and open it the next second with her key asking if we need anything. Good surprise, especially if you are naked at that moment...
I would expect them to wait at least a min and only after that open a door with their key if no answer outside.. I found a solution though by puting 'do not disturb' sign outside the door...

Overall I would say the hotel is good for Zermatt, but definetelly overpriced during the season.


  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joujou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalpenresort, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Joujou79

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Alpen Resort Hotel and thank you for taking time to leave your comment here. We are happy that you enjoyed your week in Zermatt.

Normally, we are famous for our great value for money. If you decide to return next year to Zermatt, we will give you a hint: compare the prices on different pages or much better: ask directly our reception staff for the best Price, thats mostly better value for money than you will get from bookings over tour operators.

Best regards to London from sunny Zermatt-
Your Alpen Resort Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the end of January with my wife and 8 year old son, room was of an excellent standard, very large with an upstairs (mesonet) for a separate sleeping area and a large balcony with spectacular views of the Matterhorn. The staff were first class especially in the restaurant, my son is a fussy eater and would not always eat the food of the menu but they were happy to offer alternatives to cater for his needs.The food was outstanding and there was plenty of choice, you would not leave the dining room hungry. The location of the hotel is right at the beginning of Zermatt, which was only a 5 min walk from the train station and from gornegrat ski lift (train). I would definitely recommend this hotel and resort to my customers.

Room Tip: Go for half board rather than Bed and Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agent_steve_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalpenresort, Manager at Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear Steve

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Alpen Resort Hotel and thank you for taking time to leave your comment here.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your room and the food. I will pass on the compliment to our staff!

Best regards to London from sunny Zermatt and we are looking forward to welcome you next time - Your Alpen Resort Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at Alpen Resort over Christmas holiday with our two children, 9 and 3 years old. We had a fantastic time. We had half-board (which includes breakfast and dinner.) First of all, the rooms are very comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly. There is a very good and rich breakfast buffet. I especially enjoyed the 3 minute boiled eggs (apparently the eggs come from a local farm.) After breakfast we went for skiing of course. There are several ski areas that all have breathtaking views close to Zermatt. After skiing, at the hotel the children enjoyed the pool and I enjoyed the hot tub. Dinner was always a great experience. The food was consistently delicious and service was excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ottolaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalpenresort, Manager at Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear ottolaurel

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Alpen Resort Hotel and thank you for taking time to leave your comment here.
We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you had a great skiing experience. It's a pleasure for me to pass on the compliment to our staff!

Best regards to London from sunny Zermatt and we are looking forward to see you soon -
Your Alpen Resort Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

good location, friendly staff. close to skilift - about 5 min walk. not very fancy but clean, conveniently have two spa areas in both buildings.
Also, if planning on private transfer from Geneva, STAY AWAY from skycab.com ! most rude customer service ever !

Room Tip: excellent friendly helpful staff! stay away from room near play area: noisy in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalpenresort, Manager at Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear Marina N.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Alpen Resort Hotel and thank you for taking the time to leave your comment here.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we could give you a great value for money. I will pass on the compliment to our staff!
If I give you a hint: We have the worlds best train system. From Geneva to Zermatt you have a little bit longer with the train, but you will pay less and the train staff in Switzerland is normay very friendly.

Best regards to New York from sunny Zermatt and we are looking forward to welcome you net time in Zermatt

Your Alpen Resort Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We again had a great stay at the best western aplen resort hotel in zermatt. A traditional hotel with all the comfort and a warm welcome. A very quiet place, only a few minutes walk from the nice centre of Zermatt, room with balcony with a really great view on the Matterhorn, a comprehensive breakfast buffet, really good diners and a large spa. Everyhing for a relaxed stay in Zermatt (one of the nicest ski places in Europe when you love skiing). The only minor thing.. a very small bathroom with a small shower in the bath.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mirjamkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalpenresort, Manager at Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear Mirjamkar

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Alpen Resort Hotel and thank you for taking the time to leave your comment here.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. If you give us the pleasure to visit us again: As a frequenter in our hotel just ask at the reception for a room with a bigger bathroom and if it's possible we will find a solution.

Best regards to the Nederland from sunny Zermatt and we are looking forward to see you soon
Your Alpen Resort Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night. The hotel is decent and worked well with our budget, well more than the other places in town at least! We just loved the town of Zermatt, so we weren't in the room except to sleep. It was safe and clean- all we ask for in a hotel! Breakfast is nothing to write he about, but it's included, so we ate it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WifewithBaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
#24 of 110 in Zermatt
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel

Address: Spissstrasse 52 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#21 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#62 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £142 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpen Resort is a modern first class hotel with large and quiet rooms; most with a view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is close to the train station and only a few 100 meters from the ski-lifts. We also have two outdoor tennis courts, two indoor swimming pools (30°C causal pool and 33°C healthy salt water pool), sauna, steambath and whirlpool (all for free). There is also a children's nursery, (Kinderparadies), right across the street! Also for free: pickup service from the train station in Zermatt, internet corner and W-Lan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpen Hotel Zermatt
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing